We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip from bluestone”

Colby Woodland Garden (National Trust)
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Amroth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day trip from bluestone”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Much better than expected! Pond dipping with good free equipment, a good rope swing, river to wade in, trees to climb and a decent lunch and ice cream. We had no time for the galleries - too much to do! Interesting grounds.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonners10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    62
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great for all the family”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed pond dipping, duck racing, paddling in the stream, sitting by the fire, rope swings, tree climbing. We only stayed in the meadow this visit, but it was such a pleasant visit. Our daughter had a brilliant time. Such good old fashioned fun.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned outdoor fun”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

National Trust properties are always good value but this very basic meadow and wooded walk is a joy for young children. Stepping stones, dam building, rope swings, den building, fallen trees to climb and a great area for pond dipping.

The biggest coronation chicken I have ever seen for just over a fiver, worth sharing 1 between 2 and we are piglets!

An absolute must visit to waste a couple of very relaxing hours.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WheelyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited as a group including pensioners & children aged from toddler to 7. Lady in National Trust office was very knowledgeable & friendly. Cafe was lovely, we stopped for lunch & there was a good selection including kids lunch boxes for a fiver. The rope swings were very popular with the kids, as was paddling in the river. Very enjoyable day out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lellyloo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pond dipping and bottom dripping”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Yet another National Trust triumph. Pond dipping, tree climbing, rope swinging, Pooh Duck cheering and delicious lunch munching.

Shame it was the only day I failed to pack a spare change of clothes for my son, who inevitably sat in the stream :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LMWilliams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby Woodland Garden (National Trust) also viewed

Pembroke, Pembrokeshire
Stackpole, Pembroke
 

Been to Colby Woodland Garden (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing