We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkhotel Oberhofen
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip, great view of the lake and mountains, staff were very helpful and friendly.
Also good healthy exercise if you decide to take a brisk walk to the lake and back !!

Room Tip: Request lake view.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SharkieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    42
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
42
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I enjoyed the classic style in a perfectly renewed hotel.

The big breakfast buffet was an excellent start for a vacation day. And the view from the garden on the lake is worth a coffe or tea brake.

The road in Oberhofen has limited traffic, especially during the night and yet, it is close of Thun (good for spending the night).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's fun to read the previous reviews in retrospect; now that we've had our own personal experience of this hotel, and the whole thing makes perfect sense and i could get a grasp on what the travelers went through to give a low rating. On arrival we were greeted by Doris ( and her name was mentioned in previous review so it's the same lady). She took us to the room on the highest floor and to our horror that it only had small windows so high above my chest level and to be honest it felt like a refurbished attic.Room was big but it's useless if u have no view. I think for Fr290 per night we should get more than that, so we asked for a better room. Then she whips out another room, which was made and ready, with totally BREATHtaking view of Thun... it was so beautiful I thought it was a painting!! A balcony makes all the difference. She did change it for us after we insisted, but it felt uneasy and uncomfortable since she didn't really smile and kinda delivers our luggages to our door in a hasty manner, not really happy i guess. The next day, another young lady Rebekah was at the desk and she was lovely, so helpful that she advised us not to go up to mountains because of poor weather and we were lucky to have listened to her. Car parking was easily available and breakfast was nice ( wide selection of cheese and cold cuts, also cereals and fruits). This hotel is a 10 mins walk from the Castle of Thun and it's very convienient indeed. The room was modern and clean, but without a fridge. Wifi was strong. Overall, Be smart and know ur rights, then u are going to have a lovely stay with the stunning view like we did... never settle for less than that... otherwise, u could have been stuck up in the attic.. and it would have been a totally different story...

Room Tip: NEVER SETTLE for less than the lake view with balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shampoo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed at the Park Hotel for 3 nights for business meetings and only have good things to say. The staff is excellent. They were always smiling and always very helpful. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The WiFi signal was very strong and plenty fast enough which makes life much easier to get through emails when necessary. Try to get a room overlooking the lake. It is a wonderful view. Parking was very easy across the street in the open lot. Best of all, it was free. Oberhofen is beautiful. Unfortunately I couldn't do much exploring down in the town other than driving through. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I really had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake. It is beautiful. The hotel is up the hill a bit so it would be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Why was I not surprised!!! The service was forced and mainly rude. I have to say that the waitresses tried really hard, although it took them 3 days to figure out that vegetarian did not include chorizo or seafood. The older owners were rude and completely unable to adjust to our international group - one of them even made a joke in poor taste saying that the desert was vegetarian after having taken offense to my constant requests for meal alterations. The bedrooms were very variable with some the size of a university dorm room (with a single tiny bed to match!) and others of a decent size. The views save this unfriendly place - that is the only reason to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KayTravelsAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was the worst experience in Switzerland. Never go there. They get an F for customer service and for being insensitive to people from other cultures and nationalities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RohiniRustogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

AVOID this one.
They tried to tie-in our room offer with a drinks reception that the proprietor wished to organise for us (we are getting married in Oberhofen). When we refused the drinks reception, they cancelled our rooms. In an extremely rude and abrupt manner I should add I think this speaks volumes for what type of business they are.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ruak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberhofen am Thunersee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
Hotel Bellevue au Lac
#1 of 2 in Hilterfingen
98 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkhotel Gunten
Parkhotel Gunten
#1 of 1 in Gunten
101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Congress Hotel Seepark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#1 of 5 in Spiez
267 reviews
3.5 mi away
Belvedere Strandhotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
BEATUS Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Oberhofen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Oberhofen

Property: Parkhotel Oberhofen
Address: Friedbuehlweg 36, Oberhofen am Thunersee 3653, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Oberhofen am Thunersee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oberhofen am Thunersee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Oberhofen 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Parkhotel Oberhofen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Oberhofen Am Thunersee
Parkhotel Oberhofen Switzerland/Oberhofen Am Thunersee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing