We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Tizourgane Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tizourgane Kasbah
Ranked #1 of 3 Ait Baha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived in Morocco for a road trip and spent our first night here and what a wonderful place to introduce ourselves to the country. We had a lovely warm welcome and really enjoyed exploring the Kasbah, the rooms were lovely with shared bathroom and the evening meal was really delicious with great company. Really recommend staying here :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissSooosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is an authentic kashba which is restored by the owners. We were here in september 2011 and the very basic room was too hot to sleep. We tried to sleep with door and window open but no ventilation of air because all windows in the building were kept closed.
Communual showers and toilet.
Food was good, and their upstairs dining area is cosy.
The owners are very friendly.
Next time I must use mosquito repellent.
Recommendable in cooler months. Would prefer this hotel above others in nearby Tafraoute.
I always travel with a small headlight so I can read my book or read the map when lights are poor. This was very useful here and other places in Morocco.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank flybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We really liked this kasbah. It is in a fabulous position and is really well located for the climbing on the north side of Jabel el Kest. If climbing on the north side again I would definitely stay here again rather than Tafraoute which is miles away.
The kasbah itself is in a great position with fantastic views from its terrace where you can sit inside yet still enjoy the panorama. The accommodation is basic yet comfortable and very clean. On the downside, many of the rooms share bathrooms. The food is good, but do be aware that there is no choice at dinner time - everyone has the same food. If you have special dietry needs they can be catered for no problem, but be explicit about what you will need and explain this in French. Breakfasts are lovely, especially the crepes. The staff here are very friendly and nice and extremely accommodating. We'd recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kateyclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

On the way to Tafraoute, we decided to take the road by Ait Baha. We had left Essaouira at 11:30 the same morning and I was quite sure that we wouldn't make it to Tafraoute during the day so I had looked on the internet for somewhere to stay on the way. I had seen the good reviews for the kasbah Tizourgane, seen the prices on their website (http://www.tizourgane-kasbah.com/) so I had taken their number. Just past Ait Baha, the road goes in the mountains, it's absolutely beautiful but very slow to drive. We called the kasbah to book a room and get the directions (it's very visible when you arrive from Ait Baha as it really stands out from the valley, the right turn to take is easy to see). After a very slow portion of road, it gets better just before the kasbah and we arrive we the night. We were not disappointed to by the Kasbah, the place is just stunning! The photos can't really express how beautiful and peaceful it was. Jamal and Malika, the owners have done a really impressive job at restoring the kasbah and taking care of the hotel. The food was great, Malika being a wonderful cook and maitre d'hote, with fresh tasty veg. Rooms always come with half board as there is nothing around. Malika just prepares whatever she likes or you can ask her something special. But whatever she does, she does it real well. Jamal was also an excellent host, always willing to talk about the project of his life, restoring the kasbah. I was actually really touched by the two of them and i wish them the best of luck. This place is great and definitely worth at least a night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aventurina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Me & my wife spent one night in this beautiful kasbah & we both loved it. It's a really peaceful little village. The stunning views from the terrace were unforgettable (especially in the morning). The dinner prepared by Malika was one of the best meals we had in Morocco..

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I can relate to Withania's comments. The Kasbah is a stunning, unusual piece of architecture and history. The hosts were a lot less warm than usual for Morocco, and the tended to charge a fee for little things that are usually included, like tea. Nonetheless, I would go back there for the view and the experience of being in an old hilltop fortified Kasbah.

Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
Thank jmk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eauriginale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ait Baha
9.5 mi away
Auberge Kasbah Chez Amaliya
43.2 mi away
Hotel Aladarissa
Hotel Aladarissa
#2 of 3 in Ait Baha
3 reviews
0 mi away
Auberge des Cavaliers du Todra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
No photo provided
Al Adarissa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ait Baha
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tizourgane Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tizourgane Kasbah

Address: BP 63 Idaougnidif | Tafraoute, Ait Baha 87402, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Ait Baha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ait Baha
Price Range: $64 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tizourgane Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing