We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We booked through last minute.com and were a little unsure of what to find. We needn't have worried, the staff were very polite and helpful booking in. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff at breakfast were very attentive without being in your face. The breakfast itself was self service but fresh and hot and replenished regularly, and delicious. We ate in the restaurant on our final night, the food was great, tasty and well presented. The staff were again very attentive, polite, but not intrusive and made the whole dining experience relaxing. We are already planning to return. The hotel is ideally situated to explore York, a short walk to the Rawcliffe park and ride got us in and out of the city centre in a quick and cost effective easy way. Lovely hotel nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo-dave-josh-kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

As we have recently launched a new menu, as well as a new range of fantastic wines, we are pleased that you have enjoyed your dining experience. All our staff are very valued, and your generous comments will be passed on to all of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Fairfield Manor Hotel and wished it had been for longer. Easy to find, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the centre. Very easy access to a park and ride facility which could be reached in leisurely 10 minute stroll straight down one road. Staff were all very smart and professional whilst being welcoming and helpful. Exellent breakfast with a great choice (self service). Our room was lovely with a nice bathroom and was very quiet despite the night being a warm one and us having the window open all night.
We would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time and effort in writing a review. As you have correctly pointed out, parking is free and getting to and from town is extremely easy. We hope you have enjoyed the glorious sites which York has to offer, and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for 1 night last week for a business trip. Plenty of parking. Check in and check out swift and easy. Junior suite was large, clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also good. Breakfast choice was extensive and good quality. All staff were friendly and helpful. Have stayed here a number of times before and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polargirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We are pleased that you have been happy each time you have stayed with us, and would like to thank you for your generous feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Clean public and private rooms are a credit to the team here. popular with coach tours and wedding parties. The only sour note of the trip was that I never had a good sleep. my room (312) was hot and stuffy and unbearable, even though it was spotlessly clean. The fan never helped much as the aircon was broke.
That said, if the aircon gets sorted would definately stay again

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased that you have found the accommodation facilities satisfactory. Unfortunately, our bedrooms are not air conditioned, but this is something we are hoping to change in the future. We sincerely trust that all the other aspects of your stay was to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Wow, where do we start. Our daughter was married in York on 26th May 2012 with the wedding breakfast and evening reception being held at Fairfield Manor. A large number of rooms were booked for 25th and 26th for the wedding guests. From the outset when we met Leanne, the wedding coordinator in May 2011 we were confident that both the accommodation and celebrations were in good hands and would go without a hitch. We were not disappointed. Leanne is professionalism itself and coupled with her warm and outgoing personality it was a pleasure for us to organise our daughter's wedding. On the big day itself Leanne hands over responsibility to Randal, the Master of Ceremonies and coordinator on the day. Randal and his team were excellent and made sure that everything went according to plan. He worked tirelessly behind the scenes and he was never seen without a smile on his face. All our guests were complimentary of the staff, the accommodation and the services and cuisine on offer. The grounds of the hotel for wedding photographs are also excellent. We cannot thank Leanne and Randal enough and we would recommend this hotel as a wedding venue to all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shortlyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being so complimentary about the staff and the hotel. We have been reliably informed that the reason the whole event was a success, was due to your tireless and meticulous planning of most of the activities. It was a pleasure for us to host your daughter's wedding, and we wish both her and her husband the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at the Fairfield Manor to attend a family wedding & from arrival to departure was deeply disappointed with the service my party received. On the first evening we stayed, we returned from dinner at a nearby restaurant at 11pm to find the hotel bar closed & told by the night manager that unless we opened an account on someone's room we couldn't buy any drinks. On questioning this & pointing out the value the family had paid for the wedding which was to be held the following day, the manager grudgingly took an order & fetched drinks from the function suite bar. However he then proceeded to sit reception watching which made the party feel uncomfortable so we each went to our rooms. I have to question whether they wanted us to spend in the hotel or not (although at nearly £5 for a pint, I expect they would). The wedding reception was lovely, however one party at our table was given the wrong dessert & when she brought this to the attention of the waiting staff, was told "well that's all we have left", not the service you expect to receive at a wedding! The morning after the wedding, Sunday, it was widely displayed that breakfast was served until 12pm, however when we went to the restaurant at 11am the buffet breakfast was closed, no juices, fruit, cereals etc available & we were told we must choose what we wanted from a menu. Again, very disappointing. The rooms were nice, clean & nicely decorated, as we're the public areas however in my opinion this hotel is marketing itself a grade, or a few, higher than it is delivering at.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bc811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

After having consulted both the bride and groom after the wedding, they have expressed their delight and satisfaction with everything both during and after their wedding reception. Moreover, having seen the father and mother of the bride a few days later, they returned to the hotel to personally deliver their thanks to all the staff. It is certainly disheartening to learn that these incidents have occurred, as we constantly strive to improve our service levels, and we are pleasantly surprised, if not baffled, by your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, it is busy hotel with functions and coach parties, however this did not detract from an enjoyable stay.

Our room was spacious, clean and considering the activity in the hotel, quiet.

The buffet breakfast was well stocked and presented; we had 2 enjoyable evening meals in the restaurant choosing between the Table d’hôte or the A La Carte menus. The staff was pleasant and efficient.

The hotel is located in nice grounds on the outskirts of York, about half mile away there is a Park n Ride with a regular service to the City centre.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatonking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin M, General Manager at Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

As it is an extremley busy time of the year, we accommodate all types of clientele, from coach parties to corporate guests, as well as hosting weddings an social events. We are pleased that you have found the accommodation to your liking, and look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
3.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
3.3 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel

Address: Shipton Road, Skelton, York YO30 1XW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skelton
Price Range: $73 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada York Fairfield Manor
York Ramada
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel England/Skelton, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing