We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay at Madeira”
other travelers have booked this property
Banda do Sol Self Catering
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Banda do Sol Self Catering
Lavender Cottage Swimming Pool terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Banda do Sol Self Catering
Lavender Cottage
Swimming Pool terrace
Al fresco dining on the private terrace
Open plan dining and kitchen area
Main Bedroom
Spacious second bedroom
Luxurious bathrooms
Wood burning stove for any chilly evenings
Dolphin & whale watching excursions from our local marina
Walking the Levadas
Spectacular views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Estreito da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
maxgisler
Buelach, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay at Madeira”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It's a very good Place to relax and we felt from the beginning like at home.
the clean Bungalow is well equipped and in the kitchen you'll find everything.
the view from the cottage is just stunning. i miss them already
it was one of the most peaceful and relaxing holidays we've ever had.
Thank you Heather :-)

If you stay there, you need a car

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: well equipped Cottage and the stunning view
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leif ö
Jonkoping, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay on a wonderful island”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

As we stayed for a month we had the chance of seeing and experience most of the Island.
Here at Lavendel cottage we felt as home with the house and the beautiful surroundings,
nice and well equipped kitchen (we did cook many times, we also grilled several times on
the new outside grill.) The most useful thing were though the inglassed outside place
were we could sit at any time of the day and look at the stunning wievs. Alltogether a
place to long for.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DizzyBea
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's worst getting lost for :)”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A wonderful, tranquil well equipped holiday home. The beds are the most comfortable holiday beds we ever slept in. The bathrooms are spotless and the kitchen is well equipped. Heather and her parents are brilliant hosts. You don't have worry about buying condiments, washing up liquid, oil etc. if you choose to cook, like in most self catering accommodations. The laundry unit is a great addition to provide ultimate comfort.
In my opinion, unless you are super fit a car is a must. By comedy of errors we got lost a few times trying to make our way "home" but if we ever go back to Madeira we would never stay anywhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility & Fresh Air
Liked least: Steep roads
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatherjo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Away from the hurly burly”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

great place to stay if you like peace and quiet yet only half an hour drive from funchal. good area to base for levada, coast and mountain walks. well equipped cottages, gorgeous location, knowledgeable likeable owners live on site. electronic gates to property...as do most properties on this amazing island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latvia
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DLouise32
Swansea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceptionally good accommodation with stunning views.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was a beautiful cottage with every comfort provided. Very clean, comfortable and good quality furnishings, kitchen accessories etc. The owners are incredibly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely setting - although it's wise to hire a car as it's half way up a steep hill - but the views were amazing and it was one of the most peaceful and relaxing holidays we've ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, cleanliness and peaceful setting.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing