We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff shame about few hiccups!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Try not to get room 210 view from window was bags of dirty towels ! Staff were very nice would have been nice for restaurant to be open we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and ended up eating in bar area . Receptionist was lovely and the chap behind bar .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karensean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many congratulations with your recent celebration. Thank you for the kind comments about the service you have received, and we would like to assure that that with your next visit , we hope that you have the opportunity to experience the fantastic service which is delivered from our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
There are newer reviews for Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here on the 18th May for one night. On first glance the hotel is beautiful and once you step inside you are not disappointed. We were greeted by a lovely lady at reception. Our room was nice it was room 318 unfortunately the view was of the back of the property it would have been nice to see the grounds. The TV didn’t seem to be working properly we couldn’t get the main menu and the quality of the picture was poor at best (although I think the TV wasn’t digital).

On this particular night there was a wedding going on and the wedding band was playing from 7pm to just after midnight so sleep was unfortunately not an option for us. This was not great as we had done a 3 hour car ride to get to York and all we wanted to do was sleep. My husband asked if we could move but apparently there were no rooms in the parts of the hotel where the music was quieter. We were practically above the hall. The receptionist didn’t seem like she wanted to move us and told us that all the other rooms’ available would have the same level of noise. Once the music had stopped I had a great night sleep and slept in till 10:30 the next day. The bathroom was lovely and they provide shower gel, shower cap and shampoo. The shower was really nice too with perfect temperature water.

The breakfast cost £10 per person and to be honest it I think it was a little over priced. I had an English breakfast although the beans were slightly congealed and my husband had cereal and a bowl of melons. For the price we paid for the room we expected just a bit more but it was a nice stay and we would stay here again but at a cheaper rate.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 318 if there is a party going on you are above the hall and the music is loud...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbie_Traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a recent review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay, and would like to ensure you that the areas of concern you have brought to our attention have been reviewed and will be addressed as a matter of urgency. We trust that this has not marred your opinion of the hotel, and look forward to your future return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here one night , greeted by very friendly and helpful reception staff ,
Rooms clean and well appointed if a little 90s style , let down by the noise from Disco/Bands at a party downstairs and the revellers returning to their rooms in the early hours.
Restaurant staff attentive and friendly, food quality good , its a shame about the noise otherwise it would have been a good stay.

Room Tip: one nowhere near the function room
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16355mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Every effort is made to ensure that all our guests experience a leisurely and relaxing break with us. In addition, we offer extremely competitive rates which are available througout the year. We would like to apologise for the fact that a part of your stay was interrupted by a small minority, and would like to thank you for providing us with a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in April. We had a standard room which was generous in size (with an extra bed) and reasonably well equipped with quality white cotton bedding and comfortable beds. The decor throughout was a little dated (circa 1990) but clean and well maintained.
Breakfast buffet was good with fresh fruit, croissants as well as high quality full English options.
Staff were always attentive and helpful. Set in large gardens close to the convenient park and ride. Unfortunately there are no buses after 8pm.
Good location for visiting York and exploring the surrounding area.


  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hmostlyharmless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about the hotel. We are constatntly looking to improve the product offerings and service provided to all our guests. From your review, it is evident that you have enjoyed your time with us, and your kind comments are sincerely valued.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights had the bridal suite was a great stay room is fantastic we were engaged in York on the sat came back to find a nice gift from the hotel, which was a nice touch well recommended hotel and staff are excellent thanks again ,Richi & Julie

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay. We are pleased that you have found all the facilities to your liking, and look forward to your return to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Mercure York Fairfield Manor

We stayed here for one night on Sunday 6 May 2013. We did consider booking for two nights but were put off by some comments on Trip Advisor.

Built in the 18th century, this Georgian hotel sits on a large site about four miles north of York and is easy to find by virtue of being on the A19. There is ample free car parking, a real plus for a hotel targeting visitors to York. We arrived around 18.30 and check in was handled in a courteous and efficient manner. We requested and were allocated a refurbished room, in the new wing on the first floor.

As is invariably the case, the hotel lobby area was very smart but the test is the condition of corridors and rooms. These were of a good standard, though the floorboards in both the corridor and our room creaked noisily. The room was a decent size and the king-sized bed was very comfortable, something that is important to us because we deplore hard hotel mattresses. The pillows provided were also of good quality and very comfortable. Furniture was in good order, if a little dated. Room lighting was extremely poor, with low-wattage bulbs.

The bathroom was of reasonable size, with a large bath with an over-bath shower; but the shower head was not removable. Why oh why, do some hotels these days not provide ones that are detachable?! All fittings were in good condition, though the gold taps now look dated, and the hot tap in the handbasin made an horrendous squealing sound, when first turned on.

The room overlooked the car park and part of the grounds and was quiet. The only disturbance whilst we were asleep came during the early hours from two very inconsiderate women, returning to their room, presumably having been in York for the night.

After checking in and going to our room, we explored the extensive grounds on a beautiful day. Later, we spent the evening in the lobby/bar, which offered a very pleasant place to sit and read.

We had breakfast which offered a buffet-style option for standard hot and cold items, with a menu for special orders. The latter included naturally dyed smoked haddock, which proved to be a very good choice and was particularly well cooked. Too often a good piece of fish is ruined by overcooking. The one disappointment concerned the fresh fruit, all of which was very under ripe, and the pineapple and melon were like turnips. Aside from this, there was a good breadth of choice of hot and cold items. Also notable was that fresh coffee in a pot was brought to the table as was the toast, a very nice touch, much preferable to getting the former from a machine and standing watching these wretched self serve toasters which invariably either churn out insipid or incinerated toast. The dining room was quite full for breakfast but the service by the staff was quick and efficient.

Should we have the necessity to visit York again, we would definitely consider staying at the Mercure Fairfield Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is extremely helpful for us as a business when we receive reviews which highlight parts of our business where there is room for improvement. We consistently aim to provide both service and quality of the highest value, whilst looking for areas to improve. Therefore, we would like to thank you for your review, which points out certain areas of consideration. Thank you for your very kind comments about the features and highlights of the hotel you have enjoyed, and we certainly look forward to your next visit to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a one night stop for a party. We were in the old part of the building. Room size great and facilities good. strangely we did not have a bed side cabinet on one side of the bed. There was room. breakfast was buffet style and the bacon was thick cut and delicious. Food and drinks plentiful and a good selection and choice. Great location just outside York. near to park and ride which is a must when visiting York.

Room Tip: Use Park and ride to visit York it is less stressful and only a few minutes to city centre
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarboroughAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about our hotel. It is always pleasing for us as a hotel when we receive a positive review about our business and it's facilities, in addition to the service we have provided. We certainly look forward to your return to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,116 reviews
3.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: $78 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing