We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Rustic Beach Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rapid Richie's Rustic Rentals
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Rustic Beach Getaway”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent the last week of April and the month of May in the Waldorf at Rustic Rentals - right on the beach with heavenly views of the waves, sun, and spectacular sunsets. It was light until nearly 11 at night, and each sunset was unique and awe inspiring. I drifted to sleep watching the sunset fade and awoke to the sound of surf and birds singing. The beach is to die for and there's a fabulous bakery a 10 minute walk up the beach. I felt secluded with a vast sandy-white beach almost to myself. The cabin is extremely comfortable and has everything you need to cook with, including a French Press for coffee. Lights and range are fueled by propane. This cabin was very roomy, a great feature when various family members visited. Waking up and going to sleep with those incredible views will be a memory I will never relinquish! Nearby hiking is spectacular. The hostess, Toni, is extremely helpful and will provide supplies, recommendations, and history of the area and events. She'll even show you how to make a proper fire in the wood stove! She goes out of her way to accommodate her guests and is a true reflection of the wonderful people of Haida Gwaii. This experience is a must for any beach lover, adventurous traveler, or those in need of a real break!

Room Tip: The Zendo is perfect for one or two and the Waldorf easily sleeps up to six. These beautiful cabins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I cannot say enough about how helpful and hospitable Toni was from our first conversation over the phone to welcoming us when we arrived (at 11pm!) and hooking us up with an awesome local guide. Three good buddies from Ontario in our late 20s, we wanted to pick chanterelle mushrooms, surf the beach outside our back door and relax with good food, drink, music and company. We got everything we wanted and more during the four nights we spent at the Waldorf.
There was a low hanging fog along the entirety of North Beach/ Tow Hill for nearly half the time we were there, but the sunsets were incredible and we were didn't get a drop of rain! The cabin has everything up to 6 people could need, but I would definitely recommend bringing an air mattress if there are more than four people/two couples.
If you're planning a trip to Haida Gwaii and want a private beach front experience like none other, call Toni cause this is the place. The three of us are extremely well-traveled, with experiences in every category of accommodations from 5-star to dirty hostels across the globe. After four nights here, and exploring and hanging with the locals in Masset and Port Clements, we all agreed this was in the top 3 vacations any of us had been on.
If you have the opportunity, do yourself a favour and spend a few days here. Thanks again to Toni, a gracious and very accommodating host! A big thank you as well to Mike, owner of the surf shop who dropped off/picked up gear at our cabin for a great price, and even went out of his way to pick us up some extra beer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewyNaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family and I stayed for a week in the Waldorf Cabin on North Beach Haida Gwaii. We had stayed on the same beach the year earlier with a different outfit (North Beach Rentals). This cabin was not as well suited for two adults and a 13 year old and an 8 year old in so far a sleeping arrangements were concerned. Our 8 year old sun opted to sleep on the floor on a blow up as opposed to sleep on the futon wiht his sister. Any cabin on this beach is equipped decently. Running water for dishes is provided by a rain water gavity system (non-potable) the cabin has a private outhouse (though we were not allowed to throw TP down the hole but rather had to bag and burn it) Gas stove and lanterns. Fireplace with lots of wood to split for the fire. The beach and view,,,,,wow but you get that at any beach cabin on this strip. On our previous trip with North Beach the cabin came equiped with all that you needed to go crabbing and clam hunting. Our most recent cabin however did not and we ended up just purchasing chest waders in Masset. I packed the potable water to our cabin from a collection site up the beach (after picking a bottle that was in the best-worst condition). Cabin came with three rolls of TP. It was more convenient to jsut buy our own from Masset than try to track down the owner for more. The real sticking point for us however was that we booked th cabin before we booked the ferry and as such discovered only later that our check out date conflicted with the ferry schedule. When inquiring about changing our booking due to this circumstance we were not met with a sympathetic ear but rather were told that due to the season being slow we would be responsible for that night`s lost business...though if noone was coming anyways then how we impacted business is still beyond me. The amazing experience of Haida Gwaii should not be missed and for us at least, we will most likely book with North Beach Cabins in the future as our preferred choice.

Room Tip: Waldorf is on the beach and has amazing views, but so too do other outfits such as North Beach and A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pr0ffesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The cabin we stayed in was certainly no frills, but it had a lot of light/windows, a comfortable bed and a great location on North Beach. Tony was our hostess and she made sure we had enough wood and even started the stove to welcome us! Great getaway as Masset is close if you need supplies, and can retire to the candlelit comfort of these great cabins.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808G_R_A_N_T_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

These are roomy, fully equipped rustic cabins situated on miles of unspoiled sandy beach. Walk or surf, collect agates or go fishing, watch ravens and eagles and the occasional whale, all right outside your door. I have been here a few times and experience something magical each time.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adrianBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masset
2.1 mi away
Hiellen Longhouse Village
32.1 mi away
Cacilia s Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Sea Raven Motel
Sea Raven Motel
#2 of 4 in Queen Charlotte City
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapid Richie's Rustic Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapid Richie's Rustic Rentals

Property: Rapid Richie's Rustic Rentals
Address: Box 667, Masset, British Columbia V0T 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Graham Island > Masset
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Masset
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing