We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruswarp Hall
Nearby Hotels
$174
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Wheeldale(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hudsons(Whitby)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
128
101
34
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
101
34
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barbridge innrailway tracktrain linelocal butchersteam trainbeautiful old buildinghalf hour walktop flooresk valleylots of characterb bfull englishlovely walkroom was clean and comfortablelonger stayoriginal features
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 281 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We found Ruswarp Hall and excellent B&B with lots of character and comfortable rooms, it is a little way out of the centre of Whitby but it is walk able. it is a lovely walk through the fields over the back. It is a good base as it has its a car park onsite, from which we had lots of good days out from, of which Whitby Abbey is a must

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wigan_Woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

ThIs was our 2 nd visit here , the hall has loads of character , sweeping staircase in the Lobby is fabulous .the grounds at the rear are also well kept and in keeping with the period of the house .
The rooms are in need of some updating , but ....that said was v clean , the television in the room worked and although no sky, was acceptable .
The breakfast was great , full English with a good choice .
Not a lot else to say , no real public spaces only a small sitting area , does what it says on the tin ....bed and breakfast .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

my husband and daughter and myself had a lovely stay over easter at ruswap hall,it was an amazing building the hall and staircase were very impressive.we stayed in an attic room (16) i think,it had a double and a single bed perfect for us. the bathroom was fine also tv and hospitality tray was well stocked, we all slept really well although i was woken during the night by something poking me,i'm not mad i promise! my husband and daughter were both fast asleep it was all very strange! the owner was very quiet but that suits us just fine as we are not over familiar people ourselves,breakfast was lovely,we took the path alongside the hall and walked into whitby to see the sights, it was a pleasant walk and took aboout half an hour,the following day we went to the little pub in the village it served lovely food and drink.we would definatly return to ruswarp hall,my only critique is on the website it looked like it had a bar but we never found it,a nightcap would of been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirelass538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

there wasn't anyone to meet and greet when we first stepped into the hall abt 2.30pm on our arrival but very soon was greeted by a friendly polite lady prepping the breakfast tables.. we did find it a bit strange that we didn't see any staff in Ruswarp Hall until breakfast the following morning and even then found the gent who worked there ( the man that runs the Hall maybe?) didnt have anything to say and didn't stay in the Hallway to see guests off .. Nobody was around when we left to say thank you and goodbye to.. Maybe i'm expecting too much but if i worked there i would ask the guests how their night stay was and if we enjoyed our stay in Ruswarp. A bit of coversation would be polite... Breakfast was nice .. we liked the features of our room with the old wooden headboard and wardrobe . The room is alot smaller than it looked in the picture but very cosy and clean . The shower room door wouldn't close properly and the window glass was cracked. We had a wonder around ruswarp hall , looked into the lounge,the bar and garden and thought they looked lovely .. The lounge and bar didn't have a telly or radio in them- although this would suit some and not others .. Oh ! ..Me and my partner were woken up during the night to what sounded like someone dragging furniture across the room and heard people using the loo! .. The walls must be thin so be warned even if you are'nt a light sleeper

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starr n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at Ruswarp Hall for a week-end 'annual reunion' with friends. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I can honestly say I have never stayed in such an historic building (built in the 1600s). The bed was extremely comfortable and our room very spacious. Ok, some parts were a little 'tired' but the upkeep must be tremendous and the cost for B & B is most reasonable. The breakfast is excellent with sausages from the local butcher and there is free wi-fi access.
The village itself has a boating lake, a train station and a local pub which do excellent, reasonably priced meals.
Running alongside the hall is a pathway which leads right into Whitby, this walk takes 20-30 minutes.
All in all we had a great week-end and would definately return to the Hall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews