We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked this hotel as a last minute getaway. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet break. We stayed in a premier room (312). It was very 'wow' in terms of fabulous bathroom, bed, view and calm colour scheme.

The grounds surrounding the hotel mean you can go for nice scenic walks all in touching distance of the hotel.

We had lunch in the bar & ordered room service on both evenings. Our room was so nice that we were happy to walk the grounds during the day and retreat early evening. Room service was prompt although the portions aren't huge that aside it was still very nice

Only constructive comment about the room is the hair dryer - not good at all and I would advise to take your own or you could be there all night drying your hair. Certainly not a deal breaker and I would return tomorrow if I could

Will return at least once a year if not more

Room Tip: Ask for premier rooms on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazzaTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 939 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding. Every thing was perfect, room was fab grounds we had a deluxe room over looking a beautiful garden area and a view of the lake .food was great ( even through I couldn't face breakfast ) we had an amazing time and will book again so we can enjoy this beautiful hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siemcamjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

It speaks volumes when the best thing about a hotel is the surroundings - can't beat an evening walk around the lake. Unfortunately this is the only positive I can find about this hotel. Drab dated interior and solemn staff is the best way to describe the hotel. And I didn't appreciate a mistaken room call from reception at 7am. The restaurant is overpriced. I asked for my steak medium-rare and it came medium-well done. The calamari was rubbery - evidently not as fresh as it should have been. The restaurant staff were short with people - does a smile trouble them so much? As for breakfast - my Full English came about 3 minutes after ordering it. Evidently much of it was pre-cooked and re-heated, and it showed! Dry black pudding, dry sausage, dry bacon... you get the idea. And yet again, the staff were pretty unhelpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are possibly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel meant that on our extended trip up and down the country we had to take a travel cot with us as I was not going to pay £15 a night for one, especially as every other accommodation on our trip provided one free of charge.

The rooms obviously have a country 'style' in the main rooms which to me appear dated though the Mrs liked it. The windows are period, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is stunning, really nice and luxurious, the best feature of the room.

The price is fairly reasonable for the size of the room but back to the cot. I was so incredulous at being charged that I sent an email to the manager from a one time email account to query it and state that 'i was interested in staying but the charge was putting me off as no other hotel charges for it'.

I got a response from the manager stating that yes they do charge £15.00 per night for supplying cots in the bedrooms but if i were to 'contact the hotel before 3.00pm today and speak to -member of staff- on reservations, she will not charge for a cot on this occasion.'

An interesting turn of events that did not endear me to the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the basement floor are a pain to get to for families with young children, and the hallway f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had our wedding here in the marquee on 3/8/13.
From the initial booking with our wedding coordinator Rebecca through to the breakfast on the morning of departure following our big day, everything was outstanding. An extra bed was provided to allow me to stay over with both bridesmaids in room 209 (for a fee lol), the size of the bathroom was incredible and the view of the gothic seat and lake was lovely. Coleman 3 where our ceremony was conducted was beautiful, the brightest of the 3 rooms in the Coleman suite, the flowers provided as part of the package were gorgeous. Staff at the hotel were kind, supportive, understanding and exceptionally helpful, nothing was too much trouble from the manager Jon and the assistant manager Lee to the receptionist who saw how upset I was and helped arrange help to resolve our potential disaster......the disaster looming was with my wedding cake and the staff worked late on the Friday to repair it, Clare in particular was outstanding and was peppered with baking ingredients by the time she left at 11pm, words seem so inadequate for expressing our gratitude for the work she did and ultimately ensuring our special day went without a hitch, the food for the wedding breakfast was served quickly, well presented and tasted wonderful and the service was amazing. All the favours, gifts for children, post box and sweets were positioned exactly as requested. The DJ (linked to the hotel through Zodiac entertainment) was great, consulted with us in detail before the night got underway to agree the running order and accommodate any last minute changes, the mix of music was fantastic, he really got guests boogieing, very professional and managed to play almost everything off our play list. The evening buffet was plentiful and faultless. Our bridal suite, room 306 was amazing, it took my breath away, beautiful room with 3 large windows which allowed lots of light in, it contained a very impressive bathroom consisting of a free standing bath with claw feet, double shower and twin sinks with an amazing view of the lake. Breakfast the following morning was leisurely, no pressure to finish or clear up as you were eating your last item, food was hot and staff on hand were attentive and pleasant, they really have something magical here (no sign of a grumpy old man, unless you count my dad because he didn't want to leave). I've spoken with many people since booking my wedding who had either held theirs here or attended one here and not heard a bad comment from anyone, if you're looking for a venue, look no further, don't hesitate in booking your big day with Hardwick, it may not be a castle but you'll feel like a princess!
Considering there were 4 weddings taking place the day we got married you wouldn't know! Congratulations to Jon for inspiring and leading such an amazing team, they clearly enjoy their work as it really shines through in the customer service provided. The only negative I have about Hardwick was leaving on the Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Room 306 is on the left corner as you arrive, the view and the room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, General Manager at Hardwick Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you Sharon for posting such a glowing review! It was a pleasure to help out when required and we are all delighted that we were able to assist in your hour of need.
All the staff have enjoyed reading your review and i am so pleased that you enjoyed your wedding day so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great place to stay, all you need and lovely walks. We had a beautiful room with great bathroom, going again soon for our Birthday treat. Restaurant very good and meals delicious. Bar staff very friendly and accomadating.

Room Tip: We had a premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We attended hardwick hall on a Sunday afternoon for a event and it was fantastic!!! The grounds were loverly they had the lion king on a 40 meter screen outside and everyone took picnics it was a lovely day in spectacular grounds and very well organised by the staff

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jemmah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hardwick Arms Hotel
Hardwick Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sedgefield
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Sedgefield
Travelodge Sedgefield
#5 of 9 in Stockton-on-Tees
89 reviews
7.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel

Address: Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England (Formerly Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range: $74 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Hardwick Hall Hotel Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing