We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay in Shinagawa beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in Shinagawa beach hotel”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I was in this hotel with my wife and my son (2 years).
We really appreciate the staff reactivity and availability.
They like kids and make all possible to answer to our requests.

Thank you again for this very nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mehdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Ayubowan!

We are very excited to see your review here.Thanks for all of your compliments about the staff and the service.Thank you very much once again for giving us an opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcome you back to our corner of paradise in your next visit of Srilanka.

Thank you,
Asia Leisure team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    109
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
123
236
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Lovely small hotel with modern amenities and friendly service. Comfortable rooms with great sea views. Pretty beach by a bay and good bathing spot. Life guards are also stationed by the hotel. The pool is quite lovely and is partly covered to shield rain or sunlight. Great place to relax!

Room Tip: Request for a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nimarla f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Ayubowan,

Greetings from Asia Leisure team.

Dear Nimarla,

We really appreciate your valuable comments and thank you very much for sharing your wonderful thoughts with all of us.Your topic itself described how much you have enjoyed the stay and we look forward to welcome you back to our small hotel to explore the southern hospitality once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Superb location with a scenic view of the ocean from each room. Personal attention by the very hospitable staff. Delicious food by chef Mahesh. Bathrooms could hav uhe been designed better and the price of food and beverages more reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure team,

Thank you for such a rewarding review and all your compliments will share with our food and Beverage team with no hesitation.We really appreciate your comments about the bathroom structure and all of them were taken to our consideration in very positive manner. Once again thanking you very much for giving us a opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcome you back in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

From the time we walked in we were always greeted with a smile by each and every staff member at Shinagawa! They were very helpful and went out of their way to make our very short stay a memorable one. There were 8 of us in total including my 82year old grand mother whose birthday celebration was the occasion. Lunch was served at Salt (The Restaurant) and it was very good and complete. The Chef himself was freely available to us and we were able to discuss the menu with him as we had 2 vegetarians in our group. Afterwards, during tea time the staff without hesitation arranged for us to cut the birthday cake and enjoy tea/coffee poolside.Special thanks to the F&B manager Susantha for his extra efforts. Although we did not spend the night here I would definitely recommend Shinagawa Beach for anyone who is considering a getaway in downsouth Sri Lanka. It was a refreshing experience to see such good service. The prices were very reasonable as well. Looking forward to my next visit to Shinagawa Beach.
Dharshan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharshan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure Team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family,

Dear Dharshan, We are really appreciate your stunning review and glad that you have shared your wonderful experience with all of our Shinagawa fans here. Its a great feeling to become a part of your family celebration time and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.We will share all your compliments among our associates ,Yes they always make it memorable. Belated wishes for your grandmother from the Asia leisure family and we are having pleasure of welcoming you to celebrate your next family party at your favorite beach resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Shinagawa was totally amazing! This was recommended by a friend who works in the travel industry so I knew it had to be good!
We stayed at this beautiful resort in April and it was perfect! It rained in the evening, but it cleared in no time.
The staff were friendly and were extremely helpful.

The food was fantastic. For breakfast, there was a vast variety of choices, lunch was la claret menu and dinner was a set menu. The staff at ‘Salt’ were efficient and polite. One of my favourite dishes was the lobster, it was very well cooked and I can confidently give a 9/10 for food!
We really enjoyed the home made dips – the beetroot and carrot dips were sooo good and irresistible!

The rooms were very spacious – we loved the bathroom and the tub! Oh the view was fantastic whatever time of day!
The beach was clean and really nice, however we didn’t really get the time to go for a dip. We did get the opportunity to get in the pool, which was extremely well maintained and clean…

Would definitely return again to this little gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deshmie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia Leisure family.

Dear Sudeshmi,We appreciate the great review and its a honor to become a part of your unforgettable vacation. We’re also very excited to read that you found breakfast enjoyable and all of our associates have matched your needs in friendly manner. All your compliments about the main restaurant "Salt"staff will be shared with them with a pride.As the way your friend's recommendations led you to find us,Your comments will lead thousand of guests to choose their dream vacation with us. We look forward to welcome you back to your little gem in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The food was ok, but could have had a larger variety of things to choose from. The balcony was not that great, because our family in the room next to us, could slip through the crack in the wall and come through to our room. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The beach was really good and clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Ayubowan,

Greetings from Asia Leisure family,

Dear Natasha, Thank you very much for your feedback and certainly all your comments taken very positively. We are glad that you have given a opportunity to serve you and truly look forward to welcoming you back – thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff were extremely helpful And always a smile away. A real delight to be looked after for your entire duration of stay. Rooms were well designed and the free movie selection on the tv is a definite plus. Views are breathtaking but this is Sri Lanka so can't really say that's a surprise in that part of the country. Restaurant staff were very attentive and the food plans were a good mix of buffets, set menus and a la carte with loads of options. Overall a great stay. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShinagawaBeach, Asia Leisure team at Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Ayubowan!

Greetings from Asia leisure family,

Dear Milinda,Thank you very much for your stunning review and Its a such a pleasure of having you with us. We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay to the fullest and very exciting to see that you found the atmosphere, Service and the food were great. Specially the movie collection in your room. Once again We appreciate your positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back to paradise in near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,488 reviews
9.1 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
10.1 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
173 reviews
15.1 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
9.6 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure

Property: Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Address: No 30 Old Guru Niwasa Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka (Formerly Shinagawa Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to luxury on a secluded beach like no other with its own natural rock pool. It's no wonder that Shinagawa Beach is a Small Luxury Hotel of the World. Our twenty four Deluxe Rooms offer an amazing view with a private balcony. The two Suites offer a panoramic view from the room, balcony and bathroom and include butler service. You'll appreciate IPTV guest systems, an LED screen and complimentary wifi. The restaurant and bar open out to sea and serve the trendiest cuisine with an exceptional cocktail menu. Dive into the pool, stay active at the gym or enjoy a retreat at the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shinagawa Beach By Asia Leisure Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing