We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Fair at the Fairfield”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Fair at the Fairfield”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a one night stop here in the last week of April.

It lived up to our expectations of the Mercure brand.

We would have liked some better information on the Accor website regarding the position of the hotel on the Shipton road, near York.

Everything else was fine.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are constantly updating and improving the information available on our websites, and trust that the added benefit will be to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    399
    189
    77
    37
See reviews for
193
546
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night and another 4 star hotel the next, paying slightly more for the Mercure. The comparison, given that they are both 4 star hotels, is striking. The first thing we noticed was how the actual hotel is a far cry from the impression you get of a rural country house hotel from the official photos!

The Mercure is ok, but it is three and a half stars at best. The staff were excellent (we arrived at the same time as a coachload) but the rooms are in urgent need of a revamp considering this is meant to be several grades above an Ibis and Novotel in Accor's portfolio. The bathroom in the room was perfectly clean but poor in terms of facilities (one of the most pathetic showers ever and taps that even Hulk Hogan would struggle to use). There was no fridge in the room, the TV had very few channels and the king sized bed was just two attached single beds.

This isn't a place to avoid, and it wouldn't take much to bring it up to standard, but if you want to stay in York, book the Novotel for roughly the same price, and if you want to stay in the country outside York, book Aldwark Manor for roughly the same price. This hotel fits neither criterion which is a pity as the staff are great and the potential for the hotel is huge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. Every effort is currently being prioritised in addition to earmarking areas for immediate priority in driving our business forward, while providing the best possible value for money to all our prospective and loyal customers. As a four star hotel, we aspire to deliver five star service, and have currently invested a significant amount of money in refurbishing our bedrooms and conference rooms. It is our sincerest intention to invest even more in the future, and trust that you will experience this added benefit to our product with your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Recently attended my brothers wedding at your hotel and just wanted to say what a great job you did! Everything went smoothly and a great day was had by all! We were given a very comfortable room, very clean and welcoming although a little too warm for my liking but an unusual heat wave had hit York! Plenty of facilities and hot water, bath was lovely!!! Breakfast was fantastic, plenty of choice and staff always willing to go that extra mile. The canapés and food at the reception and evening were outstanding! Overall a big thank you for making a family event that little bit extra special!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with an extremely positive review regarding your recent stay. It is very satisfying to hear that you have had a wonderful time with your recent wedding celebrations, and I would be delighted to pass on your wonderful comments to all our hard working staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East england
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time for 2 nights on business. Located on the outskirts of York with good links into the city it is located in a rural setting, alongside a main road.

The first room I was given, 407 had a depressing outlook, more like a prison than a hotel. The room was clean, warm and acceptable, although I dislike rooms with adjoining doors. It was generally tired and need of some updating, with dated furniture, creaking floorboards and poor lighting and a peculiar smell in the bathroom that accompanied a comedy French water supply that frequently stopped and then immediately restarted along with a hand basin waste that didn’t work.

At 12:30 I was woken by a banging door as a result of high winds and this was resolved by the night porter. The insulation on the communicating door was so poor that when the people in the adjoining room started talking at 4:30 it was impossible to sleep and after two hours of this, I reconciled myself to requiring a different room. The reception staff moved me, and the alternative was an improvement with better aspect although it still had defective fittings in the bathroom and very poor lighting.

The food in the restaurant was of a reasonable standard, although one meal was spoiled by carelessness in the kitchen and breakfast was the usual fayre and nothing exceptional.

Judging from some of the reviews here, I suspect that some people have lower standards than others, speaking as someone who stays in hotels continually for business. This is a poor hotel for the Mercure Brand. Had I been staying in Premier Inn I would have had the first night free – ‘A great night’s sleep or your money back’ they say. No fear of that at Fairfield Manor - not so much as a complimentary glass of wine.

I notice many responses from the General Manager about similar guest experiences and I feel now is the time for action please - not more rhetoric.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. After reading your comments about your stay, as well as your overall experience, I am truly filled with genuine despair that you have not enjoyed our service and facilities on offer. A great amount of effort and industry has gone into ensuring that all our guests receive the best possible service on offer. Please rest assured that I have personally addressed the matter with the relevant heads of department, and look forward to meeting you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for the Easter weekend having heard some very good reports about Mercure hotels previously. Unfortunately I was quite disappointed.

The hotel itself is about ten minutes walk from the park and ride for York which was fine for us, but is a good few miles from the centre. When you arrive the initial reception area is very nice and the room itself was spacious with a very comfy bed, however looked suite dated particularly the bathroom.

Our disappointment stemmed more from the service however. On the first morning I ordered a coffee downstairs in the reception / bar area while I read the paper and was advised 5 minutes. 40 minutes later, still waiting and gave up. The Saturday was then the day the clocks changed and having been suffering the effects of a late night on the Friday, we had retired to bed earliesh (10pm). At about 10.30 the staff had the brainwave of sending a message to every TV in the hotel reminding guests of the clock change - not a bad idea you might think except that it had a large alarm function which went off on every TV until cancelled by the guests in their room - many were out for the evening. Queue fifteen minutes of loud alarms reverberating all around the hotel until the staff cancelled the signal. Thankfully we werent one of the many guests with children who were in bed.

Overall the quality of the hotel is OK but the service was very average and we wont be going back to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Naturally we are disappointed that you have not been completely satisfied with the service you have received during your last stay. We would like to apologise for the fact that you have been woken up at a time which was earlier than normal, but would like to assure you that the situation has now been rectified, and the service concern has been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I lived in York many years ago and the Fairfield Manor, as the hotel was known then, had an enviable reputation for quality and standards.

The seriuosly creaking floorboards, dribbling taps, temporary non-functional lift, allocation on arrival to an unneeded fully handicapped access room and then onto an unmade room followed by no record of breakfast pre-payment are relatively small matters taken in isolation and could be described as adding to character and charm.

Consequently, it was more than a little surprising to encounter a wedding party proficient in industrial language and one guest deemed it acceptable for his three children (approx. 5 -15 years), to remain unhygienically dressed in night attire to join other breakfasters more mindful of appropriate behaviour.

However, the staff were friendly and professional.

Perhaps, some prompt action to restore what once was a four star hotel may reduce slippage towards 1 star premises fulfilling York’s growing reputation as the Stag & Hen centre of the North?

Room Tip: Ask if there a wedding on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with a review related to your stay. We offer an uncomprimising attitude to delivering very good service, in addition to ensuring that we have a level of consistency when it comes to quality. It is apparent from your review that due to a very small minority, your perception of the hotel is perhaps not in line with the majority of reviews reflected on this website. Whilst we strive to improve on all areas in the best interest of our guests, it is extremely difficult to control each and every individual. We would like to apologise for the language you have experienced during your stay, and trust that this experience has not hindered you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stay at several Accor hotels for business and leisure purposes, and by being a loyal customer have achieved platinum status in the Le Club loyalty program. This hotel was, as the title describes functional and comfortable, with the rooms being a good size and the bed providing a good nights sleep. However, in my opinion it is just a run of the mill, standard Mercure with nothing to set it apart from any other. The only thing that usually differentiates the Mercure brand and their hotels is the quality of customer service and level of care shown to guests when they stay. Unfortunately here Platinum loyalty members are afforded non of the extra facilities or rewards provided by many other Mercure hotels. This is undoubtedly the Fairfield Manor policy. I would stay again due to its location and comfort but it wouldn't be something I would particularly look forward to,it would simply be for the purpose of my work. I will continue to look forward to staying at alternative Mercure hotels who provide loyal Le Club members advantages such as complimentary room upgrades, complimentary drinks vouchers, complimentary water in the room, late check out and friendly customer service, which unfortunately wasn't here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mikey74alc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest that uses our hotel is treated to a fantastic stay, with a five star level of service that is the second to none. Moreover, as an Accor member, an array of additional benefits is afforded to you during your stay. Unfortunately, when the hotel is fully booked, it is often difficult to accommodate each and every request for a room upgrade, as a number of guests that use the hotel are Accor members as well. Nevertheless, our sincerest intention is to address the situation, and we would like the opportunity to correct the matter when you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing