We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How I would have loved to have a been a fly on the wall this weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Logis Auberge Du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margon
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“How I would have loved to have a been a fly on the wall this weekend”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just a short hop from the lovely town of Pesenas this hotel has come under the influence of two rugby fans; one supporting Toulon (madame) the other half shouting for Clermont Auvergne and this weekend they were due to meet in the Heinekin Cup final!! Being a Munster fan I was not too impressed at the preparatory advertisement for this event as we checked in, as my team were the ones that lost to Clermont in the semi-finals but it did give me some leverage.

On arrival we a bit perturbed to see the gate to the hotel locked against us but as we hesitated outside the gate Monsieur showed up , walking his dog and opened the gate and bade us welcome. We were shown to our small but perfectly formed room and given the low down on the facilities, times of events etc.

Outside there was ample (just) parking, a very nice pool area and indeed (though we were warned it was cold) a nice plunge pool which wasn't as cold as promised. The area is well sheltered so the cold wind that was cutting through was without effect and we enjoyed a spot of sun worship.

The food in the evening and at breakfast was good with some local items to keep one interested. Most of the wines on the wines list came from a 5 mile radius and were very acceptable.

Sleep quality was OK for a standard sized bed and the en-suite shower room was compact. Toiletries were basic and the towels adequate. The was no razor socket.

The TV was a flatscreen affair with French channels.

The hosts were charming and very entertaining and we had a good chat about the upcoming match which was due to divide the household. It is probably as well that Madame's team won but the closeness of the outcome should have ensured matrimonial harmony.

We wish them well and would enjoy renewing our acquaintance in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    43
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rutland UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here 5 nights as it gives easy access both to the Mediteranean at Agde and to the beautiful mountains of the Haute Languedoc. It is in the village of Margon, near Pezenas, where there is not much else apart from 14th century chateau, occasionally open.
Like many Logis the emphasis is on food and accommodation is rather basic. The food is very much nouvelle cuisine, rather complicated and prepared with very great care. This appeals to some and maybe not to others as the portions are rather small. Restaurant service is excellent, largely provided by Florent, the owner, and his wife. They work their socks off!
There is a small well maintained swimming pool which was only open for one day when we there. In this part of the world most such pools close down at the beginning of September.
We had the same access problem as Sam Worthington and had to hang around outside the gate until some other guests arrived with their key. Presumably security is a problem. However, once provided with a key and the necessary codes to enter the gate and the front door, all went well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Kaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked one night only on our passage from the South West to the Centre of France, loved the hotel,clean and elegant, it has a nice swimming pool large enough for a little hotel and a lovely restaurant.They had the best food we have eaten during the whole week of holiday at the seaside,it was a short stay much better than we had expected.
In terms of location,it is not really close to the seaside, about 20 km from Narbonne , I think it is actually a hotel that was meant for people that are part of some wine tasting tours as the village is surrounded by large areas of wineyard.Personally, I would not chose to spend a whole holiday in the area because I dont see lots of things to do apart from visiting the village castle and drinking tones of good wine:-)
However,the next time we decide to spend our holidays in the South West or in Spain, we will clearly stay again at l'Auberge du Chateau on our way back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliza81_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Main problem was booked to arrive "in the afternoon" but found hotel closed until 5.30 pm. After telephone call obtained entry at 4 pm.
Rooms were basic no frills and just about clean. Some of the staff were good but the management barely seemed to care.
Meal in the evening was good enough nothing exceptional but little to criticize.
Location is in an pleasant village and my sister and I thought with some decent TLC could be a decent country hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_Worthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Lovely simple hotel in a picturesque village. The restaurant was superb-many locals rated it very highly, good choice of food and the cheese board was to die for! The pool area was so lovely and just what we wanted- much of the time we had it to ourselves!
The rooms were fully cleaned and spotless every day with fresh linen and towels as required.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margon
6.2 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.8 mi away
L'Hotel Particulier
L'Hotel Particulier
#1 of 32 in Beziers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Navas Les Hauts de Moureze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Auberge Du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Auberge Du Chateau

Property: Logis Auberge Du Chateau
Address: 1 Chemin des Serres, 34320 Margon, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Margon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis Auberge Du Chateau 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Logis Auberge Du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing