We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, lovely food but let down once again by poor restaurant service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb location, lovely food but let down once again by poor restaurant service.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have ate at the restaurant approximately 6 times now sometimes just the two of us, sometimes with friends and although we can never fault the food or the friendliness of the "younger" members of staff once again the place has been let down by unacceptable service considering the price you pay. We were a table of 6 plus a child and whilst in the restaurant there were approx 5 other tables, so not busy for a Monday. The kitchen staff kindly catered for the little one which was appreciated. We sat all night with a table full of empty glasses, empty bread basket and although we asked for our main course to be delayed after starters so we could sort the baby out, this message must never made it to the kitchen as the main courses arrived whilst two of our party were absent. For a lovely location set in supurb grounds this is definately the place, for good quality food cooked to your taste, this place is worth a try. What really lets such a lovely place down from my experience is the level of service offered in the restuarant for the price you pay. Would I recommend yes I would with a "but" dont expect to much from the service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    269
    109
    55
    34
See reviews for
183
317
18
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family (2 +50, 22 & 19) stayed for one night as a stop-over on our way from Edinburgh to Cambridge. The hotel is very pleasant and has sentimental memories as it was where my father was born when it was a hospital before the hotel.

There is no evidence of that now, as the rooms are well appointed and clean, whilst the reception areas and lounge are airy and comfortable. Like other reviews, we found the food a bit expensive for what it was, but I believe the steak restaurant is owned by people other than Best Western, so it's not really their fault.

While our stay was pleasant enough, the level of service from staff was particularly disappointing. On arrival the lady at the check-in seemed disinterested and struggled with basic concepts - on being presented with me, Alasdair, and my mother, Gillean, she asked 'who is who?'! Furthermore, at breakfast, only one member of staff was working, leaving us waiting 15 minutes to be seated. It wasn't busy and we weren't in a rush, but it reflects badly. On checkout, both staff members looked bored and disinterested. Contrastingly, on arrival at the Premier Inn in Cambridge we were heartily greeted and regularly asked what we were doing that day and if there was anything they could do to help us.

For a hotel that is supposed to have a high level of service, I would expect the staff to care about what I was doing and how I was. I didn't get that impression from Hardwick Hall's staff, which is disappointing, especially when it is something that is so easy to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night in one of the king size bedrooms. Fantastic room, bathroom just as good. Stand alone iron bath and a shower that could fit 6. The only downside was the price of food. Ordered steak and chips and paid an extra £2.50 for extra chips. When the chips arrived there were 9 of them. When queried with the waitress she said the extra ones had already been included. So £2.50 for 5 chips.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for one night only following our daughter's wedding at the hotel. The room was fantastic - very big, spotlessly clean and with a huge stylish bathroom. The food both at daytime and evening receptions was faultless and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely stay again and would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have no complaints with our stay over rooms are big and clean lots of character.
Grounds are fantastic and is nice to wake up to and walk round.
Food better than average but still nice. Staff attentive and not over bearing.
Breakfast self service which was okay but nothing to write home about.
Overall would stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Took my parents for their golden wedding anniversary. Service was exceptional apart from the waiter bringing the champagne prematurely, fortunately my parents didn't notice or this could have totally ruined the evening. Food in the lounge was average at more than average prices, the hotel lounge could do with a little titivation and the removal of the gypsy wedding posse!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for just the night and unfortunately didn't get to sample the food but the room itself was lovely and big, we stocked with little extras and the bathroom was fabulous. I went for the middle room in the range and it was great, I wonder what the suites are like! The grounds are lovely and the car parking is good. Overall very enjoyable stay, only wish it was for longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
9.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
8.6 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
469 reviews
5.2 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
7.9 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,102 reviews
9.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: Sedgefield, Sedgefield TS21 2EH, England (Formerly Hardwick Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the beautiful County Durham countryside, just off the A1(M), and surrounded by the magnificent Hardwick Country Park, Hardwick Hall Hotel is 4 Star AA rated and Winner of a Trip Advisor Excellence Award 2013, 2014 & 2015. Our luxury Sedgefield hotel offers Deluxe and Premier bedrooms with exceptional standards of comfort, quirky-clever decor, and first class traditional attentive service. With boutique style, lavish and individually designed spacious rooms, all with large baths, walk in showers, luxury furnishings and huge ultra comfortable beds you'll never want to get out of. At Hardwick Hall Hotel weddings are our speciality. From tasteful and traditional to unique and original, gorgeous reception rooms, quirky hotel interiors, beautiful boutique style bedrooms and unique surroundings, our country house hotel in Sedgefield County Durham is the perfect setting for all your family celebrations. Whether your visit to the North East is for business or pleasure; traditional attentive service, beautiful decor and good living will always be part of Hardwick Hall Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sedgefield
Best Western Durham
Sedgefield Best Western
Hardwick Hall Hotel, BW Premier Collection Sedgefield, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing