We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant putter up the river.”
Review of Madu River

Madu River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Madu River is a wetland, near the Small town "Balapitiya" along the Colombo Galle highway. This is the point where the Estuary of the Madu river. The river flows through a terrain where it creates a large number of islands, and the eco system creates a beautiful wetland. The hotels around provide boat rids through the canals created at a good cost. And there are loads of places to stay, dine and wine.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pleasant putter up the river.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The River Boat Safari is a pleasant putter along wide stretches of calm river with dips in and out of mangroves to spot wildlife and trees. Although its uber touristy with stops at a tiny cinnamon farm, a Buddhist temple, a fish farm and fish spa, it’s still a very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours just kicking back and relaxing. The stops are all selling goods or taking donations and if you want to enjoy the experience to fullest just suck it up and take plenty small change. Our guide was very good, sliding up to monkeys, water monitors, kingfishers etc. in order to get pics. He took a fabulous photo of myself and hubby in a mangrove but I was out of luck at the start of the tour because the fake fishermen fell off their poles before I got a chance to snap them lol! The boats hold up to about 8 people but we went just by ourselves at a cost of about £10pp. The guides are great and there are toilet facilities at the end of the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank portopunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    121
    64
    26
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice for children but try to come early in the morning”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My famliy and me visited this place and took one for the safari tours that are offered in the river.
We came at 1:00PM so we didn't see as much as possible (there suppose to be much more animals there). But we did saw some birds, monkies etc.
We visited the cinemon island and traveled with the boat in the river. The children really enjoyed, though I can't say it is so worthy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Orit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Safari on a boat - very nice experiance”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is about an hour cruise where you will see some birds and animals while traveling on small boats through exotic locations. There will be a few stops along the way where you will see how Sri Lanka people take advantage of the vegetation, how they create cinnamon sticks, etc.
Of course, like everywhere in Sri Lanka - you will have an opportunity to buy some local products.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vrafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

If you like tearing around in a noisy boat ripping up rupees then this will suit you. No wildlife (you may be lucky to spot something moving, such as a bird or water monitor but the boat driver will steer away in a hurry) and extra donations and costs at every stop. Don't bother, an expensive waste of time and money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
1,053 reviews
607 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“A river safari in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Madu River is a shallow water body in Southwest Sri Lanka, which enters the sea at Balapitiya. In a very simple boat we had the opportunity to explore the river, with its beautiful mangrove tunnels and rainforest covered margins. At the Madaduwa Cinnamon Island, local experts will tell you the secrets of collecting and producing cinnamon, an insight into typical rural life in Sri Lanka. At a fish farm, tiny red tilapias will massage your feet with little bites. At the same time, iguanas, monkeys and bats will be around, almost touchable, if you dare to do so ... In another island, you'll visit the Koth Doowa Temple, a 400 years old Buddhist temple, with nice buildings and a resident monk explaining its history and the efforts made into its renovation. Don't miss the Madu river safari, it is for sure a lot of fun, specially for kids. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madu River also viewed

 
Balapitiya, Southern Province
 

Been to Madu River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing