We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Architect, friendly, beautiful view, quiet, good price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Tree II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Tree II
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Architect, friendly, beautiful view, quiet, good price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stay in the three story round building made out of stone. For the price it is the best bang for your buck. If you have a problem they will bend over backwards to please you. It is right on one of the best beaches of the Island. Engoy the local merchants’ selling their wares on the beach, a real Caribbean attribute. It is safe, beautiful view, friendly staff at a great price for the average income. Fosters restaurant and lounge is on sight and they aim to please, just ask and you shall receive.Get into the Caribbean vacation and chill.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowknife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

After a all-day long road trip from Copan Ruinas, finally we arrived at Coconut Tree II to find the worst place ever one could book in West Bay to stay for their vacation.
The bungalow-thingie was behind the reception desk with a view of the stairwell and made of ugly grey concrete. The decoration was horrible (see photos), bathroom and the stove were not working. Total disappointment......at 11 pm, we went out to check the other places on West Bay. This was only worsen our exprience of Coconut Tree, after seeing the other heaven-like- places on the bay, it was so hard to come back and sleep there. We moved the next morning!!!
We were lucky to find another hotel, but honestly I considered sleeping on the beach instead of sleeping at the Coconut Tree II if weren't able to find another hotel. But the management was really helpful, they did not charge us for the whole stay, just for the night we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Bay hotels

California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

My wife and I booked 7 nights at Coconut Tree Cabins in West End, Roatan as it is close to the dive company we would be using for the week. Upon entering the cabin the first thing I noticed was the smell of sewage. The beds were very hard and had only one sheet over the mattress with a "bed skirt" for the top sheet. Whether or not the sheet, pillow cases and skirt had been laundered was questionable. The shower and bathroom floor appeared not to have been cleaned for some time. There were tiles missing from the shower walls and the wall was deteriorating in places, grout and tile were missing from the shower floor allowing the water to run...I assume under the cabin as there was a wet spot on the ground under the shower. Upon looking around the other cabins we noticed that some of the sinks drained directly onto the ground, and from the smell perhaps "other" liquids as well. We slept in our cloths the first (and only) night in this "cabin from hell" and had cock roaches crawling in bed with us. These cabins are filthy to the point of being a health risk. I've stayed several places in Roatan and don't really expect 5 star lodging, but this is ridiculous. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Liked — The A/C worked.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaJohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

Our family spent a week at Coconut Tree II - We had the best room with a king bed and a double bed. It does have a refrigerator, microwave, small stove, sink, coffee pot, and toaster, dishes to use, etc. The bathroom was good - getting hot water was hit and miss but that is to be expected on the island. The view from our balcony was just beautiful. The room was decent (better than we had anticipated) and the price was good for West Bay. The staff were very helpful and we enjoyed every minute.
You do get approached by the women right in front of the hotel asking if you want a body massage or your hair braided and until you do get one - you will be asked alot!

  • Liked — Right on the beach!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faithofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

We stayed here for a long weekend. There are a few picturesque little single cabins, and other ugly buildings that house 2-3 rooms. Our room was 2 double beds with fridge and microwave - and the rooms all have little balconies with hammocks. The staff was always very nice, and we LOVED the location at the eastern-most tip of West Bay (right next to Foster's), because it has less cruise-shippers coming through. Also, the food at Foster's (which is a hotel and a beach-front restaurant) was great. BUT, the place was less than spic and span. The toilet was a tad dirty (luckily, I had some handiwipes), and the soap in the room was actually rotten (they brought us new ones in minutes, but were unflapped about the rotten ones).

The prices were cheaper than most everything else on West Bay, so if price is a primary concern and you can live with a little dirt, it's a good choice. Personally, I'd spend a few more bucks next time and stay at Foster's next door.

  • Liked — top location and pleasant staff
  • Disliked — needs to be cleaner
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
2.3 mi away
Coconut Tree West Bay
Coconut Tree West Bay
#6 of 12 in West End
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Tree II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Tree II

Property: Coconut Tree II
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Coconut Tree Ii Hotel West Bay
Coconut Tree II Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing