We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed with a large group of friends for the hotel's themed 80's night. Excellent value for money, rooms large, bathrooms massive, beds comfy. Lovely grounds and friendly helpful staff. Food was good, especially breakfast. No complaints about anything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thanks for the great review; i am delighted that you enjoyed the occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    272
    109
    56
    35
See reviews for
188
320
18
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Have been a regular visitor over many years in this hotel. It is beginning to look a little shabby and tired in the bedrooms and public rooms. The bed bases are on view and stained and unsightly ,not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.The showers have always been a problem in some rooms, with the drain unable to cope with the flow of water from the shower, which can overflow the shower trays, and end up on the main bathroom floor. The radiators can be noisy in some rooms even when they are not on, and I often find the rooms cold, particularly the bathrooms. The breakfast is ok if you like cooked breakfast everyday, if you don't the choice can be very limited, especially if you arrive after 8.00a.m., it seems that after the initial set up the buffet table is not replenished. There was a traveller wedding being held on our last visit, which meant that we had a very disturbed nights sleep with the noise in the corridors of people talking loudly, and running up and down corridors, which started at 10.00p.m. and the lasted until gone 2.00a.m. as far as I am aware. Although the night porter did attend and asked for quiet. In the morning the wedding guests were arriving for breakfast in pyjamas and dressing gowns, and the bar area was soon taken over by similar with young girls in dressing gowns with curlers in their hair. The distinct impression was that the hotel had been taken over by the travellers. The restuarant is greatly improved by the arrival of a new restuarant manager and the sevice there is very good, but can be hit and miss in the bar area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MouseEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

One night stay after business trip.Arrived approx 5:30pm impresses with local area and surroundings.Foyer nice and clean and no problem checking in as our business colleague had already been there for two days so all was sorted.Dropped bags into large room with huge bed overlooking the lake.Bathroom had walk in shower,wc,twin wash basins and large free-standing bath tub.All nice and clean and looking the business !To the bar for a quick beer and catch-up.Staff friendly and efficient.Back for shower which was great and then for evening meal with our hosts.Everybody very happy with food as it was to a good standard and service was again very good .Bed about 11:15 but woke around 3:45 to the sound of a noisy radiator ?Struggled to get back off after that which was a little disappointing.Breakfast 7:45 plenty of choice and good service.Had full English which was a little greasy but nice all the same!The hotel has a nice feel to it but needs a little tender love and care in certain places.Difficult to assess the whole place with such a short stay but would return with my wife if I had the opportunity again?

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

On Sunday I held a lunch in the Boardroom at Hardwick Hall for 18 family and friends and I wish to commend all concerned with the event.

I chose Hardwick Hall because of the suitability of the room and also the extensive Sunday lunch menu. When I called unannounced to enquire, the team was friendly and keen to show what the hotel could offer.

On the day itself, everything was perfect. The table was beautifully set out and the lady who was in charge of things was superb as was the entire serving team. Service was friendly, efficient, and unobtrusive. Orders were taken without fuss and when each course was ready, a small army of pleasant people ensured that everyone was served as quickly as possible so that everyone was eating together. There was quiet checking that everything was fine. A senior manager popped in and the lady in charge of us appeared regularly at the door and when satisfied all was well disappeared again without interrupting proceedings. Food was delicious and all guests were well pleased.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCM821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such an excellent review. I am delighted that you all enjoyed the occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Bedroom and bathrooms were huge by normal hotel standards, whilst the whole hotel still retained that "family run" atmosphere that you don't get at the big brand hotels and personally I like it that way. It's probably about ten years ago since I last stayed here and although the rooms are pretty much the same, they are still a very nice place to sped some time. Food was good if a little pricey but only what you would expect from what amounts to a small stately home. The view over the park in the morning is breathtaking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had a lovely stay in a deluxe room. Lots of space, with sitting area and a huge comfy bed. Large bathroom with shower and bath. Only small negative would say very very warm, turned radiator off but heat was still there. Had a delicious meal in rib room, steak done to perfection and excellent service by friendly staff. It is our second stay and will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiner476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the excellent review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Loved the location and feel of this hotel. The room had splendid views, it was clean and spacious, and we experience excellent levels of service.

The restaurant staff, in particular, were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was cooked to order which meant that is was fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
486 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
7.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,132 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel

Property: Hardwick Hall Hotel
Address: Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England (Formerly Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing