We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$68
View deal
Expedia.com$68
Priceline$68
Hotels.com$68
Travelocity$68
Mercure$68
Destinia.com$78
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,631)
Filter reviews
1,631 results
Traveler rating
528
575
297
150
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
528
575
297
150
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews park and ride minute drive lovely hotel buffet style restaurant staff booked this hotel night break city centre one night stay both mornings four poster bed hotel is situated enjoyable stay privilege room free parking full english tea and coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 1,631 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

Booked two nights in this dog friendly hotel. When we booked the room on line we were told we would receive a welcoming gift. We were told when we enquired about this, we were told that the promotion had finished? Sadly the first night we were kept awake till 11pm with a dog in the next room barking at every noise, until occupants returned from the bar. Rooms were spacious, clean and welcoming. We booked a double room & ended up with a room with three single beds. This room must have been a family room judging by its large size. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast, served in the dining room, was very good. Everything was cooked to a high standard and not at all greasy. The bar meals were standard quality, but drinks were expensive. The most impressive things about the hotel were its historic panelled rooms & the hardworking attentive staff.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 886clived
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Dear Clive D, thank you for taking the time to add your positive comments on our team and food quality. Sincere apologies for the initial communication error on the promotion and bedroom allocated.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017

Nice hotel in lovely surroundings. Spotlessly clean rooms & communal areas, I had a nice stay. Downsides; bar prices & food VERY expensive & the bed I used in the twin room not very comfortable.
Ideal base for either business or a short trip into the beautiful city of York.

Room tip: All rooms seem quiet
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Dear millars08, thank you for your feedback and apologies for our Food and Beverage prices not giving a perception of value for money.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2017

The hotel was ideally situated just a short drive into York city centre. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the Brasserie and the food and the service were excellent. The one downside if the stay was lack of sleep, our room was situated in the old part if the hotel and we were kept awake not only by the busy road, but also by the squeaking floors of the room above us. We also had someone playing knock and run in the early hours! A shame otherwise would have been a great place to stay.

Room tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the hotel away from the road
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank deni1214hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear deni1214hughes, thank you for taking the time to add your feedback and I am sorry that noise issues, primarily from other guests, negatively impacted an otherwise positive experience.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

This hotel is easy to find on side of main road into York ,though have to say no traffic noise at all a five minute walk or a very short drive to the Park and Ride into York.
So no worries about cost of parking that's if you can find a space in York.
Therefore it is ideal location for such visits but have to say we had an excellent meal in the restaurant on a Monday night I had Hake as a main course cooked to perfection my wife had Fish and Chips which she said was excellent .
Staff from the receptionist who checked us in to the waiting staff were very friendly and welcoming
the room was very clean with comfortable bed.
No issues at all though I do think the instructions for the heating system could be more visible and clearer .
Bathroom is a tad tired but overall this was an excellent stay .

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank 1WEYMOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Dear 1WEYMOUTH, very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

First,the hotel is not in York but quite far from the town (£12 taxi from central station) and in the middle of nowhere. You can't have a walk around if you feel like to for example.
The hotel is ok, large bedrooms with king-size beds; some comfort are missing, as bottled water, cookies, mini-fridge, body lotion.
They offer a pass for a spa centre, but this is far from the hotel (and from town too).
Food is average/poor, nothing that can be rated as 4****.
Staff is friendly and accomodate your needs.
Not sure it is worth the price.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9world_citizen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Gordon S, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2017

Dear PrgM_12, thank you for your kind words on the hotel team. I am sorry that the other aspects of your stay were not to your expectations.
Kind regards
Gordon Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews