We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous”

Ruswarp Pleasure Boats
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Ruswarp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Dangerous”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I went here with the grandchildren on a recent holiday in Whitby. The river and its surroundings are beautiful and Ruswarp itself is a quaint little village. We went on two rowing boats. It worked out a little expensive as we were charged per person and not per boat. Unfortunately there had been a lot of rain and the river was running very fast. Once we started rowing we found that we couldn't get the boat to move because of the undercurrents. We decided that it was too risky to go any further and went back to shore. The owner would not refund us our money even though we had only been on the boat for less than five minutes and it was dangerous for us to stay on the river. I was very disappointed with his attitude and found him rude and obnoxious. This is such a shame as we may have returned when the conditions were better.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    4
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Take a rowing boat out on the River Esk you will not be dissappointed an hour of peace and tranqulity.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise189149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Messing about on the River”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A great way to spend a sunny afternoon, rowing along the river. Dont forget the awesome pies from Jackson the butcher at the bottom of Ruswarp Bank.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank City-Sights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“great fun for all the family young and old”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have been comming here for many years. First with our own children now our gandchildren. You can have a boat or canoe, owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The Esk is very safe, the water is not to deep or fast running, life jackets for all. Once the children are in the boats we scoot up the road to the local garden center (about a mile) by the river side, the girls paddle up and meet us there..Takes about an hour there and back including ice cream stopover. Our you can watch from the riverside

Good value & parking free on the road side.

Its a must whenever grandchildren are in the Whitby area, fantastic old fashion fun.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun and fantastic value”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have been up the river twice this year. In the spring we took a traditional rowing boat up to the garden centre at Sleights. There is plenty of wildlife to see. We enjoyed it so much we came again in August. This time we saw a fleet of brand new red canoes and just had to give them a try out. The staff are always cheerful and on-hand to help us in and out. This is a must do if staying around Whitby

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank leapfrog7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruswarp Pleasure Boats also viewed

 

Been to Ruswarp Pleasure Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing