We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit average.”
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Ruswarp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lovely village pub with a warm welcome
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly on the phone & warm welcome. Great pint of Wainwrights - well kept. However the beef & lamb Sunday roasts were a bit average to be honest. Meat was ok ish but the veg was a bit on the soft / watery / soggy side. Previous reviewers comments re. Use of frozen food backed up by overhearing staff in the kitchen counting bags of mash & roasties. Draw your own conclusions. Shame as its in a great spot.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank monkfishmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub because people swear by the food. Arrived at 2:59 and politely asked the bar man if we were too late for a sandwich, he said not after asking the cook. We then had to ask for a menu because he was talking to someone and left us waiting. He explained that they had run out of normal bread. This was fine as we had arrived towards the end of lunch servings so completely understood. He said they had baguettes and we were fine with this. Ordered our baguette requesting normal sandwich filling rather than hot fillings, he then proceeded to say that’s not available as baguettes are for hot fillings only! Really disappointed that they could not be flexible or accommodate us. Would not choose to visit there again...

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 239kJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torky-Paul, Owner at The Bridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi I was there on Saturday and witnessed this , as you said you arrived right on the cusp of when the menu changes, we don’t serve sandwiches on Sundays or Mondays so to run out of fresh bread and fillings at that time on a Saturday is perfect for us , maybe not for you ? Our barman James offered you an alternative with what we had available at that time it’s not really our fault that it wasn’t suitable for you , he was as flexible and accommodating as he could be , also I think it’s quiet rude of you to expect him to stop talking to another customer just to accommodate you , he is one of the most polite and attentive barman we have ever employed and is respected by locals and tourists alike . But thanks anyway for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

Returned to Whitby recently and stayed in a nice Ruswarp cottage for two nights. Caught up with Paul and Shirley on the Friday night and enjoyed some old favourites. Back again on the Saturdays for some of Shirley's newer menu additions and they did not disappoint.

Amazing food, great hosts - can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Lovely pub right by the railway line so you see the trains go past. Food was fab, and lot's of it. Lovely choice of menu and has a separate take away menu too. We booked our table as it is a very popular pub. Beer garden so you can go outside too. Pool table and dartboard. Staff were lovely.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shirleyp153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Lovely village pub with a good location in the village of Ruswarp. Friendly staff with good ales and very good pub food.beer garden to sit out in also very handy for the train station to pop into Whitby

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank russell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing