We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful site, beautiful beach, amazing weather.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portiragnes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Club Les Sablons
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful site, beautiful beach, amazing weather.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first holiday at Les Sablon. 2 Adults, 2 Children (13 and 9) stayed in a Vivaldi 3 bed chalet with Thomson Al Fresco. So glad we booked air con as temp was 30 - 35 C most days. Chalet was much cleaner than Eurocamp one we had last year elsewhere in France. Site was very large but this meant it had everything on site. Only used car for day out to Carcasonne which was 1 hr drive but well worth a visit. Our chalet was far away from the pool and entertainment which we were pleased about as it went on quite late. Pool was fantastic. Plenty of slides and pools. Sometimes difficult to get sunbeds but OK if you get there at 10am or 1pm. Good play areas. Tennis and table tennis was free. On site shop was adequate and bakery was amazing. Restaurant and creperie both good. Beach was beautiful and shallow sea and great banana boat trip! Flew to Montpelier and hired a car which worked well. Site was 1 hr drive from Montpelier airport. Would definitely stay here again but would make sure chalet well away from entertainment again.

Room Tip: Ask for pitch far wawy from the pool and entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LupinJuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Club Les Sablons, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your mobile home on Les Sablons - I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the campsite facilities and we hope to see you again this summer. Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    259
    68
    27
    8
See reviews for
561
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day visit to Les Sablons, we had a great time and couldn't really fault anything. We travelled with a 4 and 6 year old who spent most of their time in the pool and at the Beach.

The pool was busy, but we always got a couple of loungers or chairs. The whole pool area was exceptionally clean, and Uk pools could learn a lot from Les Sablons! Life guards were on duty every day and very attentive. The beach was nice and sandy with a shallow incline into the sea, the sea was warm.

Our children loved the mini club disco that was on daily, they soon learnt all the dance moves and the catchy tunes are still being sung around the house. We did not use the mini club in the day but the children in It always looked to be doing something fun.

The seaside town in Portiragnes was pleasant with nice restaurants and shops. In the surrounding area we visited Beziers, Carconsse, and Pezenas - all nice but particularly liked Pezenas!

We flew from Birmingham to Montpellier and had an overnight stay in Montpellier which again was a nice clean city with lots of squares to stop and have a coffe or glass of wine! It only took us about 40 mins to drive from Montpellier to Les Sablons and was very easy to find.

All in all a great family holiday resort!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here from 20th August-27th, pleasent stay with Thomson, friendly reps!!

The onsite shop is wonderful, really cheap prices. Right next to a bakery that is lovely. and a few shops, about a 1 minute walk to the beach exit the campsite turn left and walk a couple of shops where you can buy bits. A few resturants also. Carrefour, intermarche, SUPER U are a couple minutes drive away all very cheap. Beziers itself is a lovely town we had lunch there, very nice. Travelled with a teen and infant loved all the reps onsite, especially Celine! Massive thank you to you, we all loved getting up and dancing along with you at the mini club. And your zumba/work out routines where amazing. massive MERCI!! There is bands and all sorts, absolutely wicked. Onsite takeaway lovely and cheap, also a onsite resturant and bar. The pool area is lovely and there are always pool events. Lifeguards friendly. Returning next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having stayed at Siblu Lac De Reeves 4 years ago, I was reluctant to try anything else. Siblu's reputation was very good so when I was told by some friends that there were other campsites in Europe run by other companies and maybe I should try them instead.

Euro Camp, Key Camp and Thomson's Alfresco. It seems my wife and I like to book last minute holidays and this year was no exception. What we booked was an 11 day stay at Les Sablons in one of their 2 bedroom Rosini's.

We opted to use Eurostar and TGV as this was what we used last time and it allowed us as a family to relax before the holiday.

We arrived and the Thomson's rep was on hand to guide the taxi to our apartment. She showed us around and left her mobile number.

The location of the caravan was it seemed a long way from anything but once you got to know the shortcuts it was 2 minutes walk to the shops and 1 minute walk to the swimming pool.

My gripes with Siblu were that the local shop did not cater for everyone's needs and this has always been a problem. Not at Les Sablons, a Spar, bakery, fruit shop and a newspaper shop plus a Pizzeria all on site.

This was fantastic as we didn't need a car at all.

The pool was fantastic, yet you had to queue up at 10 in the morning to assure yourself of a decent spot, you had to be down at the theatre for nine in the evening to get yourself a decent table but other than that there were lots of British children and my daughter was given a bit of freedom to go off exploring with her friends.

The beach really is 200 metres away and is very nice. It was sometimes warmer than the swimming pool.

Overall a fantastic holiday, way better than Siblu from 4 years ago. Downside's rent a bike on campus to get you round quicker.

Booking for next year because it was so good that 11 days really wasn't enough so next year going for 2 weeks and going to fly there instead as I found out it is only 20 minutes away from resort.

If I had to change one thing, the entertainment is all in French but I got picked on by the magician and it really wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: If you are going with two children as I was I would possibly elect to go for a bigger caravan as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howard_Grahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This campsite is in an excellent location within a beautiful area of France. This was our second, consecutive stay at this site, having previously stayed at two others, further West, in the past.
Booked first time as good reputation for activities for teenagers and so this has proven, hence our return. In fact, great facilties / activities for children of all ages.
Facilties on-site are very good indeed from the bakery, grocer, showers, bar, tennis courts, play-parks, laundry facilties, etc.
Weather usually excellent, beaches close at hand, the stunning Canal du Midi within striking distance, Acrobranche (Go Ape) nearby, Beziers, Vias, Agde, Pezenas, Carcassone, Montpellier, Nimes, Avignon, etc., all within easy reach, whether by car, bus and/or train.
Did NOT hire a car this year, for the first time ever on holiday, and did not really miss it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terryhendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked this site on the strength of the trip advisor reviews and the fact that keycamp ran kids clubs which my oldest two had really enjoyed on previous sites. We also thought it would be nice to be next to the beach. We also travelled with my 2 brothers and their young families who booked with Thompson Alfresco (their kids are too young for kids clubs)
When we first arrived we were very disappointed and just wanted to leave. The pitches are tiny - described as medium in the key camp brochure - I'd hate to see small - and you are very close to those behind and in front of you. The caravans are laid out in roads side to side, about a car length from each other. We booked a Villagrande and it was pretty horrible. Very tired and dated, ants, very dirty bench sofa, smelly toilet, which was separate from anywhere you could wash your hands, and shower which you had to tuck the pipe around the taps to get it to spray in the middle. The decking was tiny - the smallest ever - and for a three bedroom caravan pretty ridiculous - you could only sit three around the table anymore and nobody could move around as there was no space left to go into the caravan. Not great if you are a family of 5. Luckily my brother had a much nicer, much larger decking with Thompson and we ended up eating there every night. The pitch itself is just sandy dirt - and very dirty with old barbie coals mixed in - our three year old couldn't play by the van at all and we really missed relaxing on the deck whilst he played. Also you are so close to all the other vans it just doesn't feel that nice sitting outside.
The Thompson vans were nicer in every way - cleaner, newer, bigger decking etc.
The pool is very busy and too small for the number of people on the site - again its not a particularly nice place to sit around and relax. Our youngest did love the splash pool though and our oldest the slides - although they were shut on our last day due to a child sustaining an injury on a loose tile.
The takeaway does the basics - pizzas which were nice but is very slow. The bakery is delicious. The laundry is expensive (5 euros a wash) but the machines are large and very quick.
The direct access to the beach is what saved the holiday - it was lovely and the kids all enjoyed it and was somewhere nice to be for the adults.
The older 2 liked the keycamp clubs but did think that the site run club looked more exciting. They soon made friends but because the site was so big I did worry about them going off on their bikes.
We ended up leaving 4 days early - a week was enough for us!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day stay at les sablons with thomson alfresco. We had a great time but there are pluses and minuses to this park.

Firstly we flew to nimes airport from liverpool, then picked up hire car from airport and drove to site. Drive was easy, about an hour and a half down the a9. The last few km are down tiny back roads, but we used the directions on the thomson website and they were great.

We stayed in a Puccini, which is the smallest unit in the Thomson family but it was fine, clean and with everything we needed. Compared to other sites we have stayed on, there was not much room around the van and I felt quite hemmed in and exposed at first, but did get used to this. The reps, liam and laura, were lovely and let us in the unit as soon as we arrived, a couple of hours earlier than official, check in time.

The site itself is busy. The pool area is not really big enough for the site and was pretty hectic whatever time we made our way down. We always managed to find 2 chairs or beds and there is a huge sun terrace above the bar, which always had space and would be fine if your children do not need constant supervision in the pool. But the beds or chairs we found were practically on top of others, it was very cramped. But, on the plus side, the lifeguards stopped any daft behaviour pdq and the kids loved the waterslides.

The entertainment at night was amusing, perhaps not in the way intended!, and it was lovely to sit on the terrace overlooking the pool, altho again this was v busy. Our girls loved the mini disco every night and the kids entertainers were brilliant.

The direct access to the beach was great, the beach however does shelve quite steeply so you will need to be careful with very small children as they would soon be out of their depth.

We didnt eat off site or even do day trips as it was too hot to be trailing around! As others have said, the camp shops were great and the takeaway fine, but unbelievingly slow service!

My biggest bugbear of the trip though lies with Thompson. At the end of the holiday you are expected to thoroughly, and i mean thoroughly, clean the van ready for the next guest. Now, i always leave caravans clean.....floors swept, surfaces wiped, rubbish emptied etc but I was not expecting to have to clean the windows etc on the last morning of my holidays, ready for an inspection by the reps who then decide if it is clean enough to return the 70 quid cleaning deposit! I was left wondering what would have happened if the reps had decided my standards were not good enough! This alone is enough to stop me booking with thomson again, as i do not want to spend my last morning in rubber gloves wiping down walls!

I would say this site is ideal for families with toddlers or much older children (mine are 8 &6) and, although we had a lovely holiday, I wouldnt go back to this site again till mine were older

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northernlass74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Club Les Sablons, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank your for your feedback on your holiday to Les Sablons with Al Fresco Holidays. The Puccini is our smallest mobile home, for something more spacious we offer the Bellini or Rossini which still offer great value. I'm sorry you were not happy with the housekeeping deposit, we describe the deposit as simply leaving your accommodation as it was found and deposits are always returned at the end of a customers holiday. I'm glad to hear you did enjoy your holiday and we hope to see you again. Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portiragnes
5.6 mi away
Hotel Cap Pirate
Hotel Cap Pirate
#1 of 28 in Cap-d'Agde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
6.2 mi away
Camping Domaine de la Yole
Camping Domaine de la Yole
#1 of 17 in Valras-Plage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camping Domaine de la Dragonniere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Siblu Villages - La Carabasse
5.8 mi away
Camping Les Champs Blancs
5.6 mi away
Camping Les Sables d'Or
Camping Les Sables d'Or
#13 of 24 in Cap-d'Agde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Club Les Sablons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Club Les Sablons

Property: Camping Club Les Sablons
Address: Avenue des Muriers | Portiragnes-Plage, 34420 Portiragnes, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Portiragnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Portiragnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping Club Les Sablons 5*
Number of rooms: 800
Also Known As:
Camping Club Les Sablons Hotel Portiragnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing