We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Ruswarp Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ruswarp Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Ruswarp B&B and Inns
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for one night. The building is an old grade 2 listed property. We had a very pleasant stay here. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was beautiful. Very clean and comfortable. Off street FREE parking! There is a pub just a short walk down the road for dinner. Would we stop here again.... certainly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    91
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
38
168
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Situated in peaceful area. Ruswarp Hall was built in 1603. Very warm welcome by Alison and Colin and a lovely breakfast. They don't do evening meals, but the Bridge Inn in the village serves meals from 4pm to 8pm

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked for weekend break.
Hotel easy to find, and looks impressive, ample parking at front of Hall.
Entrance to large hall, reception to the left.
Great venue and great customer service.
Lots on medieval tools and weapons on display, large sweeping staircase.

Room Tip: Room overlooking garden provides great views of the contryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

hi stayed at ruswarp hall over new yr x grt room if a little dark as we were in the attick grt bed an sheets fab snow white towels x nice size room x plentyfull breakfast in a very nice dining room x all in all a very pleasant stay . cant recomend this enough its also run by very nice friendly people xx dont forget to pop to the local pub grt hosts an fab pub grubx just go see for urself u wont be dissapointed x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerbear242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

After reading the other reviews we were unsure what to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was a lovely old style hall with all the trapping of the period of the building.
The room was reasonably decorated, warm and with extra heating available if required.
There was free WiFi with a good connection speed.
The breakfast was more than adequate even for those with a large apatite, well cooked and generous portions.
In all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alchrishols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here during the Whitby Goth weekend. The only thing that lets it down is the location Ruswarp is dead and the public transport poor. The hotel is a beautiful old building, The owners were most welcoming. Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice. The room though small and basic had a very comfortabe bed with duck down duvet. (loved it so much we are going to have to buy one now) We have already booked for the same time next year and are really looking forward to going back.l

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Impressed with this period style hotel,from checking in to checking out. My wife and I found the owners, Allyson and Colin to be friendly people; Allyson gave us the lowdown on where to go and where best for a meal/drink, it being the friendly cosy pub The Bridge Inn just a short walk from the hotel. No problem with car parking in the front of the hotel off the road. Our room (No 7) was nice, clean and comfortable, shower very good and supplied with toiletries. Our bed was really comfortable and apart from the normal CH radiator there was also an electric one in the event it got too cold. Good TV reception and also an alarm clock radio provided.The tea/coffee/hot chocolate facilities were very welcome. We didn't go around the large rear garden due to the weather, but we overlooked it from our room and it looked quite inviting. Our full english breakfast was well presented and cooked to perfection, in addition there was yoghurt,fresh chopped fruit,cereals and fruit juices and as a bonus HOT toast! Exploring the hotel was enjoyable, the history of the place must be read on the hotel site, very interesting, going back to 1603. Will certainly return here in the future.

Room Tip: Our room number 7 very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruswarp
1.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,045 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
1.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
1.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 53 in Whitby
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruswarp Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruswarp Hall

Property: Ruswarp Hall
Address: 4-6 High Street, Ruswarp, Whitby YO21 1NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby > Ruswarp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ruswarp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruswarp Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ruswarp Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruswarp Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing