We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Relaxation”
Review of Roman Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Lake Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Balapitiya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lakeside Relaxation”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas and were delighted with the facilities and service. The rooms are fantatic and the jacuzzi on the balcony was a real treat.

All in all this is a beautiful relaxing resort to kick back for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danb_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    21
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went with friends. We booked the entire place (all 8 rooms), so it was worth it since we got a special rate. In fact, I would recommend it to anyone who is travelling in a large group as you can book the whole place and do your own thing. We had a nice barbeque in the evening and the service was quite good.

The pool isn’t very big, but nicely done.

On the minus side – the shower cubicles need curtains (the guests outside can see you having a shower!), and the food was rather basic. Also, it is a little difficult to find, as there is no signage indicating the location. In fact, we had to call them a number of times before we found the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are fitted with a Jacuzzi and maybe worth it if ur travelling as a couple. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at Roman Lake for 4 nights at the end of December. After a rather stressful week in the cultural triangle and Kandy we were very much in need of a bit of R&R. We didn't really know what to expect as the hotel is new and only few people left reviews online (the guest book is full of great feedbacks though) but what a fantastic surprise! Our stay exceeded our expectations at every level.

The hotel itself is beautiful. Minimal design in the jungle, open spaces, attention to detail, huge bedrooms and bathrooms, large pool, great view, garden... all of this in the most relaxing setting. We went for the Emperor Suite with the private jacuzzi which we definitely recommend.

The staff is incredibly lovely and helpful - and this includes absolutely everybody, from the manager to the chef (the food is great - there isn't really anywhere else to go but that wasn't an issue at all), waiters and reception staff. They made us feel at home and it was really hard to leave this little paradise after only 4 days.

We ended up recommending the hotel to my parents who were having a pretty terrible experience with their hotel in Galle; they loved Roman Lake just as much as we did.

Tips: the hotel is located on the Madu Ganga (the boat trip is worth it - a little adventure) but in fact the (picture perfect) beach is only 10 minutes away - ask the staff and they will happily show you around.

The hotel wasn't serving alcohol when we visited it but BYO is fine and easy to sort out. The license should be sorted in the next few months.

It's very easy to visit other coastal towns (Galle, Hikkaduwa etc) with the train. Quite a fun and very cheap experience.

Room Tip: The Emperor Suite are definitely worth it. For added privacy ask for one of the 2 corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e8vsse15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is a nice boutique hotel and rooms a really nice and love the Jacuzzi. some rooms you ll get the sower open to the air. very nice pleasant staff including the chef. if you want you can arrange a boat ride in Madu Ganga and you can see mangroves, cinnamon island, fish spa...etc. so i think its worth visiting this place
Nalika and Amaya

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nalikakarunaratne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balapitiya
0.7 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
1.5 mi away
Heritance Ahungalla
Heritance Ahungalla
#1 of 2 in Ahungalla
3,455 reviews
2.5 mi away
The River House
The River House
#3 of 5 in Balapitiya
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
1.1 mi away
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
Calamansi Cove by Jetwing
#2 of 5 in Balapitiya
117 reviews
23.4 mi away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Lake Hotel

Property: Roman Lake Hotel
Address: Godagedara, Pathegama Road, Balapitiya 80550, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Balapitiya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Balapitiya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROMAN LAKE - Balapitiya. The luxury, the comforts and the elegance this place offers is nothing short of a premium boutique hotel by any standards and sets it way above the rest. Very elegantly designed by a famous architect to capture the essence of the location by cleverly blending into the environment with all the luxuries that one could think of and yet again tastefully aging this brand-new hotel to have a ’ look & feel’ of the passing of time. In essence this place is a ‘shabby-chic’ wonder! Set in a picturesque location over-looking the waters of Maduganga estuary which is famous for its mangroves and many endemic flora & fauna, is probably the best place for you to have a tranquil deep relaxing holiday of your life. This place is ideal for you to spend your special moments such as your Honeymoon or Anniversary or to simply get away from the stresses of city life & rejuvenate in the lap of luxury. Having a candle lit dinner on the floating platoon with millions of stars to illuminate the night sky or at dusk to simply immerse yourself in the open air Jacuzzi almost touching the tree tops of the engulfing rain forests and to stare at the waters or the distant flickering lights coming off the many crab traps laid by the fisherman, is simply a magical experience and the memories you would no-doubt will savor through your entire life time. The closest town Balapitiya ( 1 km) is a small fishing hamlet nestled between the famous Bantota and Hikkaduwa on the southern coast of Sri Lanka is famous for its world renowned Ceylon cinnamon and fishing. ROMAN LAKE would be an ideal base for you to explore Bentota, Hikkaduwa and Galle the better known tourist destinations in Sri Lanka which is just half hour's drive away. This Boutique Hotel offers 8 (5 Emperor + 3 Caesar) very spacious elegantly furnished rooms each with equally large Bath rooms some open to the sky line. Each room offers a large sit out/ balcony facing the lake, flat screen TV, IPod doc with speakers, vast selection In- House movies and Song Data Base and free Internet. The 5 Emperor rooms all located in the first floor each has a private open air Jacuzzi bath over-looking the lake as an additional feature. And the 3 Caesar rooms are on the Ground Floor with a large private sit-out. At the Roman Chain we take food very seriously. Keeping in line with the opulence and indulgence that was once famous during the period of Roman Empire we offer a large variety of cuisine with authentic flavors. Our chef takes pride not only satisfying your taste buds, for him presentation is a passion and a work of art. Hence we have no doubt that your memories of Roman Lake would be mostly coupled with the food experience that you will encounter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roman Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Lake Hotel Sri Lanka/Balapitiya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing