We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of The Dun Cow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dun Cow Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went for a meal here with friends. Had heard excellent reviews and after the Sunday lunch I was served I would agree and go much further. Sunday lunch itself was beautiful. The restaurant had a great selection of food and vegetarian options. Good ales on tap and service was quick and friendly. Will definite go here again when I'm in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
50
55
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from a three day stay in Sedgefield and although we didnt actually stay at The Dun Cow Inn we ate here for two of the three nights and I have to say the food was delicious. Its a little bit pricier than some places but its well worth the extra. I f we go to Sedgefield again, which is very likely, then i think will we probably stay here aswell as eat here. Its a lovely place and the staff are friendly and professional and provide an excellent service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed on Saturday 8th December 2012. Given Room 4 [ask for this one], which was very well furnished with an immaculate en-suite batthroom. Cottage styliish with a modern flat screen T.V. Breakfast was superb! Hot plates, freshly cooked and really friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble.We are local and only stayed because my wife was attending a function nearby but what a find! If you are visiting the area then this pub should tick all the boxes because it's near the A1 and close to Durham, Newcastle and the coast.

Room Tip: The quiet room is 4 because it's on the side of the pub and not above any bar areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Middleham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Best Sunday Lunch in the Area,allways well perpared veg and Meat (Sirloin medium rare)Also quality meals other times,had various meals in restaurant and bar and all been well above avarage, quality service with proffesional hospitality,Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Me and my Wife went to the Dunn Cow in sedgefield on saturday 8/9/12 and what a big let down it was. We live in the village and have been before with friends and it was good but this time was very poor. We both had a starter, main and a dessert and the starter and dessert was good but both main meals were of poor standard. My wife had lamb with garlic mash but could have done without the two big gloves of garlic left on the plate and I had steak and chips and the chips were very crunchy. The young girls who seved us were very pleasent but the two older woman needed to smile as they were very MISERABLE, Also they sat us on a table for two right in the corner but it must have been the worst position in the pub as it appeared to be shoved in the corner. On the whole the pub needs cleaning up and also the carpet needs to be replaced We will not recommend or be returning again unless it has a radical overhaul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryHass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I didn't stay at the Dun cow but stayed locally and had dinner there. Can't complain overall, but I was unimpressed with the food and service. I'm still alive so I can't have been that bad, but I won't be going back. I had spaghetti and meatballs which I figured you can't really get wrong, even I can cook that! unfortunately the chef didn't seem to get the concept of straining the water from the pasta, a simple step i know, but one that i felt would have enhanced my experience somewhat. a bit unfair? maybe, but considering that it was served by grumpy staff as well, i went to the golden lion the following week and had a lovely evening with the locals...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AramisTonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

stopped for a meal friday night this is the upteenth visit here due to its location 2 miles off the A1 the food is very good/service good but sometimes although staff work hard a little bit of organisation on the floor
would help
food choice is very good portions are large so i would suggest you skip the starter if you fancy one of the brilliant sweets
nice coffee you can have in the bar after the meal
overall highly recommended
and to the owner a speedy recovery from his recent operation
regards
straw bear

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
868 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Sedgefield
Travelodge Sedgefield
#5 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
72 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
496 reviews
9.6 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dun Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dun Cow Inn

Property: The Dun Cow Inn
Address: 43 Front Street, Sedgefield TS21 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dun Cow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Dun Cow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dun Cow Hotel Sedgefield
The Dun Cow Inn Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing