We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good service”
Review of Alaska View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alaska View Lodge
Ranked #5 of 5 Masset B&B and Inns
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, good service”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is a nice place to stay on the beach in Masset. The food is very good and the service is very attentive. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs rooms with a great view of the ocean and Alaska.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ONTARIO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband stayed here while on a work trip and had nothing but positive things to say. He stayed in the west guest house cabin. No complaints about the bed. The rooms do not have their own TVs but there is a TV to watch in the main lodge if you are interested. The staff were very friendly, inviting and made great breakfast each morning. The beach is literally right there and there is tons to explore near by. We are soon moving to Haida Gwaii and we will definitely be recommending the Alaska Lodge for anyone visiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We arrived late in the season when many places were no longer open so we were very happy to find that The Alaska View Lodge welcomed us and our 2 dogs. The hostess, Cindy, was very gracious, the beds comfortable, great water pressure in the shower, and excellent breakfasts. The hiking, cycling, views, etc. in the area are all just fabulous. There was a storm that many would have paid big bucks to see and hear but lots of sunshine too. Too bad we didn't have more time to stay here.
Sarah and René, Ottawa, Ontario

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahEOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I don't know if it was the fabulous sunny weather during the 2 days we were at Alaska View or the pristine private beach a short walk from the lodge, or the peace and quiet that seemed to elude us in other accommodations, but this place was amazing. It would be the first place I would book if we return to Haida Gwaii. We must have had the same cabin room with the "missing button" mentioned in a previous review on the new looking faux suede sofa, but that trivial item sure wan't on my radar. The room was clean and refreshingly simple (no clutter) and had an amazing deck and yes, the bathroom had a small water damaged piece of molding (if you sit on the toilet and look hard) but the view and surroundings were exaclty what we were looking for. My husband was pleased that the shower had a detatchable head. The breakfast was great with early coffee (6 am) for early risers and the staff were most helpful and friendly.
The beds were a little funky in that they were super soft and kind of sagged in the middle but that didn't stop me from catching up on hours of sleep that eluded me in previous inns. The owners could improve that with some new mattresses. We actually could see Alaska from the beach! There was an interesting restaurant -the Trouthouse- a few kms down the road, so it didn't matter that they didn't have any more room at the Alaska View's dinner table. Wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natureniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We (my wife, youngest son and I) spent four nights in a HUGE beachfront cabin. We had a truly outstanding time walking the beach (Dixon Entrance), lounging in the private hot tub and just plain relaxing in a very isolated and beautiful place. A super comfortable lodging where we just wanted to "hang out". Nonetheless, there is lots of fascinating stuff nearby (notably Tow Hill) to explore. We would go out of our way to stay here again. Everyone we met who worked there was cheerful, welcoming and very helpful. A great experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScotsFamilyRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed all over Haida Gwaii. From Sandspit to Masset and by a landslide, Alaska View was the most beautiful. The cabins were perfect for us. We were 2 couples traveling together, touring the islands and doing a bit of fishing, hiking and much adventuring. We stayed at Alaska View for 2 nights and wished we had booked in longer. We loved cooking on the barbeque on the deck overlooking the incredible ocean views. We absolutely loved the friendly and helpful staff!!! Cynthia and Sarah made our stay incredibly wonderful!!!! I would and will recommend Alaska View Lodge to anyone. Thank you for making our trip so memorable. Erin Wallis. photos from our stay here... http://www.erinwallis.com/blog/2011/08/haida-gwaii/

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Cindy was so pleasant and helpful. She made a delicious breakfast and really did everything to make us feel welcome. Ocean front property with incredible views, and you really can see Alaska on a clear day. Great stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouvervisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masset
7.9 mi away
Hiellen Longhouse Village
0.0 mi away
Northern Shores Lodge
Northern Shores Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sandspit
3 reviews
32.1 mi away
Cacilia s Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska View Lodge

Property: Alaska View Lodge
Address: 12291 Tow Hill Road | Haida Gwaii, Masset, British Columbia V0T 1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Graham Island > Masset
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Masset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alaska View Lodge is located along the north coast of Graham Island, between the town of Masset and Tow Hill. The lodge sits right on the beach overlooking Dixon Entrance and the distant Alaskan Islands. Surrounding us to the south is the ancient rain forest of Naikoon Provincial Park. This European-style bed & breakfast features comfortable and scenic accommodations, and is the perfect setting for tourists interested in exploring Haida Gwaii (the Queen Charlotte Islands). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alaska View Hotel Masset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing