We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
East Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield on Saturday night 2 nd Feb. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is set in vey pleasant grounds in the country on the outskirts of York and provides an excellent base for visits to the city and also to North Yorkshire. The hotel building is characterful, the rooms are perhaps ready for an update but that said are comfortable and more than adequate. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the night and found the food to be of good standard, with a 3 course set menu at £22 pp very good value.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandCEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review and the kind comments about the friendly staff and the facilities you have enjoyed. We constantly update our website with fantastic offers and promotions, and look forward to your return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    414
    198
    81
    41
See reviews for
206
566
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
404 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a second time with high expectations. Unfortunately they were not met. We stayed in a double room which was fairly small and had basic facilities. Bathroom was clean and stocked, bed was very comfy. The view looked out over the laundry compound which was disappointing considering the nice lake behind it. We stayed previously in a junior suite and I would suggest going for this when you stay - much better standard. The food prices are very high, breakfast at £18.95 plus £5 for room service is steep, especially considering the choices on the menu. Staff friendly and an OK hotel for a stop off.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYPud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. From your feedback, we would like to assure you that service delivery is paramount to the future of our business, and would like to correct the matter going forward, especially as your initial experience was thoroughly enjoyed. Furthermore, we would like to point out that we offer a pre-paid full english breakfast at £10.00 per person, as opposed to the normal price of £13.95. In conclusion, we would like to thank you for your feedback, and trust that you will return to our hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Emailed this hotel for a quote for DB&B for Easter weekend 2013. Upfront with dates and requirements. I received a reply with their offer for the break. Phoned on their premium rate line to book and was fobbed off in the morning by reservations who said the systems were down and they would phone back.Waited for hours to no avail. Phoned again and put on hold for ages (they hoped I'd hang up) only to be told they would not honour the email prices they had quoted. I complained to the manager who gave a paltry excuse that their prices fluctuate daily. He would not accept that a quoted price from their company was representative of their company, he would not honour what his staff had promised. He would not offer any concession due to their mistake. It is apparent that in Mecure management's view, customers are not right and they have a dismissive attitude towards their customer base. If he had accepted they were at fault and met me half way on the price difference then I would have probably accepted the mistake as one of those things. They fell back on blaming someone else and not making efforts to resolve the situation. If this is typical of how Mecure deal with such problems then I will not be staying anymore with their company, there are more hotels out there who do treat customers properly. I had read an earlier Trip Advisor review about how some of the staff treated customers poorly and thought it as a one off, obviously that is not the case. Buyer beware.I will per sue this matter further with the CEO of Mecure UK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schooee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Shooee,

I find your feedback on this site to be extremely unfair. Our call centre sent you an explanation detailing this mistake and an apology. The manager honoured the rate that you were quoted and you turned this down stating you were going to book elsewhere.
Rating our hotel so negatively when you did not stay with us is not in keeping with the intent of this service. I would also like to apologise for our mistake but I am more than satisfied our manager met you half way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

An opportunity to visit relatives and attend a wedding in York. Very convenient for both.
A delightful building, excellent breakfasts, a well-appointed dining room with a wide choice of dishes for dinner. The room we had for 2 nights was very comfortable, quite spacious and quiet and on the ground floor.

Room Tip: the ground floor room overlooked a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Currier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. It is rewarding to know that our guest who utilise all the facilities we offer had a first class experience when doing so. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed two nights in January. Great location for York with the Park and Ride 5minutes away. Taxi into York for an evening meal about £10. The room was comfortable and well presented. All staff very friendly and helpful. We ate one night in the restaurant and the service was good and the food tasty. We went to the Raj the following evening as the restaurant was a little quiet but that may have been due to the adverse weather. All in all if you want a reasonably priced stay near to York then this hotel would be perfect.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor to avoid any noise from above in the morning if you want to sleep late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunseekersBMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. The Park and Ride does add value when staying at our hotel and takes the hassle out of trying to find parking in the city. I have passed on your comments to all my staff who I know, will be encouraged by your feedback. We look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel over xmas and we had a fantasic time.We booked the junior suite, it was very nice and spacious. The food is delicious you are made to feel welcome through out your stay.I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It is important to us that you have felt welcomed, and trust that you will endeavour to return to our hotel in the not too distant future. Your comments about the service you have received will be communicated to all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife took me and my son for a two night stay between 30th and 31st December. Really impressed with the staff, who were polite and courteous. The food on both the evening meals were great, plenty of choice for us all. The breakfasts were excellent and as a connoisseur of a good quality breakfast, it was up there. Room was clean and well equipped, got to watch the new bond film and ted a part of the room price. The only tiny gripe was the telly occasionally came up with messages and beeping. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great hotel on the edge of York. Oh, there's a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes about 10minutes to get to town, bonus:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WickerSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

The efficient running of the hotel is attributed to each and every staff member that is often driven by a desire to embrace an uncompromising attitude towards consistent customer service. We are pleased that you have had the opportunity to appreciate all the culinary delights which were available to you, and trust that all the other aspects of your stay was pleasant and to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,089 reviews
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing