We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage with equally fantastic hottub”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
St Edmond's Church in the centre of Sedgefield.
The quintessential English duck pond!
The annual Medieval Fayre in Sedgefield
Hardwick Park - a 10 minute walk from the cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sedgefield, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grahame D
1 review
“Fantastic cottage with equally fantastic hottub”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Great wee cottage in the middle of a neat, tidy and friendly village. Stayed 3 nights and used as a base to visit the surrounding countryside with ease. Owner was friendly and gave good advice. Hot tub was a definite highlight, used every night to ease aching muscles. Will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub
Liked least: Front door opening onto street
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2016
I'm delighted you enjoyed the hot tub and the cottage. I look forward to welcoming you again to Cherry Blossom Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lid1982
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, cosy and relaxing”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed here at the start of March with my husband and two toddlers. It was a weekend of cold weather, but we were lovely a cosy with the log fire burning. We rented the cottage to have a relaxing weekend and we had exactly that. The village is very quaint, with friendly locals and great restaurants, cafes and takeaways in the vicinity. Lesley and Neil were great hosts and I would recommend coming here, especially if you want a base to explore the local area, Durham is close and the park and ride makes it a simple trip out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fire
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Thank you for your positive comments. It is great to know you had a good weekend with your children. I hope to see you again soon to Sedgefield.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJM1950
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location and excellent ammeneties”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A very comfortable, well appointed cottage on the main street in Sedgefield, with local shops and pubs close by. A very relaxing location with open countryside on all sides and close to Durham and Newcatle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and quality of cottage
Liked least: very little
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2015
I am pleased you had a relaxing holiday and hope you enjoyed visiting the North East England and everything it has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jill d
brackley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC STAY”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and our two little dogs have just returned from a wonderful weeks stay in this lovely little cottage. It is a very pretty little village with everything you need, including pubs restaurants and has a lovely little teashop round the corner. The cottage is well equipped for both our needs and the dogs. We really enjoyed the advantage of a hot tub and used it a lot. The village is in a very good location. We will be recommending to our friends and family and will definitely have a return visit ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about Sedgefield, it really is a lovely village. I hope the dogs enjoyed their walks and you took our advice about walking to Hardwick park. I look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CED_11
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely base to explore the North East”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage was a delightful base to explore the area. Cottage was clean well equipped and the hot tub was a great addition. Would recommend to friends or small families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: ma tresses a little springy but personal choice
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. The area around Sedgefield is great and Beamish Museum and Newcastle is proving very popular this year for our visitors. I hope you will consider us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Baz
Cumbria
2 reviews
“Highly Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a wonderful short stay with our dog at the cottage. It's a lovely place that we will definitely recommend to our friends and family.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Cherry Blossom Cottage. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracey b
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real home from home.”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I stayed at Cherry Blossom Cottage with our 2 adult children and 2 dogs for a local family christening. The cottage was very comfortable and welcoming to come back to, a real home from home. So much more relaxing and comfortable for our family than staying in a B & B. Although no parking at the cottage, there was easy parking directly across the road and lovely parkland for walking the dogs just across the road. Lesley was very approachable and helpful. Would recommend anyone to stay and would not hesitate to stay again when visiting our family in Co Durham.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you again to Cherry Blossom Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing