We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back In Summer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skelton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Skelton B&B and Inns
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Be Back In Summer”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Me and my partner were planning an over night visit to York. As it was Valentines weekend all the hotels and B&B's has inflated there prices, and were very over priced.

The we found Skelton Grange Farm House. A very affordable price and included breakfast too.

We arrived in York Saturday, and headed to check in around 14:00. We were shown our room and told about where breakfast was served and left to settle in.

We left for lunch and returned around 10pm and settled into a very cosy bed for the night. We didn't hear any of the other guests or any background noise coming from outside. Just a very quiet and peaceful sleep.

Sunday, we were up, showered and dressed and headed over for breakfast around 9am. There was a huge choice, I had a Full English breakfast, and it was delicious.

Overall, the room was warm and cosy, and breakfast was delicious. We would certainly recommend this guest house to anyone planning a trip to York.

Ideal location for York Park & Ride, however we did chose to drive as it was a 15 minutes drive at most.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyRebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Beautiful comfy rooms, wonderful warm welcome and delicious breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights in a very comfy room. York is a great place, we visited many family attractions including the Jorvik centre and the York Wall and had a great time. There are many great places to eat all over York with many different cuisines.
Great stay would definately reccomend to anyone visiting this great city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgreen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Arrived for one nights stay. The owner had left a note to say she would see us later -the key was in the lock. First impression --not Wow ---but Oww---The room was totally in need of an update --old wall paper, flowery duvet and stained valence -the bathroom too needed a total refurbishment and clean and leaking radiator fixed -
The breakfast room could not be faulted neither could the breakfast-however we were concerned that when we awoke in the morning the lights wouldn't work -the owner threw the switch in the fuse box --but our worry was that there was a problem with the electrics as all we had done the night before was turn the lights off!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Recently arrived back from 2 nights stay in this accommodation in room 1.

Positives: Near to park and ride for York. Very good breakfast with home made jams and hearty full english to set one up for the day. Large bathroom. Handy parking to the acommodation in the courtyard. Very comfy settee.

Not so positive: Room and bathroom wanted a total clean, cobwebs on ceiling and corners, stained valance, rather dusty and wanted a good hoovering. Chipped paintwork.

With a lick of paint and some rigorous cleaning this accommodation this could have been a really lovely room. If this attention was paid to the room I would have rated it as a positive recommendation as it was in a lovely location, very quiet and handy for York park and ride.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyDays54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This was the first time we had stayed here for four years, now under new ownership. We were greeted by the new owners, and from the start enjoyed our five day stay. The room was recentky refurbished, the food was great and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
We would go back there with no hesitation, and probably will.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmikeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We chose this 4 star rated B&B upon recomendation from the organisation we were visiting nearby.
It was January, but that is no excuse for our room being damp and cold. We had booked in advance and the owner had been told the time of our arrival. We had been assured that a cosy room would be available for us after our long drive.
On arrival we were given a room in the out building behind the main house; surprisingly, as we appeared to be the only guests. The heating hadnt been turned on, I suspect for a while, as the bedding was damp. The bathroom was freezing, possibly caused by a badly fitted roof window. The owner did bring us an additional electric heater, but by this time we decided to cut our losses and left.

  • Liked — Did not stay long enough to give an opinion
  • Disliked — Cold and damp, poorly maintained
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We chose this B & B for the convenience of the situation and were not disappointed. It is outside of York in a small village but still convenient for visiting York by using the Park & Ride.
The rooms are in a courtyard with parking by your door. The room was light and clean and fresh. Breakfast was freshly cooked by Sue and there was a good choice of anything you wanted. We would be happy to stay again next time we are in the area.

  • Liked — Situation and room
  • Disliked — Extra charge for staying on Sunday only
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeevogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skelton
0.4 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
Wood Farm Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
152 reviews
4.9 mi away
Thistledown House B&B
Thistledown House B&B
#1 of 2 in Green Hammerton
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Little Hide - Grown Up Glamping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: Grange Farmhouse Orchard View, Skelton, York YO30 1YQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Skelton
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Skelton
Hotel Class:4 star — Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skelton Grange Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing