We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,281)
Filter reviews
1,281 results
Traveler rating
412
479
241
95
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
479
241
95
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park and ride hungry horse lovely hotel buffet style good size short drive public areas both mornings one night stay would stay again city centre double room main road four poster bed family room tea and coffee full english
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,281 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was very clean but also very basic. No A/C and we had to prop the window open with a cushion and a book. Staff were aware of it as it was propped open with a book when we arrived. Would have been very difficult getting out of the window if there was a fire as the window was extremely heavy.
When one of the neighbouring rooms turned their tap on, there was a high pitched screeching noise - serious plumbing issues but we didn’t bother to complain as we were only staying for 2 nights.
Sorry but we would not recommend this hotel and feel it is very expensive for what it is.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank 27LaD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 27LaD09,

Thank you for taking your time to review the Hotel, I am sorry we did not delight you on this occasion. We take on board your feedback regarding the room and yes, we unfortunately do not have air conditioning.

Best regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on-route to Edinburgh. Looks like an ex stately home about a mile outside York. Plenty of free parking on site. The check in was quick and the lady behind reception was pleasant and helpful as were all the staff. Our double room was quite stately, clean, and for an older building like this I thought it was in good condition. The room was a reasonable size and we did not encounter any external noises. We were on the ground floor so did not have any of the escalator problems mentioned in previous reviews. There is a nice reception and bar area. The restaurant is large and the food choice quite good. You could choose from the al a carte menu or from the fixed menu which I think was £22. The starters were reasonable the mains better and a good choice of desserts. The night we were there a large coach party were also dining so the dining staff had to cope with a lot of people at the same time. Service was quite good and we didn't have to wait to long for our food. The drinks however were really expensive - £9 for a 250ml glass of Merlot, £2.80 for a small bottle of water. Apart from the drink prices we enjoyed our stay and would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stroler551a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for the kind review and feedback on your stay. We new that we were in for a busy night that night and worked hard to ensure everyone experienced great service. I am sorry you found the bar prices expensive, I will pass your feedback onto the management company who set our prices.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are absolutely disturbed that our travel agent would book us in this disgusting hotel! No A/C! Elevator broken for months. Not close to anything! The shower curtain was stained yellow and the carpets smelled like urine. So gross!!!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank soulvino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello,

thank you for your feedback, I am sorry we did not meet your expectaions.

Kind regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as a base for visiting York. The room was very nice and comfortable and had all that we needed for our stay.
We had breakfast on both mornings and there was a good selection to choose from.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the second night and it was good value for money.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alana,

Thank you for the lovely 5 star review. I am really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meals.

We hope to see you again soon

Best regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed one night ...lovely hotel well looked after and pleasant staff....nice room 110 lovely large comfy bed..but was on the ground floor with an outlook of trees making the room very dark and dismal! We had a meal in the restaurant in with our deal and have to say it was one of the best meals we have had in a hotel...the hotel itself was very quiet no atmosphere, I feel this is because as with a lot of hotels the bar prices are way overpriced! Don't these hotels realise if they charged reasonable prices more people would stay in the hotel... Yes we would stay at this hotel again when visiting York but not in a ground floor room.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Janet,

thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of it and would choose to stay with us again.

Best regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews