We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a bit of money spent on the rooms”
Review of The Dun Cow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dun Cow Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This Coach House style Inn is adorned with photogrhs of Tony Blair when was Prime Minister entertaining George W. Bush. Local legend says they enjoed the battered Fih and Chips. The premises comprises a restaurant with seperats lounge..although it does serve food. Fairly busy throughout during our 2 night visit and we heard no complaints from any patrons. One feature of the lounge is the piped music which increases in volume as the night goes on. It is of course situaed in the ceilig and you've guessed whats above the lounge....yes the 6 rooms. As this was a faily evevt we were attending, we occupied all the rooms..Nos 1 and 6 suffered worst. Rooms badly need a refurbishment including the shower rooms. The overworked staff did not appear to think deep cleaning was that importnant. Potentially yes but not recommended at this time...unless you think Tony and George W. might show up. For £71 per room B&B there is better value to be had

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RalstonPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 176 of 176 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2011

Wife and I paid our second visit here in July and as before excellent.
Yes rooms are dated but spotless--it is an old Inn!.
Food to die for, all fresh veg, brilliant menu and blackboard specials.
Owner is very hands on and if any problem it is taken care of immediately.
Always very busy restaurant which when you see how many are in village is sure testament.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My grandparents come here for their sunday lunch every week and they live in Houghton-Le-Spring so in total it is about an hours drive, (round trip) but it is so worth it. They have a fantastic range of choices for the lunch and the food itself is spectacular. The service is prompt and efficient but you do not feel as though you are being rushed out. The staff are unbelievably freindly and have the perfect ballance of being interested in what you have to say and happy to help without being invasive or irritating.

I joined them today and had the cod which they informed is delivered fresh daily from hartlepool. My grandparents both 75+ are able to order a half portion of the food as they do not have very large appetites at a reduced rate. The decor is old fashioned and very homely and rustic. I have not yet stayed here overnight but im sure it would be a great experience

Would definately say that this is one of the best pubs/ restaurants in the county and if contemplating visiting for food then you should do so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RedFox1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Spent 3 days with wife for anniversary---food without question brilliant on both nights. Service second to none--nothing was a problem and every body was keen to see to your needs.
Rooms were like those of an old coaching house but immaculate...bathroom spotless.
This was REAL value for money.
Hotel only mins from main A1 and close to Durham for superb day out.
This was 6th visit in 10 years and it still has the magic.
Worth noting that a walk in the village and just about everybody spoke as if they knew you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at the former PMs ex local for a family function in the area,check in was quick and easy with a pleasant young lady in charge,we asked her to order us a taxi to take us to the function(about six miles),which she promptly did,so we ajourned to the bar(good selection of well kept ales) while we waited ..and waited... and waited....no taxi turned up so the very kind hotel manager offered to drive us there in his own car ,great service!
The room we had was a decent size,though a bit old fashioned, but it and the bathroom were very clean.We ordered dinner for eight thirty and were promptly called in to the very busy restaurant at that time,the food and the service were first class.The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept well.The breakfast staff were great ,nothing was to much trouble for them ,and the food was good too!.We think that this is a good old fashioned country pub/hotel with a very civilized ambience, but if you prefer the chain type establishment its not for you.However no where is perfect and we have two little niggles,the stair carpet needs renewing,and new grouting in the shower tray would not come amiss.Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sutch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hardwick Arms Hotel
Hardwick Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedgefield
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Sedgefield
Travelodge Sedgefield
#5 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,106 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rushyford
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dun Cow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dun Cow Inn

Address: 43 Front Street, Sedgefield TS21 3AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range: $100 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dun Cow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Dun Cow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dun Cow Hotel Sedgefield
The Dun Cow Inn Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing