We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calico House Luxury Rooms
Ranked #7 of 12 Coldstream B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the suite for 3 nights which is spacious with plenty of storage and nicely decorated with a large bed which we found quite comfortable. There was access to a fridge just outside the room which had water and milk for tea/coffee.

The owners, Geoff and Marion are very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. It was good to browse their fabric samples whilst having a coffee as we are thinking of redecorating at the moment.

As an aside the coffee shop has now closed and breakfast is served downstairs in a small room with individual round wooden tables for each room. There was some fruit & yoghurt, orange juice, cereals, bread for toasting and your choice of a cooked breakfast which was very nice.

Once again we found staying in a B&B in the Borders that the door has no key (although there is a privacy bolt for when you are inside the room), maybe it's a Borders thing but we do prefer to lock a room if we are out especially when we didn't want to take our camera equipment with us. The owners did say that other guests would not be in this part of the building but it still seems odd to us.

It was very cold weather whilst we were there and although the room was quite comfortable the heat disappears when you close the full length curtains as the radiators are behind them.

The car has to be parked in a local car park just down the road which was no problem as it wasn't too far and it was free.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 11 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at Calico House for 3 nights. We had one of the standard rooms, which was tastefully decorated with a very comfy bed and large bathroom with a nice shower. We heard from friends that the suite is also excellent. We had quiet undisturbed sleep. Downstairs is an interior design shop which is interesting to browse around with a coffee shop and sun terrace with views over the border towards the Cheviots. Breakfast is delicious and our hosts recommended and booked a table at a nearby inn for dinner. We would definitely return this B&B in the future and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jvl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at this beautiful B&B. We booked the suite and was not disappointed. The room was large and furnishings were to a high standand. Bathroom was very big, with a bath and separate large shower. The suite had a setee aa to relax. The cooked breakfast was amazing and a lovely outdoor area to eat if the weather is good. Really lovely to talk to Geoff and Marion and I'm sure we will be seeing them again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank close2ginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Calico House is elegantly furnished by hosts Geoff & Marion, who run the Interior Design business downstairs! From the moment you arrive you are made very welcome and the tasteful decor is at once relaxing and comfortable. Huge bathroom, extra huge bed (in the suite) and space to unwind. Breakfast, served downstairs, was hearty and included plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and yoghurt so you didn't have a guilt burst eating the sausage, bacon, eggs, etc! Cereal too if you want! Geoff & Marion will advise you on where to eat in the evening and book for you if you wish.
Coldstream itself, is small and we had a lovely evening walk along the old walls by the river and back through the town. The famous Coldstream Guards were founded here in 1650.
It is also a central location to loads of castles, museums and border history. We only had time for one so chose Bamburgh Castle - very well worth a visit. Then we did Berwick walls in the evening! We will be back for sure, as Alnick, Lindisfarne, Jim Clarke Museum, Cragside, Paxton House and loads more, are all close. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThimbleBBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay at the Calico House. The room and en-suite shower room were of a very high standard and the breakfast kept us going for the rest of the day. Geoff and Marion were very hospitable and friendly and we would certainly recommend the Calico House to anyone planning to stay in Coldsteam.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Calico House was our first stop in Scotland and what a beautiful luxurious room we had. We only stayed the one night but Coldstream would have been a good place to stay and tour from. Geoff and Marion were very friendly and helpful and served us with an excellent breakfast. The breakfasts were of a very high standard and I had my first taste of veggie haggis which I have yet to find again!!!!!! Our hosts run an interior design business, the guest house and a cafe where the breakfast is served. The whole building is lovely and so tasteful and full of character which all contributed to a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathedralfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernst6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calico House Luxury Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calico House Luxury Rooms

Address: Calico House 44 High Street, Coldstream TD12 4AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Coldstream
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Coldstream
Price Range: $204 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Calico House Luxury Rooms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are only an hour from Edinburgh or Newcastle upon Tyne. Calico House in Coldstream is the perfect stop off venue if you are visiting Scotland, being on the A697 main Morpeth to Edinburgh road and is the gateway to the whole Borders area. Superior accommodation includes, the Calico House Suite, double and twin en-suite rooms and a 4 bedroom self catering apartment. Calico House is also an Interior Design business and the presentation of our accommodation reflects the nature of our business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calico House Luxury Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calico House Luxury Rooms Coldstream, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing