We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite sublime food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sharnbrook Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite sublime food”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had a party for my birthday for 100 people at the Sharnbrook hotel, and we weren't disappointed. We were in the Amalfi suite which is large room, but with a very impressive "moving walls" system meaning it can be changed to suite the size of your party so you are not overwelmed by its size. The room is very attractive and well decorated and has its own bar, meaning your guests dont need to use the restaurant bar to obtain drinks. The buffet food was quite superb and a number of friends said it was the best they had encountered at such an event, and I have to agree. The buffet we chose offered excellent variety so there really was something for everyone from salads, pasta, cold meats, chicken and pizza. They also are able to offer a superb desert buffet also. The staff are very helpful and Massimo and Ciro made sure the evening ran through smoothly.
On another note, I have also stayed in the hotel before and the rooms really are excellent, and make for an ideal break. The hotel is located just off the A6 and is therefore easily accessible and also sits in attractive countryside.
All in all, for a party or short stay I can highly reccommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russelldug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    54
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
121
62
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2012

On Friday 20.01.2012 we had our wedding at The Sharnbrook Hotel

We would like to thank all of the staff at the hotel, that helped in making our wedding day such a special day.

Because of the staff's professionalism and calmness, we were able to remain very calm on the day and knew that everything was in safe hands, which is really important to a bride and groom on their big day.

Everything was exactly the way that we wanted it to be.

All of our guests have commented on the staff and their willingness to oblige requests during the meal for little extras and how quickly and effortlessly the meals were bought out and the empty plates were removed.

The comments about the evening buffet have all been very positive and I'm aware that most guests went back for a second, or even a third plate, and there were no guests complaining of a lack of food.

We can't express enough how happy we are with all of the help and assistance that we received from the wedding co-ordinator (Ciro) prior to the wedding day and everything that he and the staff did on the day.

We would recommend The Sharnbrook Hotel to friends and family in the future for any function.

Thanks to the staff at The Sharnbrook - our wedding day was a special one and one that we will remember with joy and happiness for many years to come!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallumgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We held our annual event at the Sharnbrook Hotel on Sunday 5 February, the day the snow came down! Never before has a venue gone to so much trouble on our behalf - by 9.30am a snow plough was clearing the car park and Ciro and staff were providing tea and coffee and bacon sandwiches for our exhibitors, some of whom had travelled long distances. As organisers, we stayed at the Hotel on the Saturday night, so we enjoyed the enormous, comfortable bedroom and a superb, freshly cooked breakfast. We can't rate this Hotel enough and we travel from Hull to Portsmouth!

Room Tip: They're all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My husband and I had the most fabulous wedding here in September 2011. Ciro and his team were fantastic and accommodating of our needs. The food was raved about and the hotel is a great location and setting for a wedding . Unfortunately we had a bit of rain on our special day but that didn't dampen the mood and the change of plans from outdoor to indoor drink reception was seamless! We can't thank Ciro and all his team enough! It was the perfect day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Sharnbrook Hotel on 05.11.11 for 100 guests during the day, and 150 in the evening, and it was perfect! Ciro was incredibly helpful with EVERYTHING, from providing information on what we needed to do in relation to booking the Registrars, to recommending a DJ and photographer, as well as helping us plan the big day itself. The day flowed smoothly and we didn't have to worry about a thing as Ciro and his helpful staff took care of everything and if there were any hiccups they were sorted out without us knowing or having to worry about them! And the food was fantastic! High quality and plenty of it and most of our guests commented on how great it was ... and NO-ONE went hungry! The rooms were large, clean and modern and available when guests arrived. All staff were professional, polite and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. We had a fantastic day and cannot recommend the Sharnbrook Hotel and Ciro enough ... our wedding was very special for us and we wanted everything to be perfect (what bride and groom doesn't?), not just for us but for our guests, and the Sharnbrook Hotel met all our expectations,and then some.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I had our wedding reception at The Sharnbrook Hotel in July 2010. The day was made perfect by Ciro and his staff. From the moment we booked the venue Ciro assured us we could call him any time with any questions we might have, and he made the service we received feel extremely personal, something we didn't feel like we had at other venues we had visited. We also wanted to change a couple of things on the menu, which he was more than happy to do. Weddings are held in the Amalfi Suite, which is a large room, but can be made smaller with partitions, dependent on the number of guests you wish to invite. We made use of these, as we had 90 guests for the wedding breakfast, and then a further 30 or so for the evening, which shows you the number of guests they are able to cater for, and the flexibility they have.

The day itself was perfect. Ciro greeted us all on our arrival, and was fantastic as host throughout the day. I asked him if he could get some Birra Moretti in for me especially, as this is my favourite beer, which he did, and there was a bottle waiting for me as we pulled up which again I thought was a nice personal touch that he remembered. After having our photos taken in the lovely hotel grounds, we went inside for our wedding breakfast which, having visited the hotel on many occasions previously, for Christmas Parties and family meals, was perfect. The cheesecake in particular, was amazing, the best cheesecake I have ever tasted.

The rest of the day went like clockwork, and we felt so relaxed and just enjoyed ourselves. The staff at the hotel were always on hand to help and couldn't do enough for us to make sure our day went smoothly.

We stayed in the Suite on our wedding night, and the hotel upstairs is just as nice as the restaurant and the Amalfi Suite downstairs. Ciro has had a number of his holiday photos from Italy put on canvasses which are on display in the hotel corridors and in the rooms, and again, these add a nice, personal touch. The room itself was fantastic; large, a comfortable bed, and a jacuzzi bath.

All in all we can't thank Ciro and his team enough for what was a wonderful, special day, and I am always recommending them to my friends for parties and weddings. I just wish I was going back this year for a Christmas Party, which are always brilliant, having been to five in previous years.

Ian and Victoria Smith.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanS82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raunds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We held my wife's 30th birthday party at the Sharnbrook. From the moment we made enquiries our every request and need was met superbly by Ciro. In the lead up to the event all the plans were taken care of and this meant a relaxing time for us. The Amalfi Suite is a fantastic space with plenty of room for dining, disco as well as other entertainment. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The whole atmosphere spot on. The hotel rooms are large in size and the suites have plenty of room for a plenty of pre-dinner gatherings. We cannot thank Ciro enough for everything and can't wait to have another party to organise!

Room Tip: Go for a suite for the very best although all rooms are good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharnbrook
7.2 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.3 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,493 reviews
6.7 mi away
d'Parys Hotel
d'Parys Hotel
#12 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Millhouse Hotel & Riverside Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sharnbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sharnbrook Hotel

Property: The Sharnbrook Hotel
Address: A6 / Park Lane, Sharnbrook, Bedford MK44 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford > Sharnbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sharnbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sharnbrook Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Sharnbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sharnbrook Hotel Bedford, Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing