We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”
Review of Amroth Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amroth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amroth Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend staying in the Penthouse apartment my son thought it was fantastic staying in a castle. Views of the beach were fantastic an the apartment was fully equipped with everything we needed. The only downside was the bedroom's did get cold in the nights but that is to be expected with such an old building but there were heaters provided.
The apartment was extremely clean an tidy the only comment I have that let one of the rooms down is the one suite bathroom had been painted an spots of paint were on the floor the Lino had not been replaced.
Lovely restaurants and cafes that over look the beach.
Will definitely recommend this for holidays to people with young children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
53
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Amroth Castle is an excellant safe family holiday park. Caravans and apartments. Activities for children and adults Barbacues, bands, disco in the castle area. Swimming pool.(outdoor). Lovely location with village just a short walk away with a pub cafe and new childrens indoor play area. Out of school hoididay relaxing break

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.
We are so pleased that you have obviously enjoyed your stays with us, and appreciate what Amroth Castle is all about - doing everything we can to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay with us - it is great to hear when our efforts have been appreciated.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family to Amroth Castle again in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed as a family of five adults and two children ages five and 20 months in the penthouse apartment within Amroth Castle for one week from 21st July.We had read some previous reviews and were slighty concerned but on arriving we were very pleased to find we had a very large well equiped apartment ,which was clean and comfortable with a wonderful view over the glorious beach,you have to keep in mind it is a castle you are staying in which is part of the experience and for children a great bonus to their holiday
The owners had kindly left us two bottles of cava as a welcome gift which was a lovely touch.
We found parking easy and close to the castle and the small lawn area with childrens play park well maintained and very safe for our two small grandchildren.The swimming pool is close to the castle and again was kept clean at all times.lovely staff always ready to help ,we had a lovely time and would definately come back.Lots to do in the area very beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Penthouse Apartment - it really does have the most spectacular views doesn't it? We are particularly pleased to hear your complimentary comments about our staff. They all work really hard trying to ensure that all our guests enjoy their holiday, and it is great to hear when their efforts have been appreciated.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family to Amroth Castle again in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at Seascape cottage in July, wonderful setting, great cottage, great location. Vey freindly and helpful staff. The only think they could not magic up was stopping the rain and bringing out the sun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite the weather! We are glad that you liked Seascape Cottage - its location really is superb, and we hope that you appreciated the brand new kitchen we have recently installed.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was are first experiance of Amroth castle and it will be our last. We stayed in the penthouse flat in the castle and the accomodation was in desperate need of renovating the smell of damp is overwhelming and the windows will not open to let fresh air through the shower room and ensuite have mould and paint pealing off. Pipes were leaking, infestations of insects and the shear lack of maintenance was at times to much to take drinking wine was the only way to get through the evening which was such a shame as the location was spot on i would stay in the area again just not at the castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
srlkegs, General Manager at Amroth Castle, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. The Penthouse, with its spectacular views, is one of our most popular units, with guests regularly re-booking for the following year at the end of their stay. We only wish that you had raised your concerns with us while you were here, so that we may have had the opportunity to deal with them at the time, thus allowing you to concentrate on enjoying your holiday.
Another family took up occupation the same day as you left, so there was a delay between us reading your comments, and having a chance to inspect the apartment. On inspection we could not find any smell of damp present; nor could we find any evidence of insects. Of course the weather the week that you spent with us was awful, and with our location right by the beach, and surrounded by woodland, insects abound and can seek shelter indoors in such inclement weather. They are easily eradicated, and if you had alerted us to their presence we could have dealt with them immediately. There are six windows in the apartment and all open; when we inspected them only the (recently painted) rear shower room one was rather difficult to open – but this has now been eased. Amroth Castle is a medieval building with lath and mortar walls and ceilings which can be prone to flaking paint and black spots. We deal with these as and when they occur, but in the case of the Penthouse shower room the ceiling is so high that a working platform has to be brought in to reach it. This is not always easy to do in the few short hours between one family leaving and the next family arriving – this was the case prior to your arrival. With the affected area being so high up and so small in size a decision was made to leave it until there was longer period between guests, and it has since been dealt with. The leaking pipe to which you refer was caused by a washer on a service valve having worn out; this was not present when the unit was checked prior to your arrival, but was found following your departure and replaced before the next families arrival. Washers can fail at anytime, and can be replaced in a matter of minutes if we know about them.
Sorry, again that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but thank you for your comments as any feedback is always appreciated in helping us to improve our service to future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

One of my favourite places. Sure not a lot goes on but thats the whole point. You make your own entertainment. Last time it was stormy (in June) highest tide of the year. Went down the beach every night at high tide and the waves were crashing in over the sea wall. Fab.
Walk the beach across to Saundersfoot and go to the Mermaid restaurant for fish and chips. (go to best chip shop in the world in Tenby as well)
Or walk across the top of Amroth ,great view and down through Wiseman's Bridge and up to the old mine and tram.Love it
Colby is also a lovely place NT .
Actually June 10 we were last there, haven't managed to go this year (yet)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshboy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The service was excellent, everyone put themselves out to ensure we had a good time, which is refreshing in my experience. We all had a great time and will definitely be recommending you to the other age groups in our club and indeed anyone else who wishes to visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amroth
2.6 mi away
The Gower Hotel and Orangery Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.6 mi away
Mellieha Guest House
Mellieha Guest House
#1 of 1 in Amroth
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pleasant Valley House
Pleasant Valley House
#3 of 3 in Stepaside
29 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 3 in Stepaside
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amroth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amroth Castle

Property: Amroth Castle
Address: Amroth Castle Farm Near Tenby, Amroth SA67 8NN, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Amroth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Amroth
Hotel Class:5 star — Amroth Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering cottages and apartments in beautiful Castle grounds, just yards from a Blue Flab beach ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amroth Castle Hotel Amroth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing