We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An incredible small hotel”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

After a tough morning in a Tuc Tuc we stopped here totally by chance for lunch. We had a truly excellent lunch and after a bit of deliberation we decided we would spend the rest of our Sri Lanka trip here. We spoke to the manager and he was brilliant. This was the best decision we could have made and heres why. Shinagawa is a small (30 room?) hotel, it has a beautiful pool, garden and beach. The hotel is small enough so you get to feel you are part of something rather than just another faceless room number. The staff are truly excellent, professional and enthusiastic with a smile. The food is beautiful, the menu is well thought our and is a clever mix of east and west there should be something there for everyone. We loved the breakfast, everything is made at the hotel (the jams are amazing). The beach is breathtaking and you can walk for an hour without seeing a soul, except maybe a couple of fishermen. Rooms are all sea view, well designed and spotlessly clean. The hotel TV system is excellent with free movies on demand, great news when you are traveling with a 10 year old. Our flight was in the evening so the manager very kindly give us the room till 17:30 at no extra charge. This hotel is worth every penny and maybe just what you need after a week in a Tuc Tuc. Treat yourself, its worth it

Room Tip: All sea view, all have WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turnpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach S, team at Asia Leisure at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for choosing the Shinagawa Beach for the rest of your stay in Sri Lanka.

Yes we are a small hotel of 26 rooms inclusive of suites. In addition to our great breakfast we hope you tried our seafood as it is what we pride ourselves on.

If you like small intimate hotels you may like to try our sister property The River House also based in Balapitiya. It is very small all suite property..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    109
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
123
235
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Me and my Wife recently visited this property (25 June 14) and it was much better exp than we could have expected , rooms were clean and tidy, Room view was wonderful and was facing the sea and the good weather added to the advantage,It would incomplete if i dont mention the Hospitality of everyone at the property from the General Manager to Chef to even the security Guards all of them were very help full and courteous .Given a choice I would luv to go back again spend some more time there again. three Cheers to all. :)Highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajanplkaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your valuable comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Amazing service, brand new hotel, great beach ith natural pool, friendly stuff who always smiles, food just blown away my mind, for breakfast they served home made marmelade and homemade bread plus much more, but this was the cherry on the cake. Nothing more to say just that I wish you pleasant stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view and you will never make wrong choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenkak594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach S, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for your excellent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments about the food will be shared with our food and beverage team at the hotel for a job well done.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. You can also find us on instagram on #asialesiure #shinagawabeach if you wish to share your experience with us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel. Couldnt have asked more! Room was nice and spotlessly clean, and that food...absolutelly amazing ! Very fresh, colorful, delicious food. All of the staff members were friendly and always eager to help. Can't say one bad word about this hotel. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolezalSvatopluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Asia Leisure Team,

Thank you very much for your excellent review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will most definitely share your review with the staff at the hotel.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Thank You
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Lovely small hotel with modern amenities and friendly service. Comfortable rooms with great sea views. Pretty beach by a bay and good bathing spot. Life guards are also stationed by the hotel. The pool is quite lovely and is partly covered to shield rain or sunlight. Great place to relax!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team,

Thank you for such a rewarding review and all your compliments will share with our food and Beverage team with no hesitation. Once again thanking you very much for giving us a opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I, recently visited this Hotel for some relaxation while in down south, found extremely beautiful and the atmosphere was stunning. In fact I was thrilled with the service what I was offered . I really personally appreciate the service of the management and their crew. The prices were reasonable and the food was very good. I would certainly be delighted to visit this place when I get an opportunity to visit the down south.

Gamini Weeraratne
Kandy, Sri Lanka

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gamini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Ayubowan!

Thank you very much for your review .We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Once again we appreciate your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to paradise in the near future!

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

from all the balconies as it is bang on the beach. I have given very good mainly due to the staff trying their best to please the guest. One of you has rightly written, has potential but lacks experience and that is what I felt with the staff.
The rooms are large with all the modern facilities however I felt some of the fixtures need a re-fix as the plumber was a cowboy in rush :-) The shower will definitely make your toilet seat wet as it is so close to it and we had to cover the loo roll so that it does not get wet.
The balcony - stunning views but then again, not sure what the architect was thinking when he designed and put gaps in between each balcony enough for someone to slip through.
To the hotel - Please can you put either curtains or an opaque partition to respect people's privacy.
The beach is a bay where you can walk and is quite a nice area. Some locals were hanging around but they didn't bother us in fact we had a good chat with them as they were polite and friendly.The perfect place to empty your anti-mosquito spray all over your legs if you are going for a walk in the evening.
I felt the food was good. Dinner had a decent menu, not over the top elaborate and it tasted fine. Breakfast was a'la carte and at the end there is only so much one can eat :-)
My biggest bone to pick is the pool! So sorry guys but again, the pool is partly covered and while swimming you feel you are almost in the lobby and are constantly being watched. Do you have the option of shooting the architect but I reckon it is too late for that lol!
The small open area in front of the hotel is where you can lie and sunbathe if you wish and go into the sea for a swim or have a quick dip in the pool and come back outside to lie as a lot fo the sunbeds are in the shaded area. I was told it is a Japanese design/owner and it shows in small points.
Overall a good value for money because you are not paying over the top prices like some hotels and good was reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Always ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roopks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Ayubowan,

Thank you very much for your feedback and certainly all your comments were taken very positively. We are glad that you have given us an opportunity to serve you and truly look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,487 reviews
10.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
9.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
171 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
605 reviews
9.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure

Property: Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Address: No 30 Old Guru Niwasa Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shinagawa Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to luxury on a secluded beach like no other with its own natural rock pool. It's no wonder that Shinagawa Beach is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Our twenty four Deluxe Rooms offer an amazing view with a private balcony. The two Suites offer a panoramic view from the room, balcony and bathroom and include butler service. You'll appreciate IPTV guest systems, an LED screen and complimentary wifi. The restaurant and bar open out to sea and serve the trendiest cuisine with an exceptional cocktail menu. Dive into the pool, stay active at the gym or enjoy a retreat at the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinagawa Beach By Asia Leisure Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing