We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for visiting Yorkshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for visiting Yorkshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

North of York and convenient for the park and ride. Good, free car parking, comfortable rooms with good quality beds and bedding. Staff exceptionally friendly and food excellent with good vegetarian choices. Only drawback for some people would be the fact that it does not appear to be on a bus route into York; you would need to use car to the park and ride or taxi - or if fit and without luggage you can walk to a point where you can pick up public transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. There is a convenient bus stop located 100 yards from the entrance of the hotel, in addition to a very efficient Park and Ride service a bit further up the road. Thank you for your fantastic comments about the staff and the service you have experienced, and we look forward to welcoming you to York in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    381
    186
    75
    36
See reviews for
185
528
11
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is specifically about the restaurant and our meal ... the hotel itself is good enough: no complaints there.
This was an arranged set dinner for a tour group: at seven we ordered ... pick one of three starters, pick one of three main courses, pick one of three deserts. Starters arrived FORTY minutes later ... I ordered tea (as I was fighting a cold) and was lectured by the headwaitress (better suited for warden in a high risk offenders jail) in an unpleasant tone that tea is served at the end of the meal. Eventually I asked and got a pot of tea from another waiter who apologised. Although the "warden" wrote down our orders and we refered to the courses by their offical menu names: haddock and chips or goat cheese with caramelized onions, the staff carrying six plates each (almost half an hour after the starters) shouted at us "FISH?" and pluncked down in front of the "prisoners" a thick hot glob batter with a microscopic sliver of hadock hidden inside. The goat cheese (reffered to as "PIE?") was not bad actually but by this time the "dining experience" was past salvaging. When I asked her to clear my (empty) plate she snapped that it is rude before all finished ... and I got a dirty look.
There are people who need training and there are others with borne-in attitude that will fight and resist any hospitality related education ... we encountered one of those specimens who ruined the entire evening: shame!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mecla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. As a four star hotel, we pride ourselves on the service provided to all our guests, and invest a considerable amount of training and development in our staff. Moreover, the level of service is further reflected by an abundance of positive reviews on this website. We would nevertheless like to assure you that the matter will be looked into, and thank you for taking the time in writing about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Very nice entrance but rooms could do with an update. We got our room for £35 through an online deal. It was fine for us for £35 but if I had paid full price I wouldn't have been happy because our room wasn't 4* it was very average and old taps etc. I think it was a new carpet.

You have to get a taxi into York on an evening. We were going to catch the bus in and taxi home but the buses stop at 6 which is quite bizarre.

Overall good for £35 but wouldn't pay more. So look out for an online bargain!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m12-c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We have recently upgraded nine of our bedrooms, with a view to provide an added benefit to the service provided to all our guests, with an array of added product offerings. We offer an abundance of very good deals, and look forward to your return to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Try not to get room 210 view from window was bags of dirty towels ! Staff were very nice would have been nice for restaurant to be open we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and ended up eating in bar area . Receptionist was lovely and the chap behind bar .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karensean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many congratulations with your recent celebration. Thank you for the kind comments about the service you have received, and we would like to assure that that with your next visit , we hope that you have the opportunity to experience the fantastic service which is delivered from our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here on the 18th May for one night. On first glance the hotel is beautiful and once you step inside you are not disappointed. We were greeted by a lovely lady at reception. Our room was nice it was room 318 unfortunately the view was of the back of the property it would have been nice to see the grounds. The TV didn’t seem to be working properly we couldn’t get the main menu and the quality of the picture was poor at best (although I think the TV wasn’t digital).

On this particular night there was a wedding going on and the wedding band was playing from 7pm to just after midnight so sleep was unfortunately not an option for us. This was not great as we had done a 3 hour car ride to get to York and all we wanted to do was sleep. My husband asked if we could move but apparently there were no rooms in the parts of the hotel where the music was quieter. We were practically above the hall. The receptionist didn’t seem like she wanted to move us and told us that all the other rooms’ available would have the same level of noise. Once the music had stopped I had a great night sleep and slept in till 10:30 the next day. The bathroom was lovely and they provide shower gel, shower cap and shampoo. The shower was really nice too with perfect temperature water.

The breakfast cost £10 per person and to be honest it I think it was a little over priced. I had an English breakfast although the beans were slightly congealed and my husband had cereal and a bowl of melons. For the price we paid for the room we expected just a bit more but it was a nice stay and we would stay here again but at a cheaper rate.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 318 if there is a party going on you are above the hall and the music is loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbie_Traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a recent review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and would like to ensure you that the areas of concern you have brought to our attention have been reviewed and will be addressed as a matter of urgency. We trust that this has not marred your opinion of the hotel, and look forward to your future return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here one night , greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff ,
Rooms clean and well appointed if a little 90s style , let down by the noise from Disco/Bands at a party downstairs and the revellers returning to their rooms in the early hours.
Restaurant staff attentive and friendly, food quality good , its a shame about the noise otherwise it would have been a good stay.

Room Tip: one nowhere near the function room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16355mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Every effort is made to ensure that all our guests experience a leisurely and relaxing break with us. In addition, we offer extremely competitive rates which are available througout the year. We would like to apologise for the fact that a part of your stay was interrupted by a small minority, and would like to thank you for providing us with a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in April. We had a standard room which was generous in size (with an extra bed) and reasonably well equipped with quality white cotton bedding and comfortable beds. The decor throughout was a little dated (circa 1990) but clean and well maintained.
Breakfast buffet was good with fresh fruit, croissants as well as high quality full English options.
Staff were always attentive and helpful. Set in large gardens close to the convenient park and ride. Unfortunately there are no buses after 8pm.
Good location for visiting York and exploring the surrounding area.


  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about the hotel. We are constatntly looking to improve the product offerings and service provided to all our guests. From your review, it is evident that you have enjoyed your time with us, and your kind comments are sincerely valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing