We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel and if you can get a "Deal" excellent value for money as well” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and if you can get a "Deal" excellent value for money as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this hotel several months ago in April, for a stay in June, as part of the Spring deal, and I upgraded to a Junior Suite at the time. The deal was for 2 nights with dinner on the first night and breakfast the 2 mornings. I paid £99 per night, and after having now stayed, I consider this to be absolutely amazing value. The Hotel itself is situated outside York, but only a 2 minute drive from the Park and Ride (or 10 min walk), so still great for sightseeing in York, which was the purpose of our visit. The Hotel itself is a converted Manor house and from the outside it looks like 2 separate old buildings have been joined by adding a modern entrance way, so a very nice combination of Old and New. Inside is very nice and in keeping with the older manor house setting. Our Junior suite room was superb with a large separate lounge area with a larger TV, whilst the Bedroom was also spacious and had a smaller TV for watching in bed. The Bathroom was nice and clean and had a nice jaccusi style bath. The evening meal was of a good quality for the price, and the service was excellent. Breakfast was also nice, with a good selection, including some "made to order" offerings which were available at no extra charge. My only minor quibble with the weekend was that the Volume on the TV is limited (I assume to avoid people having it excessively loud and disturbing other guests) and whilst this was OK for nor mal TV, we found that the Volume on the Blockbuster films was a lot quieter than the normal TV channels and a strain to hear sometimes. I did report this to reception, but as it is a hotel wide system, they were unable to help. But still, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, though price might be a consideration if the deals were not on offer. A wonderful weekend. My tip would be that the Park and ride is a great and inexpensive way to get into York, but be aware it does close (locked) at 8:30 pm weekdays and Saturdays and 6:30 pm Sundays, so if you want to spend the evening in York, then walk to the Park and ride in the morning, so your car doesn't get locked in.

Room Tip: The Junior suites are excellent, though views might be limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have managed to enjoy your stay with us, while at the same time getting the best value for your money. You are correct in assuming that the volume controls have a limit to them, which are purely for the purpose of not causing disturbance to neighbouring guests. Thank you for providing us with such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    381
    186
    75
    36
See reviews for
185
528
11
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Friends of ours were married in this hotel on June 3rd and what a lovely venue. I would highly rate this hotel and according to our friends, the wedding coordinator was brilliant the whole way through. The hotel its self is nice. There's an old part and a new part. Be careful if you need a lift though, there isn't one in the old part of the building so you would need to let them know at the time of booking so that they can allocate you rooms in the new part. The room we had was a decent size, the bathroom was nice and clean and fresh towels were given every day. Breakfast was great, served 8am to 12 noon brilliant - especially when you had a 2.30pm wedding which meant you would nt be eating till 4 - 5pm. York center not too far away, £10.00 in a cab. All in all a lovely experience and would definately return.

Room Tip: choose the new wing if you struggle with stairs - no lifts in old part of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchys_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you have thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. Unfortunately, the manor house of the hotel does not have a lift, as this would detract from its historic beauty and character. It is pleasing to note that you have enjoyed the wedding, and thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

What a fantastic stay at the Fairfield Manor. Me and my partner checked in on the 15 May 2012 for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. On arrival we were given our room which unfortunately was not up to the standard I expected. I rang reception to let them know and they rang back a few minutes later to offer us another room. A young man called Mark came to show the other room which was situated in the georgian section of the hotel. WOW! It was a lovely suite with a great four poster bed. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We ate both in the restaurant and bar and I was extremely pleased with quality of the food (which is high praise from a fussy eater). Breakfast was excellent and made more enjoyable by the restaurant staff (especially Josh). My only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We used the local park and ride to get into York, which was cheap (£2.50 a day) and very easy to use. I would definately recommend the Fairfield Manor to everyone and look forward to our return trip!

Room Tip: Our room in the georgian part of the hotel was beautiful and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa160572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to extend our congratulations to you for your recently celebrated birthday. We are pleased that we could accomodate all your needs, and your generous comments will be passed on to the staff members concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millau, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay in this Hotel. It is a converted manor house in beautiful surroundings. Bedroom and bathroom excellent. There was a great choice for breakfast and of good quality. Plenty of parking. Although the Hotel is a few miles from York there is a bus that runs from the Hotel but not very frequently. About half a mile from the Hotel there is a park and ride which runs until about 8.30p.m. but in the evening it is easy to drive into York and find a parking place. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant one evening as it was my husband's birthday and our 40th wedding anniversary but were rather disappointed. We ordered a bottle of wine which did not arrive by the time we had nearly finished our starter. We queried this and the waiter asked someone elkse who should have brought it and she said she hadn't been told and they argued in front of us. A bottle arrived but it was the wrong wine, another argument developed between the staff about handwriting. Finally arrived. Whilst we were waiting for our main course, the waiter arrived and said would we like dessert now. We said can we eat our main course first. Rather disappointing service but the meal was excellent. Did report this to Reception but they made no note of it. We heard another lady the same evening complaining about the service as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to apologise for the service you have recently received, as it is important to us that each and every guest has an enjoyable stay, as well as having a terrific dining experience. The matter has been looked into and certain training needs have been identified. We trust that you have had an enjoyable stay, and would like to thank you for bringing the concern to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millau
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location just outside the city of York. Breakfast was superb. the only downside was dinner in the restaurant where the staff didn't appear to know what was happening and what needed to be served.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMillau_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked through last minute.com and were a little unsure of what to find. We needn't have worried, the staff were very polite and helpful booking in. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff at breakfast were very attentive without being in your face. The breakfast itself was self service but fresh and hot and replenished regularly, and delicious. We ate in the restaurant on our final night, the food was great, tasty and well presented. The staff were again very attentive, polite, but not intrusive and made the whole dining experience relaxing. We are already planning to return. The hotel is ideally situated to explore York, a short walk to the Rawcliffe park and ride got us in and out of the city centre in a quick and cost effective easy way. Lovely hotel nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo-dave-josh-kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

As we have recently launched a new menu, as well as a new range of fantastic wines, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience. All our staff are very valued, and your generous comments will be passed on to all of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Property: Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing