We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
82
92
23
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
92
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds friendly staff castle surroundings middle dinner
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 205 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2014

I booked a night at the Wurfeld Castle, as we went to the Drielandenpunt for a weekend (Aachen, Maastricht, and some places in Belgium). We ordered 2 3-person rooms. The personnel was very friendly, and we were pleasantly surprised when one of the rooms was upgraded to a 4-person room. Instantly we decided that the room would be occupied by 4 persons, and the remainder 2 would go to the 3-person room. The latter isn't that special, but the 4-person room was excellent. Built as a loft with a level difference between the entrance and the upper floor, it gives a more housy feeling. The breakfast was in a beautiful room, however I was a little disappointed with the variety that was presented. The breakfast was sufficient, but different from what I expected from a 4 **** hotel. The environment is perfect for walking or cycling, and is in the middle of nowhere. Within a 10 minutes drive you're in Maasmechelen where you can shop in the Designer Outlet. Plenty of activities to do. All in all a good stay.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2014

Spend 2 nights on business in Maaseik and stayed at the Wurfeld Castle, greeted by a warm welcome from the old front desk officer. Rooms were clean and tidy, wifi in the room worked good. Dinner at the restaurant was good with a lovely view on the garden, the Christmas decoration in the garden was really neat. Breakfast in the morning was tasty, although I did miss scrambled eggs & bacon. I would recommend this hotels to couples, as it would be an excellent romantic weekend destination.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice welcome for a start: the owner picked us up at the bus stop (we don't have a car). Extremely friendly and professional personnel. The site could be more attractive - the 'castle' is in the midst of a beautiful park. Ideal for walks (the red one, 7 1/2 km travels through the remains of an old morass) and for cycling. The hotel is at the very centre of a great network of cycling paths - 'Knooppunten' - which makes it virtually impossible to loose track and brings you to the nicest places in the wonderful province of Limburg (see app Fiets! also in English). Rooms are comfortable (especially the beds) with all modern amenities (incl. flatscreen and wifi); ours had a separate toilet. Restaurant is very light (verandah-like) and looks out over the garden. Food is acceptable; that is, of good quality but could be more original. Nice breakfast buffet. Given that the hotel promotes all-in cycling packages, the quality of the cycles available could be improved. I identified an excellent one that gave me much pleasure, but others were in a deplorable state. (such as no lights). I expect the owner to seek some collaboration with some initiative that does a regular check and upkeep.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jan_Vranken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spend 2 days in Kasteel Wurfeld, with 4 couples.
The suoerior rooms are nice, with some differences One room was well suited for older people (walk in shower, instead of bath). Two room had a balcony.

The weather was nice , so we could really enjoy the large parc and the terraces.
Service is friendly and efficient.
The hotel is well suited to explore the region with a bike.

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ReneL632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent one night there were 4 couples and 1 single last weekend, the personnel is really friendly and professional , the rooms are spacious (ours even had a king worth's balcony :)) the evening dinner was good, not outstanding but really nice. The rooms might be a bit outdated but it doe suit the castle building and the nice garden surrounding. Breakfast is a feast, has everything you could want , is nice to sit in the veranda with natural sunlight while enjoying the breakfast !

Room tip: the room with the king's balcony is really nice !
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roosmarijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews