We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”
Review of Vltava Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vltava Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frymburk
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel as part of a cycling holiday with Bents Tours. This was by far the worst hotel out of the four we stayed in. The hotel is a bit run down in places although the walls look to have been freshly painted.

The bedroom allocated to us could only be described as bizarre. A very small room into which two beds had been shoehorned lengthways with the following furniture squeezed in the remaining space a wardrobe, small table, single chair, one bedside table on which there was an antiquated TV. It was difficult to negotiate out way to the beds let alone out our suitcases somewhere. In comparison the bathroom was huge and I mean huge but very dated. It became apparent that the room was for a disabled person into which they had decided to put an extra bed (and furniture), presumably to enble them to claim it was a twin room and charge extra. The bedding on both beds (including the stained matresses) had seen better days. We didn't even have the benefit of overlooking the lake but the main road. If you are offered room 4 - keep your money firmly within your grasp and run for the door to look for a better hotel.

Breakfast was basic, again by far the worst out of the hotels. We didn't even bother on the second morning, opting instead for the local "ASDA" which bakes fresh delicious pastries each morning.

The public areas are a bit tired. There is a small indoor swimming pool which we didn't use. I don't think I would have trusted them to properly clean and chlorinate the pool. The sun terrace was pleasant but again a bit run down. This could be quite a nice hotel with more investment and with owners who cared and managed the place properly.

Room Tip: Don't accept Room 4. I am told the attic rooms are much better. Ask for a lake side room as well...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picklepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Vltava Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 18 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2011

We visited this hotel as part of a touring cycling holiday and stayed for two days. The location is great and the views from the room over the lake and garden were very pleasant. The furniture and decor were a bit basic but perfectly adequate. The hotel was very quiet and we slept very well there. The breakfast was good but nothing particularly exciting. The staff (in particular the gentleman who manned the front desk) were very friendly and helpful, illustrated by the response to my request for some ice for an injury that i incurred (falling off my bike!!) - this is a request that I have had many hotels refuse in the past but here they couldn't have been more helpful, even starting up the ice machine specially to make some ice for me. While a small thing in itself, this did sum up the helpful and friendly welcome from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Located on the main street, overlooking the lake on one side, this place has great potential, but felt like the owners may be complacent. The garden / terrace area was a little shabby, with weeds growing up through the tiles. Our room was on the surface quite roomy, but was an odd shape, so the double bed was crammed into an alcove with no room for bedside tables, and barely space to stand up.

Staff were friendly, helpful & patient.

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. The restaurant was not as interesting as we suspect the owners thought - the food was basic Czech (absolutely nothing wrong with that), but was fussily presented and overpriced. Avoid the risotto - sounds tempting, but consisted of a pile of fried rice with chicken and vegetables.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BE_Bike_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tabutabu1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: pokoje s výhledem na jezero
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pavel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frymburk
0.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Frymburk
Wellness Hotel Frymburk
#1 of 2 in Frymburk
122 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Aviva
Hotel Aviva
#1 of 1 in St. Stefan am Walde
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Landal Marina Lipno
Landal Marina Lipno
#2 of 2 in Lipno nad Vltavou
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leyla
Hotel Leyla
#1 of 14 in Frymburk
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penzion Markus
Penzion Markus
#3 of 14 in Frymburk
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maxant
Hotel Maxant
#2 of 14 in Frymburk
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vltava Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vltava Hotel

Address: Frymburk 38279, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > South Bohemian Region > Frymburk
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Frymburk
Price Range: $75 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vltava Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Vltava Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing