We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atrio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atrio
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After a week in Funchal this was lovely and peaceful, set in a great place to explore the island or walk straight from the hotel, books are available to borrow from the reception. Our room was lovely with great views over the pool and down to the sea, the pool is more welcoming and warmer than it looks in the photos but could do with a little renovation. The restaurant food was very tasty and good value and a self service bar lets you taste several Madeira wines.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We hit the jackpot with this hotel. We traveled to Madeira in July 2012 with our two young children. We wanted to be out of the hustle and bustle of Funchal and experience some R&R and some more relaxing experiences. Atrio has it all . . . top-notch service, a great restaurant, a pool, nearby hiking trails, and birds and distant church bells. We loved that the restaurant and bar were available virtually whenever we wanted. We loved that the kids could explore the property and surrounding land without any worries. We loved that the hotel was so willing and able to help with travel arrangements, hiking tips, cabs, everything. It was total and pure perfection. I felt like we experienced the real Madeira and we spent only half a day in Funchal. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inlovewithumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I picked Atrio partly because we didn't want to be in Funchal and partly because the reviews on Trip Advisor were so good.

We weren't disappointed at all. The staff are all really friendly, the admoshpere is really relaxed and yet they run a tight ship - the perfect combination.

We were also big fans of the breakfasts - delicious.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stina_on_her_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I booked the room at the Atrio after reading other Trip Advisor reviews. I knew it would be extraordinary but was not prepared for the absolute perfection that I experienced as I arrived at this exquisite place! Perfection down to every detail which I thoroughly appreciated. The candle light to the marvelous restaurant as well as the carefully designed rooms and the marvelous tubs with beautiful garden views. The Atrio is well managed and with a highly professional staff. The owners go beyond the call of duty. (A key and rental car with stick shift mishap is all I will admit to and the owner was so kind and helpful...) A review of perfection does not do this place justice, truly.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zoey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seewen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Madira is a lovely island typically with very good weather in July: warm and sunny. It is a great walking-activitiy-exploring holidays island. As well as having beach and boat fun possibilities

The Hotel Atrio is a very nice hotel, with friendly helpfull staff, set in an idilic garden setting of peaceful beauty. Highly recomended for people of all ages. It has a out door swimming pool and clean tidy bedrooms.

The food is excellent and it is hard to stop yourself eating in the hotel every night.

Overall the Hotel Atrio and Madeira is highly recomended.

Also see Charlie and Matt at Mad era bar for big game fishing in Calheta.
and Ribeira Brava Boat trips for whale and dolphin watching! Information available in the hotel.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank GridleyBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

This lovely, privately-owned small hotel, set in pleasant gardens with smart pool and shady courtyard area, has the ambiance of an old Madeiran manor house rather than a hotel.

The owners work very hard to please their guests and everything from the individual decoration of the eleven bedrooms, the beautifully maintained gardens, delicious home-cooked food and friendly, helpful staff, is spot-on.

The hotel is a little off the beaten track, around 30 minutes from Funchal. But for those visitors who like the simple things in life, good food, friendly hosts, homely surroundings, beautiful views, it's well worth the trip! We'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — Quiet, peaceful ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing. It suited me just fine.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estreito da Calheta
2.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
17.0 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
8.5 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#3 of 8 in Calheta
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrio

Property: Atrio
Address: Caminho Moinhos 218, Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-247, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Estreito da Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Estreito da Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrio 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrio is a small family run rural hotel located on the sunny south side of Madeira island. Wonderfully placed at the edge of a pine forest, nature lovers and walkers find the perfect alternative to the hustle and bustle of Funchal city. A sizable cultivated garden invites you to unwind and relax. Each of our 22 rooms are individually decorated and offer a terrace or balcony with a wonderful sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrio Estreito Da Calheta
Atrio Madeira/Estreito Da Calheta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing