We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
84
28
3
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
28
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews madu ganga boat ride sri lanka infinity pool relaxing jacuzzi rooms are amazing hidden gem peaceful holiday rice and curry vegetarian options fish and chips top floor quiet place set menu monkeys balcony chef
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 121 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016

This was one of the best resort that we have stayed in. It’s like a hidden paradise with beautiful architecture. The “Emperor Rooms” were very comfortable, clean & was inclusive of all the essentials. It was an amazing infinity pool with the view of the Madu River in calm and peaceful environment. The food in general was delicious but not too many varieties available. The staff was very friendly & corporative towards us. Also need to add the staff person – Rifkhan at the head office in Colombo who gave a lot of support in selecting this resort. If you are looking to spend some quality relaxation time with your friends or family not too far from Colombo this is the right place to go!

Room Tip: Room No.204 has the great view of the pool and the Madu River
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian_Perera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2016

SUMMARY:
Great location to unwind; Spacious and luxurious rooms; Amazing service (Highlight); Food options and prices could have been better; Best for couples.

Location:
If you are coming from Colombo in public transport, note that although there is a train station almost next door to this location, the train doesn't stop there. You have to get off at Ambalangoda and take a tuk tuk or bus to the location. A tuk tuk costs around 400-500 from Ambalangoda and is around 15 mins away. If you are coming by bus, the hotel is a bit of a walk from the main road.

The hotel is situated adjacent to the Madu River so the view is definitely breathtaking. They've managed to preserve much of the natural habitat so don't be surprised if you have monkeys in your balcony or land monitors by the pool :)

The Room
We made a reservation for an Emperor Room which had a jacuzzi in the balcony. The architecture was tasteful - a mix of modern and rustic. The room was large and spacious with lots of closet/storage space. Even the bathroom was quite large with an open air shower area - which we absolutely loved!

Food & Bev
We were on full board basis so meals were included. For the price you pay, the options weren't that extensive and therefore disappointing. The flavours in the Sri Lankan range was definitely better than the Western dishes, but portions were large and generous. You can bring your own alcohol as they do not have a liquor license to serve you alcohol.

Service:
The highlight of the hotel was the service - hands down! Staff were very attentive from the point of reservation till check-out. Our waiter brought all our meals to our room and went the extra mile every single time to ensure we were satisfied with everything. We were highly impressed by his attentiveness.

Room Tip: The emperor rooms have a jacuzzi in the balcony and is only LKR 1000 more than the other rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nishadi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

I loved the service at this hotel,
the staff were amazing when it came to helping with directions, activities, any requests, etc.
It has very Calm environment.
I really enjoyed in this place.
The rooms are fantatic and the jacuzzi on the balcony was a real treat,room rates are reasonable.
You can see beautiful madu ganga in there.
Also you can easily arrange boat ride on madu ganga.
I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: June 2016
3  Thank sankalpapramod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

First of all the hotel promises a certain discount for credit cards and once you go there you find out that it's a scam and the room rate is the same regardless of the type of card or cash you pay. There was only one waiter for the entire restaurant and we had to wait for ages for our food with two hungry children!!!
The location is lovely and lobbied the ambience of the hotel. The attention to detail of the decor was commendable.

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank shashika f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Roman lake have Larger rooms and jacuzzi in the balcony. It has very Calm environment, friendly staffs, tasty foods. I really enjoyed in this place. You can see beautiful madu ganga in there. Also you can easily arrange boat ride on madu ganga. Room rates are reasonable. Foods little bit expensive.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
3  Thank La H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews