We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Messing about on the river”
Review of Madu River

Madu River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madu River is a wetland, near the Small town "Balapitiya" along the Colombo Galle highway. This is the point where the Estuary of the Madu river. The river flows through a terrain where it creates a large number of islands, and the eco system creates a beautiful wetland. The hotels around provide boat rids through the canals created at a good cost. And there are loads of places to stay, dine and wine.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Messing about on the river”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

A lovely 2 hour trip on the river looking for wildlife in the form of birds, lizards and crocs.

We visited several small islands on our trip – a fish farm where you can partake in a foot massage by the fish. Totally freaked me out but my husband really enjoyed the experience.
We held a baby croc and spent 15 minutes watching the fish before heading off to Cinnamon Island which houses just one family.

The demonstration was good and was held in a mud hut with straw roof. The demonstrator showed us how to harvest and collect various parts of the cinnamon tree for different purposes. The smell was amazing.

Next was the Buddhist temple where we met a monk who gave us each a blessing and showed us a 600 year old Buddhist book. We looked around the temple and also the Hindu temple right alongside it.

A lovely 2 hours spent on the water and travelling through mangrove passages.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouiseJB29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    120
    63
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“avoid the Madu River boat tour”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

In my opinion, this Madu River boat tour from Captain's Boat house was nothing short of a scam and a rip off. We saw absolutely nothing of any interest. It was ridiculously expensive, lasted less than an hour and we saw no animals. We entered the covered canopy area of the mangrove (which they show you in the photo in advance) for literally less than 30 seconds. We inhaled boat fumes and fumed ourselves as we puttered along in a crappy boat with nothing to look at. Every time the boat driver put the canopy up and down, it bopped us on the head. We were taken to a run down temple, toured through the disgustingly dirty back rooms only to be led directly to the guest book where we were expected to leave more more....for what I am not sure, since the money certainly does not appear to be going back in to the temple. It felt like a 100% tourist trap. When we came back to the dock, my children, who aren't that difficult to impress, said "What? We're done? We didn't see anything!". RIP OFF, DON"T GO! I am disappointed that my tour company recommended this to us and disappointed that we wasted our day travelling to it. Only saving grace was that it only lasted an hour because I thing if it lasted any longer the boat fumes would have killed us. Have I made myself clear? Sorry to be harsh, but I very much dislike getting ripped off, especially on vacation.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank DClaireandCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best backwater experience.”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Its a wonderful experience of backwater and the motor boatride through the mangrooves,recommended 1 hour ride.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lloydceylontrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a enjoyable boat ride”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we did the madhu ganga boat ride through Captain's Boat House. Suggestion is to go early morning (8am) best time to spot water monitors and birds.
The guide was knowledgeable and quite friendly. He patiently lets you take photos of the birds.
We also did Fish Foot Spa at one of the places it was a great experience. They also allow you to hold a baby crocodile.
The total 1.5 hours ride was very enjoyable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank namratavc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An enjoyable excursion”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Pottering about in a small boat among mangrove swamps, seeing sand extraction by divers working off a small boat and weaving among elaborate prawn nets strung across the river.... all interesting. Throw in a few large water monitors and fascinating blue jellyfish, purple faced leaf monkeys and lots of kingfishers and you have a recipe for a great hour on the water.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ama2012374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madu River also viewed

 

Been to Madu River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing