We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent peaceful break”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Amazing ocean vista from top balcony with all day sunshine Relax on a sun-bed under the adjustable sun canopy and enjoy the ocean sights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Beautiful two bedroomed villa with panoramic ocean views offering two large south facing balconies
Amazing ocean vista from top balcony with all day sunshine
Relax on a sun-bed under the adjustable sun canopy and enjoy the ocean sights
Breakfast on the balcony and enjoy an ocean view under the shade of the rosy sun canopy
Breathtaking blues, the clouds reflect in the ocean
The beautiful blue sky meets the deep blue sea
French doors lead from both bedrooms onto the large south facing balcony
Master bedroom with french doors leading onto south facing balcony
Bright and airy room with lots of light
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master ensuite with bath and over head shower
Overlooking the lush garden with many typical plants and flowers of Madeira, including banana trees
Large twin room with french doors leading onto sunny balcony (lots of light)
Twin room with ensuite, bright and airy
Ensuite with large shower
Beautiful wooden stairs lead down to the large living area (lots of light)
Living area with satilte TV, DVD, full free internet and Wi-fi
Large living area with library and computer desk
Comfy 2 and 3 seater couches recently added to replace excising ones
The living area leads to the kitchen and also out onto the large lower balcony, with lots of light.
Kitchen leads to laundry with washing machine and downstairs wc, and open door onto back patio area
Downstairs WC off kitchen
Wood style kitchen with french doors leading on to patio
All mod cons and cooking/eating utensils
Lower balcony area off living room and kitchen, enjoy a shady spot from the hot summer sun and relax
Large lower balcony with traditional Madeiran open brick BBQ (ideal for meat, fish and veg skewers)
Balcony area off kitchen with BBQ, outside sink area and traditional wood table and benches
Big open brick BBQ, ideal for cooking traditional meat skewers with garlic and bay leaf, yummy
A delicious way to cook your food and enjoy being outside
Enjoy a delicious evening in away from the crowds: BBQ some local sausages and spatchcock chicken
Lower balcony area ideal for outside dinning: enjoy a lazy breakfast before starting your day
Garden steps lead to a tiled patio terrace area at the bottom of the garden
The lower patio area offers an avocado tree sun canopy, ideal for alfresco dining
A short stroll away is a small local restaurant serving traditional dishes at lunch and to order
Swim in Calheta a sand beach (a safe haven) only 5 mins drive from the villa, also with a marina
A lovely location 5 mins from the property also with supermarket and local restaurants and bars
Dolphin watching trips are popular from the marina at Calheta only 5 mins drive away
Chill out a the beach or take a boat trip and go dolphin watching or have a local lazy lunch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Topgun665
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent peaceful break”
Reviewed May 19, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The accommodation was fully equipped and wanted for nothing is set within a peaceful tranquil location. Ocean views from all the major rooms within the property. The convenient shop/ restaurant opposite having a very friendly and helpful owner, Llidia. Our visit in early May unfortunately had cool evenings so we weren’t able to benefit from the fully equipped and so practical BBQ that abutts the kitchen. The communication with the owners was efficient and timely. We had no problems at all with our stay and did not need to trouble them. Likewise they did not push themselves on us and gave us space. Meeting only when they arrived to say goodbye on our last day. A very open and friendly Irish couple who we instantly felt at lease with.
If you want a simple trouble free and peaceful break then I fully recommend this lovely home from home.
Michael

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2018
Thanks Michael and Sally for staying with us and being great guests too. Thank you for the review: I think you summed us up very well :) With so many repeat clients it is wonderful to have an updated review from a new client. Thank you for looking after the property, it means so much to us to have guests like you. We enjoyed meeting you both xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great holiday villa.”
Reviewed September 24, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A wonderful rental house that feels like a family home owned by a very helpful and charming family. From the planning stage (which was tricky due to the fact that we have a disabled daughter) to the final day, when they organised the taxi to the airport, they could not have done more to make our stay a pleasant one. We hope to return sometime and would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
It was our pleasure to have your family stay, and to meet you all. Thank you for caring for the property so well and please know we look forward to your next visit. Till then xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris2188...
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really is a beautiful holiday home!”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from a week at Villa Murphy and I think it is the best holiday home we have ever stayed in (and there have been many). Spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable with everything you could need. Location is quiet and away from the crowds but close to most amenities with a shop/restaurant just across the road. Sarah and Ciaran made us feel so welcome and sure that we could contact them if there were any problems. Luckily we didn't need to as everything worked perfectly. We can't wait to go back and would recommend Villa Murphy to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you both for staying with us and looking after the property so well. This is always very important to us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. We are delighted you enjoyed Villa murphy. All the best from us xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue B
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Forget hotels and go self catering instead”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What a lovely place to stay! We have visited this beautiful island many times before but have always stayed in hotels in Funchal. We never thought of self catering but after a week in such a lovely place there will be no going back. Our villa was lovely. We had a really well equipped kitchen, a cosy living room (loads of books and dvd's), two spacious bedrooms and balconies upstairs and downstairs. How I miss our early morning cups of coffee sitting on the balcony with lovely views of the sea and just the sound of crickets and the odd distant cockerel as night turned to day. So peaceful and relaxing. We found the little shop just across the road really handy but what suited us best of all was that the house is located so close to places to walk. The levada Nova provided lots of easy walks with fabulous views and accessing the mountains that we could see from the back of the villa was a doddle. Our hosts were wonderful and looked after us so well - they even dropped by one day with a freshly baked cake and their own eggs collected that very day. A week just wasn't long enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2017
Thanks for staying with us Sue and being such great guests. Delighted you enjoyed the villa and your walks. This side of the Island is wonderful to walk. We will always be delighted to have you back, sooner rather than later. Till next time. All the best from us xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLollapal...
Ethiopia, Addis Ababa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Villa Murphy - tranquil and beautiful”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I have holidayed in Madeira many times now and find the warm weather perfect
in September and the relaxed lifestyle helps me recharge.

Villa Murphy is the perfect place to do that. It is a beautiful villa: large; open;
airy; bright and well fitted with an easy relaxed atmosphere. The balcony
views are really panoramic as in the description (the photos you see on the
site, is what you get and more) and the garden is full of flowers and plants
from Madeira. There was even a bunch of bananas growing when we were
there.

I especially loved the top balcony, looking out over the Atlantic with my
morning coffee was a great way to start the day.

The mini-market and snack bar close to the villa is very handy and the owner
Ilidio is very helpful. The villa is close to every thing you need, which is also a
great bonus, Calheta beach is only a 5 min drive away and is a lovely place to
eat, swim or just relax with a coffee or even a cocktail. As always I will be back
to Madeira and I will also be back to Villa Murphy and the beautiful views.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Villa Murphy. So pleased you enjoyed the ocean views from the balconies. They are beautifully panoramic, delighted you started your day like that looking out to sea with a morning coffee. And the bananas too. It was a pleasure have you stay with us. À bientôt.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regalian
Gloucester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic and close to the beach!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Villa Murphy for a week - Madeira is idyllic - sunny days and warm nights but never too hot either way - the villa was delicious and very peaceful morning and night, bedroom balcony is great if you're a sun worshipper and the ground floor balcony is a dream for breakfast - there's a great little store right opposite on the street, and in Calheta, 5-10 mins drive there is a larger store down opposite the Calheta beach hotel which you can't miss. The beach is very good (admittedly it was out of season and we went there on weekdays deliberately) and the water clear and safe to swim in. Local restaurants in Calheta and Madalena Do Mar serve great food at good prices and its only a 30 minute drive into Funchal and a good base to explore the north side of the island too. Would recommend hiring a car. Friendly renters, super accommodation - we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Mark and Pam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Modern and tasteful and quiet
Liked least: I just like my own bed!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2016
Dear Mark and Pam, glad you enjoyed your stay so much. It's true the balconies offer plenty of sunshine. Calheta is a good location and very handy to shop. Next time you'll get a swim for sure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara H
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Back to Paradise”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I returned in June (2013) to this beautiful villa. We last stayed there in April 2010 (see review Bo and David). We were determined to return as we fell in love with the villa and the area. We were delighted to find a new large bed in one of the bedrooms. Not that we are 'large people' but it is a bonus when the nights are so warm to have that extra space. There is really very little to say as we found everything as enchanting as 2 years ago. Still spotless, a lot of nice 'little decorative touches' added here and there and the young owners as charming and helpful as ever.The garden is looking fantastic as the weather in June was not as scorchingly sunny as usual (cloudier but warm) which seemed to suit the plants and shrubs.
We were delighted to find the content of the library had greatly increased as we both love to read and taking books really does add onto luggage weight. As well as the internet it was good to find we were able to Skype the family back in the UK (nice to know the kids -44!! and 39!! care).
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one week as the weeks either side were booked but the owners had an apartment at Madalena do Mar, only a short drive away. So, with full confidence of our experience with the villa and the owners, we had a week there in a lovely little village. We had a wonderful time there also.
This sunny area of Madeira is such a change from the busy area of Funchal (which we still love also) and we love the peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: What was there to not like?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing