We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roman Lake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$114
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River House(Balapitiya)
$163
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
$185
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$92
Official Hotel
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
80
25
3
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
25
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmadu gangaboat ridesri lankaayurvedic clinicawesome locationrelaxing jacuzziinfinity poolrooms are greata minute tuk tuk ridehidden awayromantic dinnerpeaceful holidaymonkeys playingground floorbuddhist templefish and chipsrice and curry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 113 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

100% recommend this hotel. It is am amazing little retreat overlooking the lake. All staff are extremely nice and make you feel very comfortable. Rooms are gorgeous and very comfortable. It was amazing feeding the monkeys from our balcony and enjoying the hot tub in the evenings. The food was a little pricey but very nice. We will definitely stay here again if we return to Sri Lanka and can't speak anymore highly of it. We hope it wins he award from trip advisor for 2014 as well.

Room Tip: Emperor room is really nice. We stayed in Augustus
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We have been travellig a lot around Sri Lanka and tried lots of different hotels, both high-end and budget and this was by far the best one! We didnt want to leave!! The staff was super friendly and very attentive, the location is fantastic and the food was great. It was one of the modt relaxibg places we been to. we also enjoyed the wild life around the hotel. Every morning there were lots of monkeys in the trees around the hotel. Already planning to go back next time we are in sri lanka.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank amariaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived at the Roman Lake on 3rd January for 3 nights. From the moment we walked through the front door and were greeted by the spectacular view that opened up in front of us, we were speechless.
And it only got better from there.
This Hotel was designed by a professional Architect and it shows, every little detail in the style and design of the building was exceptional. We were given a ground floor room named Julius. Inside it was just beautiful. The room had 12 foot high ceilings, a set of French doors opened onto our own patio with views of the gardens and lake beyond.
The best bit was seeing the bathroom...........incredible. To say it was large would be understating a fact. the same high ceiling as the bedroom, but the best part was in front of the amazing shower and the toilet. The room was open to an outside space which was your own small walled garden. Taking a shower looking up at Blue skies of star studded skies was fantastic.
When you arrive at the Roman Lake you are assigned your own waiter who looks after all you needs at every meal. We were fortunate to get Ishan who looked after us perfectly, we could not have asked for more from him. He even went out on his bike to re-stock our beer and wine needs while we were out on a boat trip around the lake. (This is the one thing you need to be aware of, because of the Hotels close location to a Temple they are not allowed an alcohol licence. A 5 minute Tuk Tuk ride gets you to a local wine shop were you can purchase what you need, and the Hotel will keep it in their fridge or you can use the small fridge in your room. A bottle of wine is 4000 Rupees and beer 400 Rupees per bottle)
While at the Hotel we both celebrated birthdays. My partners being a milestone one. The Hotel provided a lovely Birthday cake and a few fireworks that were compliments of the Management. We ate on that evening at the end of the pier on the lake which was a perfect spot for the occasion.
Lastly I have to say how impressive the food was here. Both the never ending Breakfast and the evening 3 course meal. The local Sri Lankan dishes were beautiful.
To finish I will add that this is without doubt one of the very best hotels I have been fortunate to stay in over my lifetime. I do hope I get an opportunity to repeat the experience.

Room Tip: They are all outstanding rooms so you do not need to worry.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveJPMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful holiday at Roman Lake.
The boutique hotel is designed cleverly ensuring that there is a view of the lake from most rooms. The suites on the upper floor are absolutely luxurious while the only room we saw in the ground floor(next to reception) was lovely too.

The view is phenomenal and you can stare at the lake for hours as it's simply breathtaking.

The service is good, although I must say that there is room for improvement.

We felt that the food was average for such an excellent place, so I guess it would be good if the management looks into this aspect!

The Spaghetti served for dinner was nothing to write home about and we were not offered fruit/dessert after breakfast which is quite standard in a boutique hotel. No tea and coffee either :(

We will definitely visit again soon as the place is stunning, and if the quality of the food improves it will definitely among the top boutique hotels in the country!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Oshani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hospitality by the staff was excellent. We were greeted by the staff with welcome drinks in the roman style lobby overlooking the pool and the lake. The rooms were highly hygienic and clean adding to the private jacuzzi. Food was excellent and dinner was prepared at a location we chose, on a jetty. The service and hospitality was unmatched to that of any other hotels I've been to in Sri Lanka. Arranges tour of the lake to visit small islands nearby via speed boat. Provides with a fish massage which was a totally new experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank n4xmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews