We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem”
Private entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private entrance
marvellous  breakfast \'granduca di toscana\' bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Private entrance
marvellous  breakfast
\'granduca di toscana\' bedroom
'granduca di toscana' bedroom
50mq of relax
lavande
main bathroom
giardino d'inverno
giardino d'inverno
la grande cucina
alba maxima
rose, cipressi e ulivi
charles de mills
il Mio Tombolotti
rose inglesi
cecile brunner clg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arqua Petrarca, Province of Padua, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Opinionat...
Midlothian, VA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed November 22, 2010 for a stay in October 2010

We stayed at Domus Rosarum for a week in October and recommend it highly. Part of a gated country estate of several houses, it is newly renovated and private townhouse-style apartment nestled in a former horse barn built in the 13th century. The ground level has an outdoor dining room and self-contained apartment with queen size bedroom, kitchenette, and ensuite bathroom. The upper level has two additional queen bedrooms, a master bath, living room, dining room, sitting area, eat-in kitchen, and terrace. The entire unit is spacious, airy, fresh, tastefully decorated, and comfortably furnished.

Our hosts, Barbara and Marco, were charming and most helpful. Upon arrival, we were welcomed on the terrace of their adjacent home with coffee and homemade pastry. They provided excellent recommendations on restaurants, area attractions, and transportation logistics.

The location is bucolic and peaceful yet convenient to making day trips into nearby cities and towns. A car is essential, but those who prefer touring by train need only drive to the train station at Monselice, a mere mile away. We spent each day in a different place (Verona, Ferrara, Monselice, Vicenza, Ravenna) and returned in the evening to enjoy dinner near home, most often in one of the many delightful restaurants in Arqua Petrarca.

Prospective guests may want to know that the hosts have cats.

We have rented lovely vacation apartments in a half-dozen places in Italy, and this is ranks as one of our very favorites. It is a gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewed November 20, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael B
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent facility, location, and hosts”
Reviewed November 19, 2010 for a stay in September 2010

While traveling in Italy recently with another couple, my wife and I stayed for a week at Domus Rosarum, a delightful apartment located near the village of Arqua Petrarca, a few miles south of Padova. It worked out well for the four of us; we shared a kitchen and living room, but had bedrooms (including our own bathrooms) in separate parts of the building.

The building itself is fascinating. Its shell dates from the 13th century, but the interior has been thoroughly updated. All facilities were modern and fine. Arqua Petrarca, located a mile or so up the road, was a "found treasure"; we knew nothing about it in advance, so had no idea that it would turn out to be so enchanting. (Among its other claims to fame, the poet Petrarch spent his last years, and is buried, in the town.) We were fortunate to arrive on the weekend of a festival, giving us a foretaste of the local food (excellent restaurants!) and wine that we would enjoy for the next week.

We had been attracted by the location, which enabled us to use Domus Rosarum as a jumping-off point for day trips to several cities (Ravenna, Ferrara, Verona, Vicenza), each of which offered its own charms. We chose to use our rented car for these trips, but could just as easily have journeyed from the train station in the small city of Monselice, three or four miles away.

Barbara and Marco, the owners, live in an adjacent house, and were warm and helpful hosts--never intrusive, but available for information (advice regarding restaurants, places to visit, etc.) whenever we needed it. We were greeted, upon arrival, with a fresh-baked tart, as well as a bottle of wine produced by Marco from his own grapes. On our last night at Domus Rosarum, we were pleased when Barbara and Marco accepted our invitation to join us for dinner at a local restaurant. It was a delightful conclusion to our stay in Arqua Petrarca.

It's a bit off the beaten path, so it's essential to get good instructions in advance if you're arriving by car. Shortcomings? I can't think of any. I'm pleased to give Domus Rosarum an unqualified recommendation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewed November 8, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2010
We are so happy to hear from you and really hoping to meet all of you again in the next future.
Barbara and Marco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
France
Reviewed November 8, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2010
We spent a very nice time with your family and our cats (our preferred called Lulù and Benny..)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moira F
Este, Veneto, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing