We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Coconut Tree II

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Tree II
Cali, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The best of all are the people who work there....big hugs to Vincent, Melida and Mark...we sure had a great time!
The cabanas need some update...but it totally worths it...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_Barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Prior to my arrival I had great communication with this dive shop regarding arriving from the airport to West Bay. They gave great taxi advice. The dorm rooms were decent. The cleaning people did not come that often, but when we asked for a broom to sweep up dirt, the cleaning women came the next morning and cleaned the bathroom. The dorms lacked hot water. A worker said that was the only cabin that they could not "figure out". Dorms cost $5/night and you really cannot beat that especially when traveling alone. There were 6 beds to dorm too. The location of this place is FANTASTIC too! Its literally across the street from the beach. Just be careful on the beach because there are a lot of nasty sand flies. Overall, I would stay there again if was on the island and I would definitely dive with them again too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2012

No it's not a luxury resort. We stayed in the dorms which are some of the cheapest on the island. We were there to dive and hang out in the beach, not spend time in the room. The dorm was just fine.
You should be on Roatan to dive and if you are this is the place to be. We had so much fun hanging out with the gang and Jose our instructor could not have been better! He has the passion and the skill to teach you everything you need to know about diving.
Gay is a riot, so funny she helped us with everything we needed. Oh and you can't beat 25 limp ice cold beers. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remingtonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here for a couple nights. and loved our time. The room was very big. Big kitchen with everything you need including a water cooler. Bed was circular pretty cool, lots of mirrors, huge bathroom and hammock on the porch.

Very close to the beach, staff were helpful with everything we needed. This beach is full of all-inclusive resorts. This is not an all-inclusive resort and the price for us was very good. We went in low season, room for 3 was 1/5 the price of the all-inclusive resorts on the same beach.

Mattresses were extremely comfortable, and a huge shower!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stay in the three story round building made out of stone. For the price it is the best bang for your buck. If you have a problem they will bend over backwards to please you. It is right on one of the best beaches of the Island. Engoy the local merchants’ selling their wares on the beach, a real Caribbean attribute. It is safe, beautiful view, friendly staff at a great price for the average income. Fosters restaurant and lounge is on sight and they aim to please, just ask and you shall receive.Get into the Caribbean vacation and chill.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowknife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

After a all-day long road trip from Copan Ruinas, finally we arrived at Coconut Tree II to find the worst place ever one could book in West Bay to stay for their vacation.
The bungalow-thingie was behind the reception desk with a view of the stairwell and made of ugly grey concrete. The decoration was horrible (see photos), bathroom and the stove were not working. Total disappointment......at 11 pm, we went out to check the other places on West Bay. This was only worsen our exprience of Coconut Tree, after seeing the other heaven-like- places on the bay, it was so hard to come back and sleep there. We moved the next morning!!!
We were lucky to find another hotel, but honestly I considered sleeping on the beach instead of sleeping at the Coconut Tree II if weren't able to find another hotel. But the management was really helpful, they did not charge us for the whole stay, just for the night we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Bay hotels

California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

My wife and I booked 7 nights at Coconut Tree Cabins in West End, Roatan as it is close to the dive company we would be using for the week. Upon entering the cabin the first thing I noticed was the smell of sewage. The beds were very hard and had only one sheet over the mattress with a "bed skirt" for the top sheet. Whether or not the sheet, pillow cases and skirt had been laundered was questionable. The shower and bathroom floor appeared not to have been cleaned for some time. There were tiles missing from the shower walls and the wall was deteriorating in places, grout and tile were missing from the shower floor allowing the water to run...I assume under the cabin as there was a wet spot on the ground under the shower. Upon looking around the other cabins we noticed that some of the sinks drained directly onto the ground, and from the smell perhaps "other" liquids as well. We slept in our cloths the first (and only) night in this "cabin from hell" and had cock roaches crawling in bed with us. These cabins are filthy to the point of being a health risk. I've stayed several places in Roatan and don't really expect 5 star lodging, but this is ridiculous. Stay here at your own risk.

  • Liked — The A/C worked.
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaJohny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
407 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coconut Tree West Bay
Coconut Tree West Bay
#8 of 11 in West End
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in West Bay
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Tree II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Tree II

Property: Coconut Tree II
Address: Carretera Pavimentada Ppal, West Bay Beach, West Bay, Roatan, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > West Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in West Bay
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Coconut Tree Ii Hotel West Bay
Coconut Tree II Roatan, Bay Islands, Honduras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing