We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“outstanding”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Ruswarp, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stevegU83...
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“outstanding ”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

had our week here and ive had an amazing time I can't fault, there's 11 of us here in total. a fantastic holiday let on the ruswarp station , seen the steam train which ended Oct 29th. there's a brilliant walk into whitby next to the line. the village is good quiet and out of the way way. the local pub is a massive walk away all of 10yards at least , i can't fault the place if im booking a large party highly recommend. to the the posh southerners if you don't like it and it's not your multi million pound house welcome t yorkshire and more shame on you not enjoying our countryside you can downgrade to lidl for you shop. but for me the place is stunning and the village is brilliant. full marks and more for this little gem

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viki j
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a large group holiday and booked this property and the Ticket Office, which is a small 2 person property attached to the Station House. There was enough parking at the property for 3 cars, 4 including the space for the Ticket Office.

The first impressions of the property were that it was clean and very well cared for. There are so many rooms in this property that 12 people staying here would still not feel cramped. The location is the best thing about the property and we were able to watch the trains go by from the comfort of the sofas.

The entire family had a wonderful stay at this property and would really recommend it for any family get-aways and even a large group of friends.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorjd48
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Train enthusiast heaven.”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful, warm and comfortable house, plenty of room for a couple of families (but trickier if a group of adult couples). Parking is tight, in the village as well as in the designated area.
Plenty of train spotting opportunities, circular walk to Whitby, close to loads of other good places to visit/walk.
A lovely welcome (freshly baked bread and warmth of Aga) and a great week. All we wanted, and more! ☺

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giddigill
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a lovely week here with friends. Lovely house , comfy beds and good facilities. Enjoyed rushing out to watch the steam train go by! Beautiful area and lots to see and do. Could do with a few more electric sockets .....I had to crawl under the double bed to reach an extension lead in order to plug in my hairdryer. The outside areas need a bit of a tidy up too.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely property with lots of character & original features. 2 large sitting rooms, dinning room, a well equipped kitchen/utility room & 5 bedrooms plus two garden areas. Went as a family group 0f 11 (3 generations from young baby to pensioner) & everyone enjoyed the stay. End of season but still boating, miniature train & soft play in village. Short walk along footpath into Whitby & access from garden to platform to watch the steam trains pass....

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Time spent as a family in large sitting room
Liked least: Parking very tight for 3 cars while leaving access for 'ticket office guests'
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseanna...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here as a Ruby Wedding celebration with our family including our baby grandson. Everyone agreed it was the best equipped place we had stayed in. The trains were an unusual and most enjoyable experience and we were able to welcome part of our family from London on the platform. Would love to return

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rubyme
west coast of Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful,simply wonderful”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent our 45 the wedding Anniver sary with our family at this beautiful Grade 11 listed home.We were group age range 1-68 and no one could fault anything.on arrival a welcome tray,biscuits and bread baking.Loved the kitchen especially the AGA.wonderful space in the sitting rooms and safe courtyard gardends for children and the dog.Beautifully furnished,and lovely decor.We all fell in love with the steam trains and rushed to windows or the platform to wave.Great to have all white googs in the kitchen too.
Lovely village,easy walk ,for the fit,into Whitby,good transport links,lovely walks.Little shop and a fabulous local butchers shop Jacksons,you must try his wares.Nice peb across the road,does pub grub and a quiz on Thursday which we won

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing all lovely
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing