We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed in one of the deluxe rooms after our wedding. Really big room and comfy bed. Big bathroom with free standing bath. Good sized shower. Only negative is the toilet is opposite the door which does not have frosted glass (as previously mentioned) paid the extra for breakfast as well which was well worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 894 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent an afternoon at Hardwick hall as part of a Hen party, where all age groups could celebrate with the bride to be. The afternoon tea was OK no choice of tea type as there normally is and was also tea bag and not the loose tea that is usual on this type of occasion. Scones were lovely but sandwiches were dry. We had booked a separate room as here was quite a number of us and spent until about 5pm there, on our way home my daughter realised she had left an envelope on the table with some gift vouchers in not that worried about it she rang up to say she had left them only to be told they were not there but that investigation would be made and her call returned after numerous calls on her part and none from h hotel she was left having had a very expensive afternoon tea. The group we were with were from church and none of them had picked up the envelope. All I can say is be very carful with your belongings if you are using or staying here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with the tea selection however as well as Yorkshire Tea, we offer a full range of herbal and fruit infusians and sandwiches are made to order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed as part of one four wedding parties over a weekend in one of the 40X rooms, which seem to have a reputation for being uncomfortably hot. Ours was. We were in a room above the smoking area, so suffered loud voices until at least 1am and we couldn't open the window to get fresh air and cool down because of the cigarette smoke. The windows are single glazed sash windows so didn't keep any of the noise out. The walls were so thin we could hear the conversation in the adjoining room, and when the singing in the shower started we knew when he got the words wrong. The glass door on the bathroom meant there was no privacy; the toilet was right opposite the door. Nice. The furniture layout was so cramped we couldn't open the wardrobe door properly and we couldn't move the bed as the headboard and lights were fixed. The carpets throughout were well worn. The main car park is to the rear and when they have a function on (at the weekends) you have to walk all the way around the hotel to the front to get in, there is no access from the rear except through the function rooms. Breakfast on Saturday was good, but on Sunday they seemed surprised that all those staying wanted breakfast. One slice of bacon instead of two and only half a breakfast mushroom instead of a whole one, then they ran out of some of the items on the menu. Very poor.
The grounds and lake are lovely, the hotel is not. If you are going for a function stay at the Premier Inn and get a taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking lake may be quieter as they are away from the function rooms, but the walls will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for posting a review. I am sorry that there were certain aspects of your stay that you found to be less than satisfactory. As well as Standard rooms, we do offer Deluxe and Premier bedrooms that face towards the beautiful Country Park plus we are currently fitting new carpets to 36 rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic stay, large well furnished rooms in a country park setting. Relaxation guaranteed. Will stay here next time I'm in the area! The restaurants steak house was very very good at a reasonable price. A good choice on the menu made with local produce.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thanks for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Was a guest at my friend's son's wedding on the 7 June and stayed at the hotel afterwards. Hotel was lovely, rooms were great and spotless. The staff were fantastic, nothing to much trouble and the food was beautiful. I had a fantastic day and great stay at the hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thanks for posting such a great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the occasion and thank you for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had our wedding here 25th May 2014 and the day was absolutely perfect from start to finish,we wouldn't change anything. All of our guests commented on what a beautiful place it was and that the food was amazing!! The staff were extremely helpful and efficient and the toast master (James) was brilliant, very organised and easy to talk to. We could not fault a thing.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaCunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for posting such a great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your wedding day so much and i have shared your comments with James and the team.
Best wishes for the future from all of us to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
517 reviews
7.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hardwick Arms Hotel
Hardwick Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedgefield
164 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel

Address: Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England (Formerly Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range: $88 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing