We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveler rating
83
28
3
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
28
3
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadu gangaboat ridesri lankainfinity poolrelaxing jacuzzirooms are amazinghidden gempeaceful holidayfood optionsrice and curryfish and chipstop floorquiet placeset menumonkeysbalconychef
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 120 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2016 via mobile

Visited Roman Lake with a group of friends in Jan 2016. Beautiful property designed for ultimate relaxation. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Beautiful pool with a great view of the Balapitiya lake and mangroves. The food is tasty and the chef and his team were willing to change up the menus as per our request. Front office and reservations staff is extremely friendly and obliging.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
Thank JJayaweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2016

With the Roman Lake Hotel we found our personal paradise. After an exhausting trip through Sri Lanka we really enjoyed the calm and relaxing atmosphere of this hotel. Everything was very clean and well tended, the food was amazing (although quite expensive for Sri Lanka) and the staff was friendly and smiling all day.
The hotel tries to fulfill all the guests' wishes - like fishing in the lake and preparing the fish for dinner or providing portable WIFI (since the connection of the hotel's wifi is not ideal).
With just 8 rooms this hotel always remains very calm and quiet and the staff can provide personalized service.
The beach of Balapitiya is at a 15 min walk from the hotel.
The hotel is a little bit away from the rest of the world, but if you are seeking for relaxation, it is just perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JuliaPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

Of the 5 hotels we stayed in during our time in Sri Lanka, Roman Lake was the one I was most excited about but ended up being slightly disappointing.

PROS
- The hotel is beautiful, with large clean rooms
- Staff is friendly and helpful, though we have had some challenges with the language barrier; I would suggest you double and triple check any arrangements you make with them as we had misunderstandings on 2 or 3 occasions
- The views are beautiful and pool is nice
- There are monkeys, monitors and mongoose spotted regularly around the hotel which makes for an interesting experience
- Boat safari was lovely and they pick you up from the hotel, just make sure you take a few extra thousand rupees for tips and donations
- Massages can be done in your room, but only male masseurs available
- After enquiring about the upstairs rooms, the hotel staff very kindly upgraded us at no extra charge
- There is a small selection of reading books upstairs which is helpful to pass the time by the pool
- Breakfast is elaborate and has a lot of options, will keep you going until late afternoon!

CONS
- We booked on Agoda, who said the hotel is in Bentota. It definitely is not.
- Transport is expensive, one gets the idea that they try to take advantage of the fact that you are in the middle of nowhere. In saying this, we went for a stroll and found our own tuk tuk driver who was willing to negotiate rates and drive us around
- The WIFI is not great and a lot of the time there is no signal
- Food in restaurant is average, I imagine if they improved on this one would be more likely to want to stay at the hotel all the time and not venture out
- The temple is close by and speakers very loud, it goes on for about an hour between 5-6am. If you're not an early riser I suggest sleeping with earplugs
- Balcony jacuzzi loses as much water as goes into it because of the plug not sealing properly - if you have booked an Emperor room make sure yours works before you try getting any water in!
- Bring cash to settle your bill; reception called us asking if we would prefer to pay cash or card, and when we came downstairs to pay they said the card machine was broken

Overall I think it's a very romantic location for couples and for a short visit; personally I think 4 days were a bit too long for us due to the limited amount of things to do, but if you're looking for a calm and serene place to put your feet up for a while, this is it.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2015

The Roman lake was our last stop in Sri Lanka and maybe unexpectedly the highlight. The property is beautiful and the rooms are all very spacious with beautiful views over the river. with Antiques Furniture with all the Premium Modern Luxury Amenities. This Suite has Big Bedroom, Living Room, Huge Bathroom and most important open out Balcony with its own JACUZZI, which allows you to enjoy whatever way you want to, as it has full privacy and this is the space for two as you soak and stretch just a way nature intended. Staff was extremely helpful and second to none.They looked after my babies while we were having lunch. they have a special experienced CHEF who has prepared mouth watering food for us and we thanks to him we have enjoyed the food that made us. We will certently be staying here again. Only bad point is poor wifi connection.

Room Tip: Rooms with jacuzzi are exceptional
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Niwanthi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

Our stay at the Roman Lake was exceptional. It was not planned in our trip to stop in Balapitiya since we had already booked a hotel in Bentota but we decided that we could have some more days of relax. Instead of going to another hotel in front of the sea, we thought it would be nice to be close to the Madu Ganga and we found a good deal with the Roman Lake. Before arriving, they called to make sure we knew how to get to the hotel. Once we entered the hotel, we were astonished. The decoration is fantastic and the views breathtaking, but also the welcoming warm that we felt and how they explained things to us. They wanted us to feel it as home, and indeed we did. They offered us a fresh juice and showed us the property. The rooms are amazing, with attention to every detail. All of them have views to the garden and the ones on the first floor have an outdoor jacuzzi in each terrace. It was nice to finally find a nice bathroom with toiletries and white towels. The bed was new and extremely comfortable. They provide also each room with fridge, free water and tea or coffee. We were lucky to be the only guests in the hotel since it was not high season and we could enjoy the great swimming pool. Second night, we stayed in for dinner. They prepared us a romantic dinner next to the pier. Service and food were amazing both for dinner (curry extremely recommended, first time we could eat everything because it wasn't too spicy) and also breakfast. Even though they had to give us a second room due to a little technical problem, our stay at the Roman was outstanding. Best service we haver ever received and seen.

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaRTa_PRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews