We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ClubHotel Les Rois Mages
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anova Hotel & Spa(Montgenevre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Rafale(Montgenevre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Alpis Cottia(Montgenevre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
20
34
14
9
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
34
14
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocket skischool tripboiled eggsrooms are very basicthe hotel managerplenty of hot waterbig thanksporridgefantastic locationhead chefski schoolpiste bashersski hiremain liftsshort transferduckdietary requirements
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 87 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

A basic hotel but in a great location, just a short walk across the road to ski lifts and a very large amount of runs and locations. My first time skiing and although the hotel lacked in some areas (it is very basic) the location and wide types of runs and ski slopes/areas you can visit made up for it in my opinion. Booked with Rocketski.

We arrived by coach in the afternoon on saturday (the coach had to park a short walk up the road) and we took our bags down to the hotel ourselves. The coach journey from Grenoble being 3hours was very tiring. We departed at 4am on a coach back down the mountain and when we left it had been snowing for 24hours. The RocketSki rep did ask the coach driver to park outside the hotel which was a great help, but the coach journey down the mountain was a real eye opener with less than a coach lengths visability at some stages with high winds and blizzard like conditions. The coach driver was superb, only stopping at the bottom to undo chains from the tyres, he had obviously done this many times before! The trip back to the airport took a little over 3hours but considering the conditions I thought was superb.

OVERALL : Great location and superb skiing. The hotel is basic but offers a stones throw from the ski lifts and a simple place to get your head down and helpful english staff throughout. Worth a visit on a small budget.

Here are my opinions on each:

Rooms:

- Basic and a little dated (x 2 single beds in ours)
- toilet & bathroom
- no tv (would make the evenings more enjoyable when no entertainment)
- no radiator controls in some rooms making it very hot when you first enter your room at times
- did have to ask for clean towels during the stay as none were supplied
- Beds although basic I did find quite comfortable and got a good night sleep most nights
- Great view if you get a room at the front of the hotel

Hotel:

- 3hour coach transfer after the flight was very long and tiring (from Grenoble)
- In a prime location opposite ski lifts
- Breakfast consisted of croissants, jam , cereal , eggs , sliced ham & cheese and fruit
- Dinner although basic was tasty. 3 courses. Soup each night with 1 other option , main meals varied and deserts were normally cake or crumble/pie
- SKI HIRE - 75euros(although we got a group deal speaking to Cameron for 60euros for 6 people)
- SNOWBOARD HIRE (from a local shop) is 102euros
- SKI PASS - 194euros for 6 days (includes 1 day in Italy)
- Lack of evening entertainment (the bar being the only location with any activity in the evening and this normally consisted of a quiz or karaoke etc)
- Limited internet access available - 1 x computer in the lobby although I found it not always switched on or working. There is a wireless internet option available at 10euros per week

SKI RESORT
- Being a first time skier I found this location great. It has a wide range of Green & Blue runs as well as red and blacks if you wish. It also has a drag lift small slope which i spent my first day learning the basics on. There were good skiiers in our group who also found the area great also.
- Easy Access to all runs via chairlifts and enclosed chamlets which connect with one another well
- SKI PASS does include 1 day in Italy , however when we went there was only the odd run open as there had been no snowfall in the area, so we came back soon after

LOCAL AREA
- The area is very quiet once the ski lifts shut at 1700
- A few odd shops selling fridge magnets and local bits and bobs
- Shop behind hotel (supermarket) sells most things
- Lots of Ski hire shops
- Local food seems mainly to be pizzaria's (did not find much else)
- Ice Skating rink available opposite the hotel
- SKI Lessons are supplied by ESF (see website for more info) but they do provide a range of instructors in French,English or Italian of which I saw
- The hotel did supply some outings whilst on our stay (although we never attended) they were 35EURO Skidoo ride & dinner (plus cab fare back)
- Self Drive Skidoo's at 90euros per hour

Room Tip: Rooms facing the slopes/road gave great views, the back has no views
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben_MKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

A group of us enjoyed a fantastic skiing holiday in Montgenvre staying at the 2 star Club Hotel Les Rois Mages. We arrived in Montgenvre to be greeted by Rocket Ski staff offering to carry our luggage from the coach park which was 500m from the hotel. A pity they didn’t offer the same service when we left the following week, especially as there was a blizzard.
At the hotel we were greeted by the Manager and shown to our rooms. The rooms, although a little basic, were perfect, with a balcony and a 5 star view. However if you were unlucky to get a room at the back of the hotel then you got a 2 star view.
Once unpacked we all attended the welcome meeting, where we were informed of the itinerary for the week
• Ski School
• Lift Passes
• Mountain Meal via Skidoo (40 Euros each including Taxi to Claviere)
• Ice Skating
• Entertainment in hotel bar (Quiz, Acoustic Night, Karaoke etc)
• Ski Hire
• Ski Technician (Cameron)
After the meeting we moved into the restaurant and had the first of the 3 course dinners which were basic but delicious. Following our dinner we took a walk round Montgenvre to familiarise ourselves with the location of ski-lifts, bars, clubs? shops etc. On our return to the hotel we went into the hotel bar for a drink and were greeted by a Crystal Ski Guests (who were not staying at the Les Rois Mages) using the bar for their Quiz Night, which left no room for regular guests of the Hotel.
Having a 5 star view had its downside which was either the Piste Basher grooming the slopes, or the Snow Plough clearing the snow from the road outside the hotel at unearthly hours.
The breakfast consisted daily of cereal, porridge, bread, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, orange juice and a regular supply of tea & coffee.
The skiing in Montgenvre is perfect with over 400km of varying levels of runs. The hotel is a stones throw away from the Ski Lift The highlight of our holiday was our adventure to Sauze D’Oulx where on our return to Montgenvre we tackled the Olympic Run at Sestriere. In addition to the skiing there is a Luge Run (Monty Express) which costs 4 Euros when Ski Pass presented. You have got to give it a go!
The Apres Ski although limited was good with live bands, decent beer and food. A visit to La Tourmente is a must if you like crazy but good hospitality. Another place worth a visit for some tranquillity is the Church.
All in all the holiday was excellent and good value for money and yes I would go back which I can’t say for other ski destinations I’ve been to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CMH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just about a 2 star but is in the best location and a stones throw away from the ski lifts. Excellent views from the balcony.
The hotel is really dated and the service isn't great. But it's cheap and basic.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonej82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We, a family of 4, stayed here over Christmas 2011. It was our second booking with RocketSki and our second stay in a French ski resort. As a reference of comparison, our stay in Christmas 2010 was in Hotel Beausoleil in Alpe d’Huez.
As a start we had a quad room in both, however the quad room as Les Rois Mages is significantly bigger. During peak season on slope self-catering apartments are very expensive, so I view the trade-off between self-catering and a dinner, bed and breakfast hotel like Les Rois Mages as one of space versus the convenience of not having to cook rather than one of price. Having the extra space for a desk, 2 chairs, 2 bedside cabinets, under bed drawers and a clothing cupboard at Les Rois Mages made it so much less cramped than at Beausoleil.
The quality of the ski rental experience is often determined by the staff member helping you. Cameron was good and very knowledgeable. Having the convenience to discuss issues and have problems fixed on a daily basis was worth the extra cost of hiring at the hotel.
The food was also good. And the staff near perfect. In terms of service during meals, it was almost on par with a 4 star hotel. Definitely much better than at Beausoleil despite Beausoleil being one star higher in official grading. Given the nature of seasonal ski travel and employment at ski resorts, I would expect service levels to vary year-on-year. In our case the experience was very positive. Hope it will be so for you too.
The resort is opposite the road from the ski school and slopes, so although you cannot literally ski-in and ski-out the hotel, the walk was reasonably short that most kids could carry their skis and poles to the school. Our 8 year old moaned sufficiently that we ended up carrying his skis for him while he carried his and our poles.
Wifi is patchy and only really usable from the hotel reception. Luckily there are seats there. At EUR 10 for a week it is only worth it if you plan to spend time online every day.
Overall we had a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel (odd rooms) have a balcony, but you get woken up by the snow ploughs. The rooms to the back (even rooms) are slightly bigger, but you get woken up by the garbage and recycling trucks on some days. Luckily the noise from the restaurant and bar does not drift through to either front or back. Even on karaoke night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed in Montgenevre from 23rd Dec – 30th Dec 2011 at the Les Rois Mages. We went with Rocket Ski flying from Manchester to Grenoble with Flybe. After a great flight we arrived at Grenoble met by the Rocket Ski/Equity reps who directed us to the relevant coach. The transfer was advertised as being 2.5hrs but it was almost 4hrs, we stopped enroute at Serre Chevalier then continued to Montgenevre. The coach isn’t allowed to stop outside the hotel in Montgenevre so it pulls up at a car park a short distance from the hotel, its a bit of a hassle getting all the luggage to the hotel especially if you have skis and boots to carry, however about 4 or 5 members of staff from the hotel came out to great us at the coach drop off to help carry luggage. Check in was simple and quick even though by the time we got to the resort the Manchester and Gatwick flight had both arrived at the hotel together. There is only a small lift so we left the skis in the reception for the time being and carried our bags up to the 4th floor. Our room was at the front of the hotel facing the slopes and there was a long balcony connecting everyone on our floor at the front. We had a twin room it had a separate toilet (no sink), a bathroom with shower/bath, bee day and wash basin. Long corridor and bedroom. There was a large wardrobe, chest of drawers, bedside cabinet and a under bed draw so plenty of storage space. The room had 3 radiators and was very warm but only one plug point which was a bit of a nuisance.
The front of the hotel can be a bit noisy, early evening the bar next door had a live band playing outside and in the early hours of the morning I woke to the piste groomers or maybe street sweepers vehicles beeping constantly for a few hours. However on other nights I slept through this. If quietness is a major issue then a room at the back of the hotel would be more advisable.
We were half board, breakfast was a choice of bread, croissants, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurts. Orange juice tea and coffee. At breakfast we had to make a selection for the evening meal there was only two options, one of which was vegetarian. The food was nice, three courses with bottles of water on the table. The hotel has a bar accessed from inside which wasn’t that large but had plenty of seating. The beer was on average 4.5 euros a pint.
The hotel has a large downstairs boot/ski storage room which is locked about 6.30pm. There is also a ski technician called Cameron who is on hand to fit boots/skis and service your own skis if need be. After our final day skiing we asked if Cameron could edge and wax both our skis in time for us leaving in the morning, we got them back about 9.30pm that evening and at €28 it was great value and convenience .
The hotel Les Rois Mages is perfectly situated for the slopes, when you come out the front door and cross the road the medical centre is in front of you and just behind that are the ski lifts.

The great thing I found about Montgenevre is that all the runs seem to link up and lead back down to the main strip of the town. There didn’t seem any runs which left you with a long walk back or out in the middle of nowhere. We skied to Claviere on boxing day there is a Nordic ski track, we followed another skier in front which helped us find our way. When you get to Italy which seems like 5 minutes you end up behind some houses/chalets’s we then skied past a stream and followed the tracks into Claviere.
Not everything was open in Claviere we did a blue then got the lift up to a red expecting to ski back down but it was closed so ended up taking the red back into Montgenevre. Claviere is a nice little town but I wasn’t impressed with the slopes and was pleased we had chosen Montgenevre as our base. I am an intermediate skier my partner is confidently doing blacks, we found plenty to ski in Montgenevre and I was comfortable, he however would have liked to do more challenging runs but it was a Christmas skiing holiday and we enjoyed it very much.
There is a large ski area behind Montgenevre which is accessed via the Serre Thibaud lift, there a some blacks and reds, a half pipe blue with moguls and a long blue which takes you back to the lift again.
The bars in Montgenevre are mainly on the front and are lively and welcoming, we had to eat out one night and chose the pizza place two doors from our hotel which was very nice and reasonably priced at €9 for a huge pizza. We wanted to walk into Italy one night and have a drink and I had read that it was a 20 minute walk, we checked with the rep and he confirmed this but said we would definitely need torches as it was a main road and not fully lit. We set off from Montgenevre and passed the boarder control box (no one in) once you have left the village it is an unlit stretch of main road for 20 minutes and then you see the lights of claviere. we had two torches with us, if you are going to do this take at least 1 torch per person or better still get a taxi which I would have preferred with hindsight. We found a lovely bar/hotel/restaurant on the main street called Mi Chi it had a lovely warm relaxed atmosphere with an open fire perfect for relaxing with a red wine, I was a little disappointed not to be staying there. There is also an enormous St Bernard that lives there which provides a lot of entertainment for dinners and drinkers as she wanders about the place.

On our final day the snow came down heavy it took Five hours to get to the airport and when we arrived we had to grab a quick drink and sandwich and rush through passport control then straight out onto the runway and onboard. The journey back down the mountain on the bus was bad, the visibility was zero and every single car/coach/lorry was stopping to put on snow chains. The coach driver was great, I know they are used to those conditions but it was still pretty scary.

Would recommend to beginners and intermediates, ESF ski school was great we had 3 days lessons and a different instructor on each day which was a bit different.

Room Tip: Front has great view but can be noisy
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ski2008_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews