We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A delightful Basque welcome!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Palace Tamarises

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Palace Tamarises
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Getxo
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A delightful Basque welcome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived after a lengthy travel day and were happy to discover that the renovated hotel was modern and very comfortable for a family of four (children aged 16 and 14 years of age). We had the seaview and loved watching the world unfold from our balcony.

The room was clean and efficiently laid out with a bunk bed to serve the children's sleeping needs. The bathroom was spacious, comfortable and luxurious shower after long day in the car!

The hotel is conveniently located as we were able to walk to nearby restaurants which offered delicious food. We arrived by car and although the hotel parking was full, it was not a problem to find parking nearby on the street.

The next morning we decided to pay for the breakfast brunch and there was plenty of variety to meet each of our family member's breakfast preferences. We found the staff to be very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaTatonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria G, Gerente at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your very complimentary review of High Tech Hotels. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our rooms and services.
I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    175
    62
    13
    14
See reviews for
126
173
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here mid August and hotel worked well for us. Right by the beach and area has many bars/restaurants some close by, others are worth the effort finding in either the old fishing port or in Algorta proper. Metro (Neguri) is a 10-15 minute walk. Hotel room was smallish by US standards and closet is minimal. Room/bathroom was always clean, plenty of towels, balcony with view to the beach/sea. Definitely worth paying the extra for sea view rooms. Promenades to walk along, area seems to be safe. Hotel staff very personable. Airport is about 40 minutes away depending on traffic. Bilbao by way of metro about 20-30 minutes. Note if you are traveling back from Bilbao to Neguri by Metro, make sure you check the final train destination so you do not end up on the wrong side of the bay.

Room Tip: Go for sea view but remember people stay up late in Spain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac5384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, Online sales department at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Petit Palace Tamarises Hotel and write your feedback. We are pleased to know that we meet your expectations and that you were especially satisfied with our location and rooms with sea views.
We work to satisfy our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.

We would be delighted to welcome soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

very nice people, good location and close to the marina. the rooms not to the sea are not so nice, so i can recommend only to request sea view if possible. nearby going sea wards you will find a staircase to go to the old town of areeta. this is a very special place. nice restaurants and some kind of beer garden (alhough you should order pintxos and white wine)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, Online sales department. at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear client,

Thank you very much for your comment about our Petit Palace Tamarises Hotel. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed our city and services.
We hope that we can offer a room with sea view on your next visit

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife, two daughters aged 17 and 12 and I stayed here for three nights in a family room. Hotel was clean and the staff more than helpful. However the hotel website stated that children in a family room could eat breakfast free. This was not the case. It turns out that children under 12 could eat for half price. Also there is hotel parking but this is at a cost of 11 euros per day. The hotel has seen better days with paint peeling on the balcony and the lap top in our room had a few keys missing. As we were at the end of the hotel the wi fi was a little intermittent.
However it was clean and the staff as I said earlier nice and helpful.
Great location and within walking distance of the metro into Bilbao.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, Online sales deparment at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
To our esteemed guest,
It was such a pleasure reading your comment. Without doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard. We would love to see you again soon at any of our establishments.
Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Lovely staff and nice rooms, each with its own laptop computer and strangely an exercise bike! The pintxos (Basque for tapas) next door in the café bar are excellent. The Tamarises restaurant next door and upstairs is Michelin star quality and not cheap. This hotels "claim to fame" was that the England football team stayed here during the 1984 World Cup.The only down side with this hotel was the breakfast and also the lack of a gym. Having said that this is an excellent beach location for running so pack your trainers! Taxi into central Bilbao is around €25 and to the airport around €15-€20.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, online sales deparment at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Mr Vince

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comment about your experience in our hotel. It helps us to improve.

We do apologize for the inconveniences caused by our gym and breakfast, we are trying to make some improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

At the end of May I stayed for one night at High Tech Tamarises, aka Petit Palace. Despite its name and pseudoname the hotel is neither High Tech nor Petit Palace. Has nothing to do with either. Having a Dell laptop in the room does not make the hotel High Tech, especially when the WiFi is limited in number of connections and does not allow you to connect. Using Internet cable is not a solution either. As for Petit Palace, the place is run down, carpets on the floor should have been changed ages ago, the counter at the reception is aged and this tells you the stage the whole hotel is. My rooms is small and not comfortable, all TV channels are in Spanish only, not having even the regular News channels like CNN or BBC. Not happy being here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, Online sales department. at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you very much for you comment about our Petit Palace Tamarises Hotel.
We will bear in mind your comment about the rooms and laptops and we will do our best to improve in this issue. Your feedback helps us to improve every day.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I 'accidently' booked this hotel thinking I was booking a 'sister?' one in Bilbao old town. However, I got to enjoy an area of 'Bilbao' I would not have seen or known existed. The area is very 'ritzy' with amazing homes that look like small castles! It is only 20 mins from Bilbao on the metro, a lovely 10 min walk from hotel. Staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. There is a great bar on the beach front just down the road.

The room was comfortable but I agree with other reviews and should have upgraded to a sea view. I asked to change rooms as the first one I was given smelt off off drains. Unfortunately the next one also smelt odd and I can only think they were having a problem with their drains. It is an old hotel which has been modernised, but they are restricted as to what and how they can do this and possibly the drains are on the to do list.

Smell aside the room was a comfortable, clean and modern. The room was a bit noisy. I could hear people walking by, talking and children running in the hallway - it was Easter week so Although I didn't see a lot of people I think the hotel was quite full. At least one channel in English would be good - BBC, Bloomberg or CNN. It would be nice to return during summer as the beach looked good and if visiting Bilbao in summer I imagine this hotel and area would be a cool escape.

I didn't take breakfast.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirlygig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana S, Online Sales Department at Petit Palace Tamarises, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments about your stay in High Tech Tamarises. It is such a pleasure reading your comment. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotels are enjoyable ones.

I regret, however, the incidence with the drains. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note with the aim of improving. I regret, however, the incidence with the drains. With this in mind we would like to inform you that we take note with the aim of improving. Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.

Thank you for keeping us in mind for your future travel endeavours. Remind you we have other hotels in Getxo (Bilbao coast) and in Barcelona, Valencia, Málaga, Sevilla, Salamanca, and Madrid. I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Getxo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Embarcadero
Hotel Embarcadero
#3 of 5 in Getxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Igeretxe
Hotel Igeretxe
#2 of 5 in Getxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
#1 of 1 in Portugalete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neguri
Hotel Neguri
#4 of 5 in Getxo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Tamarises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Tamarises

Property: Petit Palace Tamarises
Address: Muelle de Ereaga, 4, 48992 Getxo, Spain (Formerly High Tech Tamarises Bilbao)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Getxo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Getxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Petit Palace Tamarises 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sea front Petit Palace Tamarises Beach Hotel Boutique is located in the exclusive Neguri neighbourhood (Getxo, Vizcaya) on the outskirts of Bilbao. Ideal hotel not only for business trips but also for weekend breaks. The modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar. Some of the rooms have balconies with wonderful sea views. The Petit Palace Tamarises Beach is located near the leading private clubs. Not far from there, the “Abra” marina. Bilbao, the Guggenheim museum and the Convention Centre are situated 15 km. from the Petit Palace Tamarises Beach. That distance can be covered by road or underground. El Puente Colgante Bizkaia (World heritage) and BEC (Bilbao Exhibition Centre) are just 2 km away. Opposite the hotel there is a nice promenade, ideal for practicing all kinds of sports activities: jogging, skating and beach sports.Room types •42 stylish rooms.•An apartment (equipped with kitchen, up to 4 people).•Family rooms up to 6 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•XXL size rooms.•Connecting rooms.•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Petit Palace Tamarises reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing