We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski trip March 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ClubHotel Les Rois Mages
Ranked #5 of 7 Montgenevre B&B and Inns
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ski trip March 2012”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I would say the overall rating of the hotel is 3 / average. But the package as a whole was very good. I travelled with RocketSki, who are filling places around school groups. So because of this, got a really good late deal for me and friends. The hotel is basic, but clean and tidy, in a good central main street location with the slopes and Ski School directly opposite. Staff were approachable and polite, good sized and well heated rooms, with well maintained modern ski equipment provided. The only negatives were a bit of a walk from coach drop off point to the hotel and vice versa, but dictated by local regulation and fine if wearing a coat, sensible footwear and have wheeled / light luggage. Also hot water was often just warm, but probably due to showering at the same time as everyone else coming back from a day on the slopes! We never felt overrun by the school children as the hotel operates staggered meal times for school groups / adult guests, separates the groups from adults in the restaurant, ski school times usually mean they are in / out of the ski fit room at other times to adults and there was no packs of bored children running about noisily around the hotel as the groups were usually out of the hotel doing an activity before or after dinner, plus there is a separate basement playroom to the adult bar on the ground floor. It was nice to have ski fit on site, which made sorting equipment out on first and last days and getting any problems sorted so much easier than having to trapse to a shop somewhere in town. Customer Service staff are here mainly to look after the school groups, but will equally happily assist adult guests with their needs and do run a very basic evening entertainments programme for adults, but nothing along the lines of a concierge service as I saw one guest expecting, this is just not that kind of place; If you are happy with a basic stay on a budget, this is a very good choice, especially if you are going for the skiing, that was great here; Even though we were skiing late in the season and low slopes were starting to melt, there was still a lot of good runs over a wide area higher up and very pleasant to finish skiing with a cold drink sitting on the hotel front verander in the late afternoon sunshine. As a whole package, the best ski trip I have had.

Room Tip: Views of the slopes from the front facing rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amie_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    32
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and a group of friends stayed at the Rois Mages hotel last March (2012). The flights were on time, trouble free and it is a very short transfer from Turin airport (only slightly longer from Grenoble). The coach cannot drive right up to the hotel, so expect a short walk with your luggage after being dropped off (a couple of minutes, not far at all). We were very happy with the hotel, sufficient space in the room, a basic but perfectly adequate bar area with table football and a lovely sun terrace. The most fantastic thing about the hotel is its location, right in the middle of the resort and directly opposite the bottom of the piste/lifts. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The snow was a little slushy in the afternoon, but we were lucky enough to have a night of snowfall which really helped- and of course lots of sunshine! I would definitely return to the hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here in Jan 2012 after booking a late deal with Rocket Ski. I had never heard of the company, the resort or the hotel - we were very pleased with all three.
Rocket ski were excellent - both before we travelled and during our stay. The hotel was really good value for money .. we paid very little for a week's half board and were a little worried about what we had bought.. but .. it turned out to be the best deal I had ever had on a ski holiday.
The hotel IS dated and a little old - but - we had a lovely clean room , plenty of hot water and enough good food to keep us all going. The staff were all very helpful as well.
Do ask for a front room on a high floor. The view from the front over the Piste is great. Those who were at the back of the hotel had no balcony and were kept awake by the delivery drivers to the supermarkets.


The hotel is a stone's throw from the ski school and the 4 man chair lift .

Room Tip: front of the hotel on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jemaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Where shall I start? Well let me say first the hotel is wonderful it has all the necessities a après skier would need. I just came back and let me say for April I had tons of snow for the spring skiing season so it was quite unexpected.we arrived after 4 hours on the coach from Lyon which was very tiring but were happily greeted by our polite and helpful rep Cameron. But unfortunately when we arrived we were told that our rooms were still being cleaned and we were waiting for around and hour, but it was well worth the wait because we got clean and spacious rooms as we were in a group of 10. We settled down in our rooms unpacked and then went down for ski fitting which was again done by Cameron who gave us 24/7 attention we had some beginners in our group who had lost a boot,pole or ski even at 9:00 in the morning Cameron again was happy to help.The hotel staff are also very nice and speak fluent English which was very helpful. The food was SPECTACULAR simple breakfast, great lunch and to top it all off the three course meal. There are a lot of supermarkets but one particularly is Sherpa supermarket it is cheap and has snacks at reasonable prices there is a computer in the lobby and a patchy wifi network which is 10 euros for the week there are to phone networks orange France and Bouygues. Just across the road is where all the magic happens beautiful sun,snow and ski. Great location approx 3 mins walk to the slopes and chair lift to black slope overlooks the slopes.I suggest you go with Equity Ski they were amazing I was speechless by their service. beautiful slopes full of soft snow. Altogether my whole ski trip was £850 which is not bad at all with transfers.flights and of course les rois mages.The stairs are a real struggle when you are on the top floor especially after a long day of skiing on the bright side it gives you your daily exercise lol.There are to kattys in the hotel which were also very helpful when it came to activities in the evening like but boarding,luge(monty express like a rollercoaster and skidoo rides etc. Hot water constantly on especially after a long day of skiing and you just want to freshun up and chill out!!! Overall I have given this hotel 4 stars which I think is fair and I hope fellow travellers who want to go to montegenvre definitely go for Les Rois Mages!
Thank you for taking the time to read my comments about the hotel I hope it was helpful any questions just comment!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel are much quieter and there isn't the church bell going off every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in early March 2012 and found it to be just ok. The room was pleasantly large with plenty of storage space for 2 people. However the room was desiged for 4 people and I can expect that would be a squeeze.

The location is perfect for access to the slopes however be warned that coaches are not permitted to stop on the road so you are dropped off about 300m from the hotel and need to carry your stuff yourself. The transfer from Turin is quick and painless compared to some other alpine routes I've been exposed to in the past!

We travelled with Rocket Ski as returning customers having had a great holiday at the Beau Soleil in Alpe D'Huez in 2011. The choice to go to Montgenevre was purely fiancial as this was the cheapest option by some margain. This showed........

If your room is at the back of the hotel you must take earplugs! The earlier comments about the noise out the back are NOT an exageration and whilst I slept ok (I had earplugs) my friend really struggled with the constant bell ringing and clearing of bottle banks at 5am in the morning. Church bells are rang on the hour then again about 3 mins later just incase you missed the time I guess - followed by random bursts of ringing that lasted up to 5 mins.

When it comes to food - don't expect great things. For the most part it was fine, nothing special but tasted ok. The real problem was that whilst the staff were polite and happy to help, they generally lacked any restaurant skills. There was no restaurant manager to direct and you were often faced with a nervous looking youth shakily approaching you holding a bowl of hot soup!

There was no method to the food service and the time you sat down had absolutely no bearing on when you got food. One night my friend ordered the soup and this had to be returned (along with almost everyone elses) as it was tasteless. Apart from that mishap the food was ok.

Breakfasts were quite good with plenty of food on offer.

We shared the hotel with a large school group which we had been worried about. They were in fact incredibly well behaved and did not disturb at all. This is probably more luck than anything else but the fact that the hotel had a seperate childrens room downstairs meant they were kept out of the way.

Staff were generally friendly when approached but its important not to forget they are on a ski-season so their focus is on getting work finished so they can either go skiing or go out.

The bar in the hotel was small and a bit dark/dingy. The bar manager was very polite and helpful and probably the most professional staff member in the whole building. A pint of lager was €4.5 or €5 with Guiness being €6. Happy hour from 4.00-5.30 brough the crowds to the outside terrace each day. the bar showed all live football and other sport on TV.

Montgeneve as a whole is a quiet resort with not much in the way of shopping or eating out. Perfect if you just want to ski, eat and sleep - not so good if you're into the apres ski scene.

The weather was very hot and we struggled with a lack of snow towards the end of the week. Having ski'd for 20+ years I would say its a good family resort or for those who are just becoming intermediate. People more advanced will find the resort and neighbouring Clavier a little restricting. I only used my snowboard on one day as there are a lot of green slopes and short runs which meant a lot of stopping! I would also argue that many of the black runs are reds in disguise!

Your lift pass gets you across to Itlay and we spent a day over the valley in Soux Ouz. It took 1.5hrs to ski/ski lift it over the valley but it was nice to break up the week and do some different runs.

There's not much in the way of mountain top restaurants and we foudn the ones over in Clavier to be much better - great one at the bottom of Red 93!

in conclustion - If you're an intermediate skiier who isn't a fussy eater and looking for a cheap holiday then this is fine......as long as you pack the earplugs!

Room Tip: I e-mailed and asked for a room at the front of the hotel - it was ignored! Rooms are allocated bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I booked very late (2 weeks before) through VeryCheapHolidays.co.uk for this Rocketski February half term trip (she's a teacher which is why we chose school holidays). We flew to Turin with Aer Lingus from Gatwick and stayed at the hotel for a week. Getting there was no problem and the first huge plus is that Turin is only an hour and a half from Montgenevre by coach. Upon arrival in Montgenevre there is a 5-6 minute walk to the hotel but the staff were great in offering to help carry the luggage. The hotel location is perfect as its virtually across the road from the main lifts (about 10 meteres away) and has views of the slopes from the sun terrace of the excellent Apres Ski bar.

The hotel is very, very basic with absolute minimal facilities. Our room was literally 2 single beds (no doubles available) and some draw and wardrobe space. The 4th floor room (there is a lift) was big and the toilet/bathroom etc was all fine & clean if very basic/minimal. The shower was powerful and hot all the time. Unfortunately we were at the back of the hotel with no views of the slopes. The criticisms are that the room was not double glazed and as a result was cold most of the week despite a radiator that pumped heat out constatntly all week. Secondly the hotel itself is very noisey both inside and from external goings on. Next to the hotel is a church where the very enthusiastic bell ringer either does not always know what time it is or cannot count (or both). The bell ringing is very persistent between the hours of 7am and 11pm including 2 lots of hourly sets a few minutes before and on the hour. The other major downside was that the late night drunken revellers can be heard making their way home in the early hours and then once that stops the mini-market shop across the road takes deliveries between 4:30am and 6am - this is a real shame as first the shop owner uses a shovel to scrap ice from the pathway very loudly and secondly the very, very loud rattle and bang of goods in and out of the back of lorries (who drivers seem to think it also acceptable to leave their cab stereos on full blast with crap euro-techno blasting out at god knows what time o'clock in the morning). This was a real problem for us as we did not have a single decent nights sleep as a result (including on Sunday morning)... which put a real downer on an otherwise excellent holiday.

On the more positive side the staff are great, particularly Cameron the ski technician who was very helpful. We have all our own gear, but he provided a e28 full service overnight and provided us with very detailed and helpful advice on all the in's and out's of the slopes and the best runs / pistes etc... a lovely guy. The other staff are all the usual young "having a year off, doing a season in between A-Levels and Uni / after uni". A great bunch of lads and one or two girls, who served behind the bar, in the restaurant and around the hotel... always chatty and happy to advise on the best places to head on and off the slopes. The bar is very good (although often cold) and shows all sports (6 nations rugby and Premiership/CL football was on throughout the week). There are a couple of big plasma screens on all day with sky sports or other UK tv on all the time. The bar snacks and drinks menu is great and includes pastas, a range of burgers, hot dogs, chips, nachos etc (they even servce a very good full English breakfast all day or bacon sarnies if you are that way inclined). It is so close to the slopes that you can easily head back here for lunch each day. Lunch is much cheaper than up on the slopes. Drinks prices are OK, but certainly not as cheap as the hotel manager states at the induction. Pints of Guinness or Kronenburg 1664 are a pricey 6 euros, but a pint of the local Kronenburg is 4 euros and there is apres ski happy hour between 4:30 & 5:30. Breakfast in the hotel is basic, but OK and dinner which you chose in the morning was generally very good 9Meat and veggie options every day). Both are served throughout the week in the large (cold) dining room.

The resort itself is very good in our opinion. We were lucky that we had some great snow from arrival to depature as it had snowed before we arrived and on the first night we were there. The rest of the week was clear blue skys apart from 1 day where it was so windy that it was virtually impossible to ski/board into, although this did result in all the off piste snow being blown onto the piste. The pistes are very well groomed and looked after every night and there are plenty of snow making machines. The resort is very familiy and child / beginner friendly with excellent nursery slopes and plenty of Green/Blue runs down below. There are some excellent red runs up high and back into the main area. There are some fun natural half pipes and off piste areas for the intermediate / advanced skiers / boarders as well as a couple of good boarder x areas. The lifts are very good (we did not queue once all week) which is great during the schools holidays. On the opposite side of the road is another ski area with some good red runs and a couple of good black runs... its a lot more advanced over that side, but is good fun. We did also venture over the mountain into the Italian side of Claviere and found it more advanced with some very good red runs and a few very tricky blacks. The lower slopes are very flat and not boarder friendly with quite a bit of long traversing to do to get about. A tip is to make sure that when you go to Claviere head high up from Montgenevre and do not take the Green Nordic Ski route which is flat (especially if on a board). To get over further to the Via Lattea (Milky Way) and into the 2006 Torino Olympic slopes of Sestiere & S'D'Loux etc you have to head a down a very, very long blue that snakes its way down the mountain as a narrow and often flat pathway which is not fun at all. There is a more direct route down a black named coche or the more fun and exciting off piste between the long winding blue. But we decided against it regularly, as quite frankly we found it a bit of a ball ache to get over and back in a day (and we consider ourselves intermediate / advanced level). However there is plenty to do in Montgenevre and Claviere for a whole week to keep you busy.

In summary we really enjoyed the resort and the hotel despite its basic state (we did book through verycheapholidays and are happy to accept that you pay for what you get... we paid £750 half board + £160 ski pass for Feb half term which was the cheapest thing around by some way). We would reccomend asking for a front of hotel room (due to the issues with the shop at the back). The slopes are very good and made this a real great trip. Even if you chose a more upmarket / expensive hotel you should still head to the Rois Mages bar for lunch and / or Apres Ski as its definately the best bar in town.

Finally - if you get the chance try the Calzone / Pizza in the Capitain (not sure of spelling) restaurant in the centre of town near the Spa shop... its amongst the best we have ever had for a reasonable 13 euros.

Would definately recomend Montgenevre and tentatively recommend the Les Rois Mages Hotel if you want cheap but cheerful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with views of the slopes and away from the shop at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Curts1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Attached to this hotel is a small but extremely pleasant pub that was our choice for a few après ski drinks. Happy hour ran from 4.30 to 5.30 and prices outside of this were still reasonable. A view of the slopes, table football and sky sports all made this a great place to share our days successes and crashes as a group of friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montgenevre hotels
0.3 mi away
Anova Hotel & Spa
Anova Hotel & Spa
#1 of 7 in Montgenevre
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valerie
Hotel Valerie
#6 of 7 in Montgenevre
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Saint Bernard
Chalet Saint Bernard
#5 of 7 in Montgenevre
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpis Cottia
Hotel Alpis Cottia
#2 of 7 in Montgenevre
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
Hotel Le Chalet Blanc
#4 of 7 in Montgenevre
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet le Pot de Miel
Chalet le Pot de Miel
#3 of 7 in Montgenevre
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Les Rois Mages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Les Rois Mages

Property: ClubHotel Les Rois Mages
Address: 22 Route d Italie, 05100 Montgenevre, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Montgenevre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montgenevre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your ClubHotel Les Rois Mages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing